We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't Bother”
Review of Bluewater Bistro

Bluewater Bistro
Reserve with OpenTable
Bluewater Bistro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't Bother”
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We visit Bodega Bay every few months and eat at the Bluewater Bistro every time. Theview is great, food has always been good and staff very friendly. It seems they hired a new chef over the summer and the menu reflects this. Unimaginative, over priced, flavorless food. It also seems that the restaurant manager has changed recently as well as the new manager is lacking in customer service skills. We waited over 45 minutes for our dinner and it was horrible. We discussed ordering something else with the waitress who said she would talk to manager about taking the bad meal off the bill. The manager looked at our table, he never attempted to talk with us and offer apologies. When we received the bill the item was still on the bill. We wasted enough time at this place so paid and left. Will never return due to poor quality of food and poor management. What was a gem of a restaurant has turned out to be a disaster.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    12
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A good idea and with a view to get lost in!”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

This bistro is not hard to find, just turn into Bodega Harbour and follow the arrows to the Clubhouse. Restaurant serves lunch, and dinner, and has a full bar. Lunch has a separate menu as well as a separate place from dinner, but the waitstaff will try to accommodate if you just ask. They don't just serve fish, so don't be put off! Check out this place! I had a Cuban burger! Waitstaff wonderful, made us feel like family!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa Terre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, California
Level Contributor
336 reviews
256 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Panoramic view”
Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

This beautiful Oceanside golf course and restaurant had breathless views of the Pacific Ocean. I had a delicious bowl of New England clam chowder and another guest had seafood chowder. She said she had never tasted such a flavorful soup. Three of the guests had the seafood lunch with deep fried snapper, calamari and some shrimp. They all said it was delicious. My fish tacos smothered with avocados, salsa and cabbage. It was very flavorful. You can take a walk down to the beach. There's almost 100 stairs to get to the coastline. The climb back up was a good cardio workout. We digested nicely. It is absolutely pristine. Reasonably priced for a fancy and upscale country club.

Helpful?
Thank GrammyJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great even with the lights out!”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We were renting a house nearby and decided to try out Bluewater Bistro. It was a really windy night and the lights went out just as we ordered. Thankfully, they had a generator that kicked on within 15 seconds. The staff didn't skip a beat. Our food was served like nothing had happened. Hot, tasty and on time. Our waitress was extremely sweet. We would go back in a heartbeat.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank agreatdesigner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
245 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Loved the view”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Enjoyed taking advantage of the great views as the sun set on Bodega Bay! Live music on a Friday night, there is an upper and lower dining area. It didn't hurt that the food was delicious and the service very good. Recommended for certain.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank S E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bluewater Bistro also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Bluewater Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing