We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food”
Review of Sandpiper Restaurant - CLOSED

Sandpiper Restaurant
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Overlooking beautiful Bodega Bay, Sandpiper offers a casual family atmosphere and dining experience with upscale, casual cuisine. Sandpiper is a place for everyone and we still have the best chowder in town!Chef Dominique Rooney is no longer at Sandpiper Restaurant as of October 13, 2013.
Lake Villa, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed April 13, 2013

The restaurant is located on a curb so if you pass it, you might have to drive a little bit before you can turn around.
The food was good and the service was quick. I had the crab roll and it was good.
Nothing special though, we could not see the ocean because of thick fog, so I don't know how the view is.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alecsandrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

200 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    53
    55
    31
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great crab omlet”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

We like breakfast here but they do not open until 9am. Nice views from the tables over looking the bay

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Would not recommend !”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

My husband and I had dinner there, but found it very pricey for just one course. Usually for $18 one would receive at least some bread and perhaps small salad. Also their menu items differed from the menu given to us by the adjacent motel. One curious note: both our entrees were stated to come with Macaroni & Cheese! We requested potatoes as substitutes. I cannot imagine why a seafood restaurant would serve macaroni/cheese with salmon. Will not return.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellers230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great staff, great food”
Reviewed February 17, 2013

We were in Bodega Bay for the Valentine's weekend. My girlfriend is allergic to gluten so she has a very restrictive diet. We went in and the staff was incredible. They helped us navigate the menu and pick which foods were gluten free. Moreover the chef came out several times to ensure we were take care of and the food was indeed well prepared for my girlfriend. In the end the chef even prepared us a special banana split for dessert. It was phenomenal. The food was great, the staff very attentive and helpful; we will come back again without a doubt.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank euclid456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Sit on the enclosed patio”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very friendly waitstaff, who are happy to share recommendations with travelers. The food was so-so.

The enclosed patio gives you a great view into the nothingness that is Bodega Bay when socked in with fog. It's actually very pretty and strange to see.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ateedub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sandpiper Restaurant also viewed

 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing