We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value in Bodega Bay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Florida
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent value in Bodega Bay”
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This was a first stop on a three week Northern California trip: Good location entering Bodega Bay. Friendly welcome at arrival. Our room was a standard king.

Rooms offer a beautiful view of Bodega Bay, are very quiet, spacious, clean and offer a lot of amentities for a decent price. Standard breakfast in a nice room is included. Staff recommended Lucas Wharf for a very good sefood dinner.

We can recommend this hotel for a stay in Bodega Bay.

Room Tip: In you don't need a fireplace go for a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank peter41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    76
    47
    29
    24
See reviews for
32
111
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011


 
Trippy topiary beds need improvement.
 
the coast inn is reasonably priced which is why myself and my companion chose it.

it's divided into various blocks, each of which contains four rooms. the rooms are accessed  via stone stairways reminiscent of housing estates back home (UK). As my travelling companion climbed the stairs, she remarked that the stairwell reminded her of Tower Hamlets, a well known location in Inner city london.
 
That aside, the rooms were large,and were essentially like small apartments. Our room had a microwave, coffee machine and an ensuite bathroom. It also had a balcony and a nice view over the bay. The rooms were clean enough,  we did have a problem with our sink with the plug jamming and I did report it to reception. The way the man gazed at me blankly led me to believe that it would not be fixed, and indeed it wasn't so we reported it again on the way out.
 
Breakfast is included. It was fine, bagels, cereal,  juice and coffee. there was even a waffle machine if you wanted. I was at first alarmed by the thick yellow waffle liquid that was dispensed from a machine into a plastic cup, but I am from the UK and we just don't have that back home.
 
Our one major complaint was the bed. It was far too soft. When combined with a far too thick and hard pillow, it resulted in us both waking up with quite bad back ache. We both slept really badly for three nights, which is why we have given Bodega only 2 stars. The pillows were so bad that we ended up making our own by putting our clothes  and towels into empty pillow cases. Guests shouldn't have to do this.
 
There is a spa pool, it was very hot. It was nice if a little over chlorinated. I was a little concerned that my tattoo would disappear but that seemed to be not the case.
 
One thing we really appreciated. The topiary. we have never seen bush quite like it, and I have posted some pictures. It is located throughout the complex, and consists of figurative representations of animals and people-like creatures. it's fantastic and strange and quite brilliant. I have always assumed that topiary followed conventions but why should it?
 
Bodega bay is lovely though, a soothing quiet balm with gorgeous coastline close by. The Birds was filmed here, and the Birds themed Barbie on reception is also worth a look.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabe88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodega Bay hotels

San Francisco
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We chose this hotel because we were traveling with our dog. We booked a king w/fireplace and got a rate of $169/night which was the best rate we could find in the area. Check in was fast and friendly, our room and the bathroom were large and clean, with a good view facing west, and everything worked (shower, tv, telephone, fireplace, coffee maker, fridge, microwave and the ice machine just outside our door). We were pleasantly surprised by how quiet it was since the hotel was full. There is no swimming pool and we didn't check out the communal hot tub even though it looked inviting and clean and was almost always empty.

While the mattress was comfortable, we were glad that we brought flannel sheets (a reviewer mentioned the sheets don't fit the bed) - the bedding definitely needs to be upgraded. While the thin fitted bottom sheet stayed on the mattress, the top flat sheet and the blanket seemed too small for the bed and too flimsy for the foggy, cool Bodega Bay climate (the comforter just wasn't an option for us). We were also glad to have brought warm bathrobes because the bathroom isn't heated and gets quite chilly. Breakfast was very basic (muffins, waffles, bagels and cereal) but the room was crowded and the waits for the toaster and waffle maker were so long we skipped it the second morning and went next door to a cafe that had great muffins.

All in all, we'd would probably stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
115 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Lovely stay at this inn. We had reserved a vaulted queen but were upgraded to a King Fireplace for no extra charge. We had a wonderful view of the bay from our balcony. The room had a refrigerator and microwave. There was a duraflame log in the fireplace. The hot tub has a nice view of the bay. Everything was well maintained and clean. The staff was very helpful. Breakfast was included which included waffles, hard boiled eggs, fruit, cereal etc. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, cA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

We enjoyed staying here. The room was spacious with a small microwave and fridge. We had a room on the 3rd floor so our bay view from the balcony was beauiful. There are rooms with fireplaces as well, but we did not have one of those. If I had known ahead of time I would have booked one. The hotel has a small hot tub area that looks out at the bay. Overall, nice place. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLOGrubby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patterson, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We took a family trip with my inlaws and our two children. We stayed in a three bedroom suite which was clean and well-kept. The furnishings were dated and a little worn, the bathroom had new counter tops and the water pressure was good. The continental breakfast was good as well, with a variety of cereals, coffee, breads, juices, waffles and fruit. Internet was also included in the cost, no extra charge but the signal was weak and intermittent. All in all it was an ok place to stay, I'd say that for age and condition of the rooms it was a bit over-priced.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank principal911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, CA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2011

We booked a room with 2 queen beds for the first night of a 3-day bicycle tour through Marin County. We picked the Bodega Coast Inn specifically because they allowed us to make a reservation for one night only. Most other hotels in the area have a 2-night minimum. All rooms have a view of the bay. We were in room 40 which overlooked the hot tub. It was nice, roomy, and clean. The hot tub was clean and hot and was awesome after a long day on the bike. The Lucas Wharf restaurant was walking distance. We enjoyed the full bar and fresh seafood for dinner. Unfortunately, the Bodega Coast Inn does not have laundry facilities but we were able to wash our cycling clothes in the sink and then the hotel staff allowed us to use their dryers to dry our clothes. We really appreciated that! They have free VHS movies and a decent breakfast is included (waffles, fresh fruit, cereal, etc). This is a place we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnKr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
0.5 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,269 reviews
0.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
490 reviews
19.5 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
109 reviews
18.6 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Coast Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Coast Inn & Suites

Property: Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Address: 521 Coast Highway 1, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bodega Coast Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites delivers distinctive bayside lodging, amenity-rich rooms and suites, value-packed vacation packages, pet friendly accommodations, modern features and spectacular coastal vistas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Bodega Coast Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bodega Coast Inn And Suites
Bodega Coast Hotel Bodega Bay
Bodega Coast Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing