We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointed”

Lucas Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Great food, friendly service and spectacular views await you at Lucas Wharf Restaurant in Bodega Bay. We are a waterfront seafood restaurant on the beautiful Sonoma Coast, about 1-1/2 hours north of San Francisco and just minutes away from the wine country. We have a cozy lounge with a fireplace and a patio for outside dining. From your dinner table you might see the local fishermen unloading their catch on our dock while sea lions play in the water below and pelicans sail by overhead. We offer a large selection of seafood choices, plus steaks, pastas and vegetarian options. We have several unique signature dishes (calamari!) And delicious, seasonal dinner specials. We have a full bar and proudly feature premium Sonoma County wines and local draft beers. So, for either a romantic sunset dinner, a quick bite on your way through town or after a lazy day at the beach with the kids, visit Lucas Wharf Restaurant, family owned and operated since 1984.
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
348 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Rather disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

First night of our vacation we stopped in Bodega Bay for the night. Based on the AAA tour guide rating we ate at this restaurant. Service was definitely slow and the food was expensive for what we got. I've never seen such small mussels and shrimp before in my life. I definitely would not recommend this restaurant to any of my friends. We left feeling ripped off.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Odarkthirty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    176
    92
    31
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Seafood by the sea”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

All prices in this area are touristy high, but Lucas' Wharf is fairly reasonable for the money. Windows all around make the views spectacular. Depending upon the season, you could end up dining on food that was in the ocean yesterday (or even today). There is still a lot of dungeness crab fishing happening right out of Bodega Bay, so if your pocket can take it, the crab could not be fresher. The specialities are north coast fish (like Petrale), and they are done well, but not spectacular.

Better still, just go next door to the fish market and take some home. We have literally watched the crab get brought in from the boats to be sold, but you have know which months (any month with an "r" in it is a crab month, but areas vary by season). Best to call ahead to see if fresh is happening.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mikey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

This eatery is one of the few nicer ones at the dock on Bodega Bay. The food is slightly overpriced because it is a tourist zone. The Clam Chowder is good for $5-6. Get it in a bread bowl so you can eat the soup and bread!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank perryaam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Enjoyable dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We ate here this past weekend and were impressed. The service was outstanding. Our server was attentive, but not intrusive. Our food came very quickly. We tried the fisherman's stew and the fried calamari sandwich. Both were delicious. For a town as small as Bodega Bay, this was a perfect choice for a great meal in a lovely atmosphere without breaking the bank.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank georgewCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colleyville, Texas
Level Contributor
91 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Full of locals at 5pm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We drove by several restaurants in the area, some with while linen and candles. However, we u-turned back to this establishment because the parking lot was full early in the evening. The sweet hostess promised us the best seat in the house...window for 2 in the corner.
Grilled artichoke for starters, $7, savored while watching the bay antics of wind suffers. Salad as the sun begins to set. Clam chowder with more clams than potatoes and steaming. The most popular dish seemed to be fish stew or gumbo served in a bowl as big as a pot for $22.
We had been dining at chef restaurants all week; this was awesome choice...a local favorite. Yumm.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank megapickytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucas Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Lucas Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing