We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Chowder!!”

Spud Point Crab Company
Ranked #1 of 26 Restaurants in Bodega Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Best Chowder!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

This unassuming restaurant claims the best chowder in Bodega Bay and that's not a boast. It's the best chowder I've had anywhere. . .a must try place. They add lots of garlic to the chowder which give it an excellent flavor. Pair the chowder with sourdough bread and you'll leave full and smiling. But go on a nice day as the only seating is outside and be ready for a wait as this place is busy.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank halor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    369
    163
    34
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“"Off the Hook"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2013

If you like off the boat fresh crab, then you will love this place. I thought it a little pricey, but still a good value. Lunch for two was just over $40. We each had the fantastic clam chowder, crab sandwich and a soft drink. The crab was delectable and served in a fresh bun.

It is order at the indoor counter and eat outside at picnic tables. Dress warm as it was windy and cool on the day that we visited. There isn't much shelter so I suspect that it can be unpleasant if you do not dress appropriately.

Spud Point is off the beaten path, but well worth a visit. We live several hundred miles away, but the fond memory of this great meal will linger in the memory bank and I plan to return if I ever get a chance.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Cyranno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Wow - crab roll and claim chowder! Great food at great prices - everything is fresh and tasty. watch out in rainy days - the seating is outdoors and not covered.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stepchoiny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cool, CA
Level Contributor
293 reviews
180 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 387 helpful votes
“Look for it, it is worth the search”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

Don't be misled by the exterior of this seafood "shack". Judge it by the line of cars that jockey for a place to park nearby. The crab, during season, is right off the boats. The crab sandwich is outstanding, matched in quality by the clam chowder. It is just a short drive off highway one in central Bodega Bay. They sell out of the favorite dishes so plan on an early lunch.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BruinSeniorTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Chowder”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

Liked the chowder. Had a what I thought was a unique smokey flavor. We were going to split one, but halfway through, had to get another. Also split a crab meat sandwich which was really good. Hope to have time to visit again tomorrow. No indoor seating.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Aspenleaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spud Point Crab Company also viewed

Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 
Bodega Bay, Sonoma County
 

Been to Spud Point Crab Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing