We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh - Not going back.”

Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen
Reserve with OpenTable
Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Doran Park Road
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Meh - Not going back.”
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Well where do I start. OK, the good stuff first: 1) super nice dining room, 2) nice fireplace, 3) one minute walk from our room, 4) the food was really good, but not cheap.

Next, the bad stuff:
1) we called for a reservation, they only could take us at nine pm, upon arrival the dining room was empty on a Sunday night, why make us wait the hour?
2) our server did not know anything about the extensive regional wine list - very disappointing
3) the one pour of wine was super small and the server did not offer a taste off the newly opened bottle. We are in California? Right?
4) due the to the lack of guidance and knowledge I ordered a commonly ordered mixed drink, the bartender did not know how to make it.
4) after giving instructions, the final product only filled up one half of a tumbler :-(,
5) I asked the server to explain the size and his replay was "this just the way the bartender makes them." Literally the glass was full of ice and only filled one inch of drink. The server made no apologies or attempts to remedy the situation. Super unprofessional.

I will not go back due to the service issues. Very upset with the server and lack of caring about the customer experience. Sigh....

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ES-150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    167
    97
    37
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing food & service!!!!”
Reviewed November 8, 2013

If you want a relaxing dinner come here. The timing between appetizer and enter was great and atmosphere is serene. We ordered the Halibut and Cod - outstanding.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holls8887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Even Better”
Reviewed November 1, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner here on a warm evening and watched the sun sink into the ocean. Incredibly beautiful place, great service, fabulous martinis and succulent sonoma county duck.

Helpful?
Thank winepair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga
Level Contributor
406 reviews
225 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Week long trip to California”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Partnered with the Duck Club Restaurant is Drake's Fireside Lounge - you can get almost all the same menu items at Drake's I think. We opted to eat at Drake's because it wasn't as formal, and the food was still great; we had a short wait once, but enjoyed a glass of wine while waiting. We ate there three times while staying at Bodega Bay Lodge; both dinners were very good, once a very light dinner of just appetizers, and the second time a regular dinner. Oysters on the half shell were great (why not, we're on the ocean after all!), the New England style chowder was amazing, with lots of seafood - another soup-of-the-day was also exceptional; the steamed mussels were yummy and flavourful, and the organic chicken was very tasty. We all had dessert one evening - the creme brulee was amazing, what a treat! We also had breakfast on our day of departure - I had the smoke salmon eggs Benedict, a decadent treat and oh-so-good. The views from Drake's are beautiful, of the outlying marsh area, and the bay and ocean beyond; perfect for watching a sunset while enjoying a pre-dinner drink. We certainly enjoyed Drake's.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VNKSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“bar great/restaurant a dud”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We sat down in the restaurant and were passed by for over 15 minutes. We picked up and moved to the bar where we received amazing service and great food. And honestly the ambiance was much better in there anyways. Great great crab cake!!!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Drakes Sonoma Coast Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing