We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place in Bodega Bay”
Review of Bodega Bay Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bodega Bay Lodge
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great place in Bodega Bay”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We stayed there for one night with the family in a double queen suite.Clean and comfortable room.Friendly and competent staff.Excellent room service.No elevator for upper level rooms.Definitely recommendable.

Room Tip: Upstairs(quieter) Bay-front( nicer view) fog horn no issue
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    812
    328
    83
    39
    20
See reviews for
160
851
53
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
TX
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at Bodega Bay Lodge and I loved looking at the water from my balcony. We stayed in room 405 which was a large corner room with a great view after the fog cleared. The restaurant has a great breakfast as well as dinner. I had the steak which was one of the best I have ever eaten. The reception time in the afternoon was nice but not worth making a special effort to return for unless you have finished your activity for the day. Be careful if you are driving in at night for the first time because the turn is very hard to see.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TxDeeDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

This has become a regular destination for us on weekend getaways from the Bay Area. The rooms have good size and furnishings, and many have views of the marsh and bay. The suite over the office was especially good for us and our grown children (with Murphy beds in the main room). Staff is very helpful and friendly. There's free wine and cheese in the lobby every afternoon. Ask if the free pass (one for the lodge) to drive to Doran Beach is available. Our experiences at the Duck Club restaurant have been mixed.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank desert_lover222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lemont, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012 via mobile

Spent the 1st 3 nights of our 10-year anniversary vacation here. Gorgeous views of the bay from the room. Large room with real fireplace (but Duraflame log) and small deck. Grounds were nice and staff friendly & helpful. Wine & cheese hour and cool Scrabble board in the lobby if you want to enjoy a game while having your wine & cheese or morning coffee. Had appetizers at the restaurant but not dinner largely on advice of other reviews (had great meals at Terrapin Creek Cafe & The Casino Bar & Grill in Bodega instead). It seems to be a place where locals like to come for a get-a-way based on our conversations with others in the hot tub. The fog horn goes off every 10 seconds or so but it's not that disturbing. Overall, had a nice stay.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SF Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I've often spent the day in Bodega w a crab net at Doran beach but had never stayed there until now.
The Bodega Lodge and Spa was very nice. Beautiful room with a beautiful view.
I pre-ordered wine and strawberries in our room which was. Very nice.
We went out to Bodega head to hike but the wind was painful out at the head.
The hotel itself doesnt have extensive grounds, but what it gas are very nicely maintained.
Our second floor room had a fireplace, balcony (the wind didnt reach the hotel) and a beautiful view we watched sailboat races from.
Our bed was a cozy pillow topped king which Im afraid after wine at dinner I fell asleep on much too quickly for my main squeezes liking.
The only downside to the room was no bathtub, which the well apponted bath had plenty of room for. Bit of a let down for me, as Im always ready for a big bubble bath before a dinner out.
We ate at the duck club restaurant at the hotel as TripAdvisorand that other restaurant rating site called it the best in town.
It likely was, but with a wedding DJ yelling next door and a waitress that was less than on her mark. (made us wait 20 mn to take our order, didnt go over the specials and since I made the reservation kept calling my long-time significant other Mr <my last name which is also my ex-husbands inserted here> Very presumptuous of her. And while we didnt correct her- it was an added repeated cringe to an otherwise 7 out of 10 meal.
Room service breakfast was superior. Blueberry pancakes and a chai tea for me. Perfection. My honey had the benedict and loved his too.
Overall we enjoyed this place. Great for a weekend away, very little to do in Bodega means lots of couple time- which every couple needs.
And though we didnt. The spa offering looked great. If you partake, please let us know if you liked them.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyetraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

The balcony doors and screens jam. I has to yank on the door and it screeched metal on metal so high and loud that my eardrum hurt well into the next day. I'm very sure I had some hearing loss. Other than the doors, it's a nice property.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jjca77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We arrived here after a long days cycle. Check in jaws quick and we were in our room in no time while the hotel staff secured our bikes. The room was very large and gave us plenty of space to spead out. We took full advantage of the pool and the hot tub which really helped us relax. The place was so quite we slept with the patio door ajar and was never once woken even with the harbour warning sounds in the distance. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crangelag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
19.9 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
92 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
298 reviews
22.6 mi away
Honor Mansion, A Wine Country Resort
5.9 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Bay Lodge

Property: Bodega Bay Lodge
Address: 103 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923-9723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bodega Bay Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Unexpected Getaway in a Soul-Stirring Hideaway With its rugged shoreline and rolling countryside, the Sonoma Coast has its roots firmly planted in the land. The Bodega Bay Lodge—a Bodega Bay hotel poised atop a tranquil bluff overlooking the Pacific Ocean—reflects the wild beauty of this romantic region and offers an array of incredible things to do in Sonoma. Watch the fishermen ply the bay for the day’s catch. Spot migrating whales in the waves. Scout for rare birds in a location prized by the Audubon Society and Alfred Hitchcock. Stroll two miles of soft sands, hand-in-hand. Signature Service Whether it’s our popular wine hour, in-room fireplaces or complimentary Taylor Maid Farms organic coffee and organic Numi teas in the lobby, our signature service offerings are noteworthy extras that make every moment something to savor. Our staff is available 24 hours, ensuring you have a memorable and inspiring stay. Complimentary services include: •Luxurious, oversized guestrooms and suites •Concierge services •Complimentary morning newspaper in the lobby •Ocean-view pool, whirlpool spa and sauna •Bay-view fitness room •Wireless internet access •Free parking •Taylor Maid Farms Coffee served in the lobby throughout the morning •24-hour business desk with PC and printer access •Complimentary wine and cheese reception (daily from 5-6pm) •Safety deposit boxes •Non-smoking hotel •Views of Bodega Bay throughout the property Services available for an additional charge: •Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen •Spa treatments ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Bodega Bay Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Bay Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Bay Lodge And Spa
Bodega Bay Lodge Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing