We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Tides
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Reviewed April 25, 2006

Just got back from an overnight stay at the Inn at The Tides. We stayed in room 1211 which was a king bed with fireplace room. Room was nice, clean and well appointed. The problems we had were: #1 - no heat! At 10:00 PM. we returned to our room and found out that the heater did not work. Tried to light up the fireplace and encountered problem #2 - green, unseasoned firewood. We heat our home with a wood stove and are very familiar with fires. Took about an hour just to get the logs lit and they were so green they hardly put out any heat. Burned up all the kindling keeping it lit and finally decided to go to bed. Spent a chilly night for sure! Left a comment sheet behind detailing the problems and we will see if the establishment contacts us in the future. This is the second time we have stayed here, the first stay was quite nice. We will probably go back in the future but might have to bring some decent wood to burn!

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CAMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 528 reviews

Reviewed April 4, 2006

I have never written a review before, but after reading all the negative remarks I had to put finger to keyboard(so to speak). I concur 100% with all of the negative comments. The rooms are outdated and dark, the bathroom small and cramped. We had a nice view despite being on the ground floor b/c we were up on the hillside. The grounds around our patio were overgrown and not well kept. The patio furniture was dirty. The room's decor was atrocious.

My husband and I came to the Inn to celebrate our fifth anniversary. When we saw the room we immediately went to the front desk to ask for an upgrade. The attendant told us that there were no other rooms available. When we packed our bags and told her we were checking out, she magically found another room for us. But by that point we found a much nicer property for a comparable price. What's more, once she lied to us we really weren't inclined to stay. We ended up having a great weekend albeit not at Inn at the Tides.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank barl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2005

Be aware that the Inn at the Tides is on the east side of the highway so even the ocean view rooms have very distant views. Take binoculars. We stayed in bldng 7 on the 2nd floor. It's nestled pretty high up in the hillside and had a nice panoramic view of the bay. We did walk past a number of buildings that I thought would not have a very good view, especially if you were on the ground floor. The decor was nice and the room was cozy. My main complaint was that the bed is very, very uncomfortable and so were the pillows. I'm not even that picky about those sorts of things, and I was pretty disappointed. The mattresses, pillows, and linens drastically need to be updated, for $200+ a night.

We live close enough to the Sonoma Coast that we can do weekend getaways there a couple times a year. Visitors should be aware that although tourism is a big deal there, somehow people like desk clerks, wait staff, etc all over Bodega Bay apparently don't have enough training or motivation to be all that friendly and helpful. We've seen it time and time again there. The staff at Inn at the Tides - front desk and restaurant- is no exception to this laissez-faire attitude. It's not that they're rude, they just don't seem to care all that much, which is very very different from the tourist-oriented services in my hometown or in some other California beach towns.

  • Stayed: December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank napagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Ontario, CA
218
Reviewed November 22, 2005

Even though we had booked 4 nights, I knew this would be a short stay when we checked in. As we walked through the doors to the lobby the girl at the front desk was standing there gabbing to some friend of hers who was obviously having a bad day. After making us wait uncomfortably for what seemed like an eternity she finally told the person she'd call back and hug up the phone and asked us what we needed. When I told her that we'd like to check in she gave me a look like she wanted to ask "You want to stay here?" When we finally got to the room it wasn't exactly what we expected. We were under the impression that we would have an ocean view room, but what we got was a room up high on the hillside with a view of cows in the field next to our room from one window, and all the hotel's buildings with the ocean in the far distance from the other. We went down to the hotel's affiliate restaurant across the street on the bay for dinner and while the food was decent for what was clearly a tourist trap, we were forgotten for long periods of time by our server. When we finally settled in for the evening we could hear the escapades of our neighbors through the wall until 2am. The next morning we went back down to the restaurant across the street for our free breakfast, which was actually one of the better free breakfasts I've ever had at a hotel. After breakfast we decided to give the front desk another shot for some help about things to do in the area, and we found a woman who was swamped with phone calls and quickly just showed us brochures of some art galleries and hoseback riding and a map of the area and left us on our own as she went back to trying to keep up with the calls. We cruised around town and came across another hotel with a much more friendly staff and a better location for just a little bit higher price, so we quickly went back to our room and packed up and checked out.

  • Stayed: October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Napa, CA
17
Reviewed October 6, 2005

The hotel room was very disappointing for the money - $300 a night. We arrived late on friday night, after sunset, so we couldn't see the view of the beach, it was so dark (I suggest you go before sunset). The porch had no lights and was not private at all, there were only two dirty white plastic chairs, if you sit on your porch you will be sitting next to your neighbor. When we got in the jacuzzi the window got so steamed up we couldn't even see the beach from the jacuzzi in the morning. The carpets were stained, you could see through the curtains from outside, we had to hang up a sweater so no one could see in. The wall paper was coming off of the wall in the bathroom. The comforter was from the 60's and very thin, the pillows were flat as can be. The walls were so thin my boyfriend could not go to sleep all night long, bring your earplugs if that would even help. You could here the people talking from the room next door and could here there t.v. The view from our room in the morning was very beautiful. The lodge is very welcoming but the pond inside the lodge had no water. The beach was the best part, it was quiet and peaceful. No one was at the beach, it was very secluded. It was like your own private beach. All of the other beaches around the area are so crowded. We even got to see some seals. The trails were great for hiking/walking, very romantic. Best thing was the wonderful views when your on their property. I would go there for the day but not to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2005

The views are fantastic. It is a quiet relaxing hotel with a pleasant staff. Its decor is stuck in the early 80s and could use some updating. However, the beds were comfortable and the restaurant was great!

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank am1Lafayette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2005

We stayed here for 1 night as a part of our honeymoon. Our room was one of their most expensive with a nice view of the bay and a real fireplace. We looked around the grounds a bit and the pool looked nice as did the gym and jacuzzi but we didn't have time to use them as we were just passing through. Our room was above average but not luxurious, but overall we enjoyed it here. The restaurant across the street is pretty good, though its casual/family friendly.

It was expensive to stay here but you're paying for the location I guess.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank MARKLakeWorth_Fl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,667 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
214 reviews
19 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
19.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range: $218 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing