We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great shady site near fantastic beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bodega Dunes Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bodega Bay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bodega Dunes Campground
Save
You added Bodega Dunes Campground to your Saves list
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great shady site near fantastic beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Really lovely site. Great wooded pitches. Free showers (big plus when tenting). Stunning beach is quite a walk but well worth it. That foghorn thing is there in the background but it never bothered me and I'm quite a light sleeper.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Phil_in_wolvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    13
    4
    5
See reviews for
23
20
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed here earlier this summer and at first were very happy with our decision. We had some difficulty with some kids from a neighboring site not respecting our camp area, but that was their parents' fault, not the campground's. We loved our site on a dune, and walking to the beach was a great way to spend an afternoon. We found the bathrooms to be clean given that it was a weekend in the middle of summer and the campground seemed full. Everything was going great until all got quiet and we realized that the buoy would be dinging every five seconds all night. Literally. We ended up with about three hours of sleep before packing up the next morning and heading out. I wouldn't mind staying there again, but I'd bring earplugs.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Becky-in-Oakland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

We camped 2 nights over the past few days and the park was virtually empty. We hand picked out site, so of course we loved it! Most of the sites we saw were very large and very clean. As others mentioned there was plenty of hot water for showers (free). The bathrooms were a decent distance from the site we chose, but that is how I like it. We had a great time and with Bodega Bay right on the other side of the gate (there is a pass through near site 65), we just carried our kayaks and put in the water. It was fantastic. After kayaking we went to the marina and had grilled oysters and awesome clam chowder. Very fun trip. Definitely will go back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Pinofan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We went to this last weekend and overall had a good time.

It's prolly on the better side of a typical state park campground with good facilities. Enough restrooms with running water - cold and hot! They also have free hot showers. We didn't face any issues with the folks at the gate or the host and they were as cordial as I would expect them to be. I think overall from a facilities perspective, it has it all.

Coming to it's location - this was my biggest complain at the end of the day. I didn't fancy it being so next to Bodega Bay to the point where from quite a few sites you could see road traffic. Psychologically, it just didn't feel like I am away from my regular world. On the positive side, it's just a 5min drive from the Sonoma Bay State Beach which we ended up visiting.

The sites themselves were not necessarily big and as they are allocated upon arrival, it makes sense to get there in time to get the better ones.

Room Tip: Get there early to grab a good sized site if you have to put more than 2 tents/site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Live_It_Ez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangevale, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I've gone here as long as I can remember to camp. The beach is near (but they've recently made it so you have to walk long ways! ugh) and amazing. My family and best friend had a blast building a drift wood fort on the beach. Where I stayed, the bathroom was through a path and it looked like any site you were at, there was a nearby bathroom with hot, free showers. The lady up front was very kind and very helpful! Can;t wait to go back next week.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012


When a group of us decided on a camping vacation on the coast we started looking around. We love the Bodega Bay area so we checked around and carefully read reviews.
We read about the skunks and raccoons (never saw, heard, or were victims of them), we read about an unpleasant person at the gate (all the people were wonderful), basically we went into this knowing it might have some pitfalls...and boy were we pleasantly surprised.
We arrived on a Friday afternoon (with two campsites reserved) and got two campsites right next to each other. The bathrooms were close no matter which site you ended up in. The areas were open and semi private- perfect to be able to watch our kids roam. We pitched our tents, set up camp and made dinner while the kids played. We were up after the 10 pm curfew, we weren't loud but we also weren't silent- never had any problems. No campers at any camps in our section were obnoxious or loud.
We were "pleasantly" awoken at 6:13 each morning by an obnoxious Raven however!
We had a great time at local beaches. The kids ran around in the surf, played in the sand, we had a kid and adult football game going, and were treated to hours of dolphins frolicking in the surf.
We went into town for last minute supplies and found everything we needed and on our way out of town ate at the Spud Point Crab Co- EXCELLENT, by the way.
The bathrooms at the campground were clean, showers nice- everything is no frills as it is a state campground and budgets have been cut, so remember your soap and paper towels for the bathroom.
The staff came by often to empty the trash cans, keep an eye on the goings on and to wave a friendly hello.
I know everyone has their own experiences so I hope anyone else that goes there has a great time like we did.
Oh, great place to let kids ride their bikes, there are sandhills they love playing on and trees to climb. We had a wiffle ball and bat, as well as soccer and the kids and adults loved playing pick up games.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Chicoalum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

My friends and I took our time off from work to enjoy a get away and they decided to choose Bodega Bay. My friends paid for reservation and the service there was terrible and racist. We paid just like everyone else and we obey the rules. We did not disturbed anyone and yet they treated us like stupid kid. They threaten us to follow rules or we'll get "kicked out" meaning we reserved 3 days for nothing and wasted our money. The spacing there was not big enough. we reserved a few spots for the amount of people we had and yet we were still camping right next to strangers. We can clearly hear their conversations. When the sun sets, Skunks comes out so be aware. I talked to a lady at the restroom and she said she saw skunks and raccoons within 40 minutes. The lady at the booth was straight up rude. She acts as if she's trying to help but her actions were only being racist. She pulled over 5 cars full of Asians to check Every person's ID and yet let all the non Asians drive right through without any questions. When a Non Asian came to the line for help, they were helped first because there was "TOO MANY ASIANS" to help when that's her fault she pulled over 5 Asian cars. The lady spoke as if she listens to your questions and request when all her answers were not helpful at all. She made sure everything went her way rather then helping you out. I really do not recommend this place for anyone because they do not know how to treat there customers/guess right nor with respect.

Room Tip: Don't go there unless you're 30 years of age and is white because racism apparently still ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Lovely H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodega Bay hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
8.4 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 stars 1,009 reviews
12.5 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 2 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 stars 233 reviews
7.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 stars 439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.1 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 stars 103 reviews
10.3 mi away
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
Farmhouse Inn & Restaurant
#1 of 2 in Forestville
4.5 of 5 stars 647 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Jenner Inn
The Jenner Inn
#2 of 2 in Jenner
3.0 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bodega Dunes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bodega Dunes Campground

Property: Bodega Dunes Campground
Address: Bodega Bay, CA
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Bodega Bay
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Camp amongst the dunes, and it even has hot showers. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Bodega Dunes Campground Hotel Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing