We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice lunch”

The Tides Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Price range: $18 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Description: The beautiful setting and views at the Tides Wharf Restaurant will be the highlight of your visit to the Sonoma Coast. You'll enjoy our bright and airy dining room, large menu and attentive table service. The Tides is a favorite of first-time visitors and locals alike. Our Clam Chowder is house-made from scratch every day. Great for families or a romantic night out! Serving Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner 365 days a year Espresso Bar open daily at 7 a.m. Fresh Seafood Specials, Clam Chowder, Fish & Chips, Local Crab and Salmon (in season), Burgers, Pasta, Steaks, Vegetarian Children's Menu Food-to-Go House-Made Desserts and Pastry Shop Gift and Souvenir Shop Fresh Fish Market, Gourmet Grocery and Wine Large Groups Welcome
Greeley, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Nice lunch”
Reviewed March 17, 2011

Stopped here on our way up the coast. I had eaten here many times as kid in the old resturant back in the 60's. It was the one featured in the Hitchcock movie "The Birds". Been many years since. The new place doesn't have the flavor of the old place but the food was nice. We both had Salmon with a nice veggie assortment and pasta. The pasta was a bit bland but the salmon was excellent. Nice lunch but nothing stood out.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    266
    207
    80
    67
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Just your regular tourist trap with high prices and mediocre food”
Reviewed February 24, 2011

Stopped here on our way back to the bay area after a great weekend roadtrip to mendocino county. I ordered the crab cioppino and my husband ordered the crab sandwich. My husband said it was good sandwich for crab, cheese , tomato and bread. My crab cioppino had crab, shrimp and clams. The tomato sauce tasted like it came out of can. The bread was really old , crusty and really boring flavor.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AriBull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Greatfood and service right on the bay”
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife's Red Snapper was cooked to perfection, and my Shrimp Provencale was awesome. Wish I could get both recipes!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joe48314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Not what I remember from previous visits”
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We've eaten at this restaurant a number of times in the 90s and as recently as about 2005 and always enjoyed it. This Christmas we were both disappointed with the food (service and setting were fine, as before). My scallops were inedible, over-cooked and with the texture of rubber; my wife's fish as well. I returned my dinner only partly eaten. They adjusted our bill, modestly. But we'll give the place a miss next time. Sadly, after some good evenings there.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lxj9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money for a view”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

We stayed over night at the Inn at the Tides and decided to come here only because it was so close and we were so tired. The bar and bartender are really good. We had a cocktail earlier in the day and she was nice, friendly, funny and made a great drink. That evening we returned for dinner. Sigh. What can I say but that this place was a total disappointment. I will say the server was eager, sweet and attentive but not over bearing. The problem was simply the food. My husband had the steak sandwhich and fries and got a very basic & fatty New York and Ore Ida steak fries. We ordered th crab/shrimp cocktail appetizer. It was the little bay shrimps and the local crab. It was good and tasted pretty fresh. I ordered the crab melt which came on twi pieces of Wonder white bread, two small lumps of crab meat in the middle, a melted piece of cheese and topped off with a soggy tomato. Oh and again the Ore Ida's. I had a glass of wine and water and my husband had a rum and coke. Our bill came to $134 plus tip. I wish they'd had a Subway or something because anything would have hurt less than signing that check. We'll always stop in for a drink or two and stop for my traditional stuffed sea otter or dolphin from the gift shop. But I can positively say we will NEVER eat here again. Well never say never. If were starving and drunk I might lol, but only to avoid driving and I would only order a basic cheesebuger or grilled cheese. Something that couldn't possibly be $19.99 for wonder bread and velveeta.

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaiiluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Tides Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to The Tides Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing