We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent seafood”

Fishetarian Fish Market
Ranked #6 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Description: Fresh rock-cod fish & chips with hand cut Kennebec french fries • Our Famous Charlie’s Chowder (Breadbowls!)• Incredible fried calamari, prawns, oysters • Amazing fish tacos • Delicious seafood sandwiches • Organic salads & springrolls with homemade dressings • Gluten free meal options
Restaurant details
Description: Fresh rock-cod fish & chips with hand cut Kennebec french fries • Our Famous Charlie’s Chowder (Breadbowls!)• Incredible fried calamari, prawns, oysters • Amazing fish tacos • Delicious seafood sandwiches • Organic salads & springrolls with homemade dressings • Gluten free meal options
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent seafood”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We drove from San Francisco up to Bodega Bay and stopped at this restaurant. I had the clam chowder, which was probably the best I've ever had. What I loved about this restaurant was that everything was fresh- you could tell. I also had fish tacos, which were delicious. I absolutely loved this place. It's a small restaurant with quality food. The prices are not outrageous either. We enjoyed the food with a bottle of Clois de Bois outside on the picnic table enjoying the beautiful weather.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mchsauceda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    49
    15
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
128 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“The BEST fish sandwich”
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Child of nearby Lucas Wharf (literally), the Fishetarian is part fish shop and part sandwich shop. They've got the gamut from chowder, fish & chips, salads, and sandwiches.

But the rockfish sandwich is 'to die for'. Crispy fried fish (rolled in panko crumbs, not some gooey batter), on a fresh chibata roll, with lettuce, tomato, cheese and russian dressing (or at least what looks like russion dressing - but who cares). Mouth-watering combination of flavors and textures. Served with a generous helping of hand-cut fries (crispy but not greasy). It's hearty and tasty at any price - and the price is reasonable.

They really understand how to fry fish here, so no matter what you get, you'll enjoy it.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best fish and chips!”
Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We were on a trip from the Oregon border down to Los Angeles. Tried many fish and chip places along the coast. This was, by far, the best F&C we had! And friendly staff as well. Strongly recommended.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Small place, excellent food”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Someone had suggested this place as being good. This place also had very good reviews. It was difficult to find, as it is a small place right next to the Luca Wharf. We went on Labor day weekend and the parking lot was packed. This place is small and has tables inside and outside. You order the food at the counter and they bring your food to the table. The guy that owns this place is a fisherman so everything is very fresh. I had the claim chowder and it was the best clam chowder I ever had. It was not traditional, as most is really thick with loads of potatoes. This was not as thick, lots of claims and herbs, vegetables and was delicious. Not as heavy as most claim chowders. I ate the whole bowl. The folks in my party had fish and chips, rock cod sandwich, crab sandwich, fish tacos, etc. All were satisified with their food. It was crowded, but service was fairly fast. I would recommended this place if you want fresh seafood. The prices were not terrible, but not cheap, but this is Bodega bay and the seafood was fresh.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb5biker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“fresh food, ok clam chowder”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I ordered the clam chowder, which they are famous for. It was ok, but not in the top five clam chowders I've had. The range of food was impressive and it looked very fresh. Unfortunately, they fry their crabcakes, which takes the flavor out. I'd recommend asking for broiled if possible. Very casual and the wait staff was very friendly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kate S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishetarian Fish Market also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Fishetarian Fish Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing