We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel...skip the restaurant”
Review of Inn at the Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Tides
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Plumas Lake, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great hotel...skip the restaurant”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I'm a Sonoma County native so we've never had reason to stay at any of the hotels along the bay. That being said, we recently stayed at the Inn and had an absolutely lovely and romantic room. Beautiful view of the bay, fireplace (with kindling and logs provided), complimentary bottle of wine. My only complaint is that we got an upstairs room and there are only stairs. A bad knee made the climb a little uncomfortable. Other than that, there were a couple of minor inconveniences. No automated checkout, no decent wi-fi, no mini fridge. Really minor stuff. Other than that, the stay was fantastically comfortable. The pillows alone made for a great night's sleep. One more thing....the hotel gives you a voucher for breakfast at the restaurant across the street but honestly, I would skip it. The food is less than what you'd expect.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kelleyk505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    163
    103
    72
    40
See reviews for
100
274
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
219 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We were a bit leery based on some of the reviews, so made sure we booked an upgraded room. We had a Deluxe King Vault Fireplace second floor in building 11. The room was spacious, clean, well-appointed, had a lovely view and comfy bed. Decent sized bathroom with a lighted make-up mirror, full tub and shower with good water pressure. Complimentary bottle of wine, in-room coffee maker and morning paper included; nice. We enjoyed the fireplace, and they have extra wood easily accessible if needed (we had plenty in the room). Check in was fast, friendly, and efficient. We were only here one night, thus did not use the pool or hot-tub, but observed a few hardy folks out there in the chill. The pool building could do with some updating, and the ladies room there needed cleaning. The pool building also has some fitness equipment and some fitness posters from the 1980's that made us laugh. The grounds are actually quite lovely. Our top of the property view of the bay and harbor from the room windows was complemented by the charming sight of rolling hills with cows grazing behind the inn when exiting the room. We walked across the street to the Tides Bar in the evening, then again to the Tides restaurant in the morning for our complimentary breakfast. We met some other travelers from the same hotel, who were less happy with their non-upgraded room, and complained they could hear the footsteps in the room above them; although they did like having a patio (no balconies upstairs; patios downstairs). We would definitely stay here again if in the area, but recommend the updated second floor rooms!

Room Tip: Deluxe King Vault Fireplace -second floor, at the top of the property. We ended up in building 11 an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MTLtravelerRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Negative points: "Inn at the Tides" thinks that it is marvellous and it isn't. There was a "complimentary" bottle of white wine on arrival, but left warm in a room having no refrigerator. Rooms are dated, and maintenance and fittings were poor. Two lights in our room didn't work, and they had allowed the door lock battery to run down. The staff implied that we had mistreated the door cards and we were stuck outside in the cold evening for 1/2 hr while they fixed the lock. $20 refund very reluctantly given for the inconvenience. Shrubs in the rather dull grounds are over-manicured and the flower beds have lots of weeds. We didn't need or use the spa facilities, but the choice of places to stay in this area is limited.

Positive points:The view from our room was pleasant. The associated restaurant across the road, where tasty included breakfast was provided, had a lovely setting with every table having views over the water. (Seals, pelicans and cormorants in the morning; sunset in the evening). Evening meal there was good and not overly expensive. Stay somewhere else, but use the "Tides" restaurant.

Room Tip: Some rooms are a long steep walk away from the restaurant across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Edward_Fxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodega Bay hotels

Salt Lake City
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am many years familiar with the Sonoma Coast and Bodega Bay, but I have never had occasion to stay at the Inn at the Tides, so named for the Tides seafood restaurant/tourist complex on the bay/ocean side of Highway 1. A little matter of a big birthday and a 25th anniversary sent my wife and I west to visit the coast for a few days.

This property is pretty well maintained and is quite attractive. It is 80's rustic, which is mostly a good thing (the guest room baths could use an updating), and the atmosphere is very relaxing. There are a lot of choices of rooms, including some with fireplaces (wood supplied). A full, hot breakfast is included at the restaurant I mentioned, and you are greeted with a bottle of local wine to take off the edge of the traveling you did to get there. The cleaning and maintenance people were helpful, cheerful and efficient.

There is a large outdoor pool out of the wind so you can get some sun without being blown away (it does get windy there). There is a moderately well equipped fitness center, a sauna and hot tub. The fog can sometimes roll in and stay all day, so have some warmer layers and even consider taking some wet weather gear. The things to do list around here is too long to mention all, but hiking (and seal and whale watching) on the Bodega Head, going to the dozen or so beaches that dot the coastline or wandering along the Russian River in towards Sonoma's wine country could top anyone's list.

As for pricey, well everything on the Coast is touristy pricey, so buck up and pay. You can shop around the internet a bit to find the best deal, but lodging and food in this area are not for those of us with thin wallets.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikey9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Very nice place, comfortable bed, cozy room, with an very nice view of the ocean. The grounds were very beautiful. We had a very nice breakfast included. Staff was nice! We would love to stay again. It was our second stop as we are heading up the coast.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Azgirl18_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Shade, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Nice place..landscaping especially nice! 2nd floor gives better view, but have to haul everyth ing up outside steps. Not bad if you travel lite, but a hassle if you're traveling a while or if weather is bad Asked for a local place for sandwich and soup for a lite meal after traveling all day. They sent us to their sister business... A casual restaurant that offered $24 sandwiches. We chose to go elsewhere but breakfast there the next day was fine with great view of activities on the bay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cjmckendry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antioch, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We wanted to stay at this Inn on our honeymoon 25 years ago but couldn't afford it, so we booked a King room with an ocean view for our 25th wedding anniversary. The room was dated, but we loved the view and the fireplace. The problem was the horrible sounds coming from the adjacent room. We heard their child crying and whining, we ended up keeping the TV on so that we wouldn't have to hear the noise coming from the room next door. I was a little creeped out by all the hotel guests who would walk around the grounds in only their robes; really?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bmac4j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
19.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
6.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
18.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Property: Inn at the Tides
Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing