We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good News, Bad News”

Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Scenic view, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Doran Park Road
California City, California, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good News, Bad News”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The good news in our case was the excellent server, Emily, the view and general ambiance of the place. Very nice. Bad news was our choice of food, and the quality of what we got. Oysters were said to have come in that morning, maybe so, but they were not fresh, had little moisture and probably had not been perfectly stored. The salad was nicely put together, but the dressing was inert. The real disaster was the so-called ribeye steak, which was actually a thinly cut flank steak. It was served at room temperature on a cold plate. It had a lot of gristle and fat pieces, and the "glace" sauce had a bland taste but managed to take the flavor away from the meat. We sent it back for more heat and unfortunately had more sauce slathered on it when it came back. The other food may be good, but I wouldn't order steak, unless you are in a steakhouse.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodietraveler41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

313 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    96
    36
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fine dining restaurant with rustic flair!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

Liked: right on property of Bodega Bay Lodge, a walk from rooms Liked: Menu, and full bar, waitstaff -all make it a very pleasant stay and money well spent.
Be sure to get breakfast before 11AM in Bodega Bay, room service is available, otherwise, settle for lunch...newspapers are gone early, so if that is something you want, make it a mission to get those things. Bring jacket. Weather can be windy and on the colder side.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Teresa Terre S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
371 reviews
261 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
“Cozy dining with fireplace and water views”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Hope that Joaquin is your server. So friendly, talented, and welcoming! My husband had oysters which were $3 each and gigantic. Warm spinach salad was divine. We both had the short rib pappardelle, which was terrific. Really varied menu and decent prices. Very nice wine list and reasonably priced. We had breakfast here the next morning and were equally impressed.

Helpful?
1 Thank PismoLulu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
235 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Wonderful For Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2013

Breakfast at the Duck Club was a great way to end our stay at the Bodega Bay Lodge. We had a table overlooking the bay and from a distance, watched the travelers comings and goings at the local state park. My choice of Crab Meat Eggs Benedict was absolutely wonderful and my husband was equally happy with his Buttermilk cornflake encrusted French toast with chicken apple sausage. Although a bit pricey, our service was great, food was delicious and the view was magnificent and memorable. I would definitely recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mysugarpie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Meh - Not going back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well where do I start. OK, the good stuff first: 1) super nice dining room, 2) nice fireplace, 3) one minute walk from our room, 4) the food was really good, but not cheap.

Next, the bad stuff:
1) we called for a reservation, they only could take us at nine pm, upon arrival the dining room was empty on a Sunday night, why make us wait the hour?
2) our server did not know anything about the extensive regional wine list - very disappointing
3) the one pour of wine was super small and the server did not offer a taste off the newly opened bottle. We are in California? Right?
4) due the to the lack of guidance and knowledge I ordered a commonly ordered mixed drink, the bartender did not know how to make it.
4) after giving instructions, the final product only filled up one half of a tumbler :-(,
5) I asked the server to explain the size and his replay was "this just the way the bartender makes them." Literally the glass was full of ice and only filled one inch of drink. The server made no apologies or attempts to remedy the situation. Super unprofessional.

I will not go back due to the service issues. Very upset with the server and lack of caring about the customer experience. Sigh....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ES-150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing