We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Inn at the Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Tides
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Chico, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tranquility”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Bodega Bay is a sleepy coastal town.
Inn At The Tides offers a beautiful view and our room had a wood burning fireplace.
There's a nice sized jacuzzi which was kept nice and hot!
The property was festively adorned in Christmas lights. The restaurant across the street has fantastic clam chowder.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Meridith_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

475 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    159
    102
    70
    39
See reviews for
96
270
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Our room was large and comfortable, with a beautiful small field of daisies outside our back door. It was very relaxing to sit out on the patio, drink the complimentary bottle of wine with cheese and crackers and look out to the sea. The room we stayed in was located the furthest up the hill, yet we didn't feel slighted by not being right on the bay. The rooms do not have a luxury feel (we didn't expect luxury when booking either) but are well maintained, clean and the setting is beautiful. The pool and hot tub are good, the place is also quiet. We enjoyed the restaurant right across the street as well. We had a very nice stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyL A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bend oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 14, 2012

I really wanted to give this hotel a good review but sadly I can't. The best part about this hotel are the grounds. Very nice pool and hot tub, also a nice view. The rooms are funky, with an 80's feeling to them. Our bathroom was filthy, lots of hairs and even a cobweb at the base of the tub. I wiped it down so we could use it. When I pulled back the bedspread there was a ball of black hairs on the inside, and an awful cover on the mattress also sheets that were not fitted so in the middle of the night you were touching the mattress, yuck! I was not relaxed and a little grossed out during our stay. I wish I would have stayed somewhere else.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sofistka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodega Bay hotels

Pamiers
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

Great views on Bodega Bay, great staff, comfortable room, beautiful settings, complementary wine in the room... A wonderful holiday stop. The hotel offers great deals on its website which made our stay an outstanding value for money.

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms have an even better view on the bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francois G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
121 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room was clean & comfortable but unremarkable & dated with cheap looking furniture and very basic bath. essentially what you might find in a chain hotel 1/3 the price. Nothing really wrong with it, but nothing special either

Absolutely no cell phone service which would not have been so bad if the advertised wi-fi actually worked. They actually initially claimed it was related to old wiring that required flash & therefore did not not work on iPads or iPhones. Huh?!!!! Then they claimed there was wifi in the lobby. We went down there & that didn't work either. This was met with met with a few polite words and a shrug by the manager.

Very poor signage, non sequential numbering & poor lighting makes it hard to find your room as there are multiple buildings and side branches of the drive. If dark & or rainy... Just forget it!

Want some tea?... How about a pot for $9, and only before 9 pm

Fire alarm went off & was told this was because people were taking showers!!

In general, a basic and unremarkable place with so- so service pretending to be a luxury resort. They need to invest a little in updating or lower prices & modify description on their page

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank marybeth_abarbanel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 1 night in the middle of a cycling trip. The views were fantastic and we did not mind the fog horn sound at night (rather peaceful actually). However, the room smelled musty and the rug clearly needed replacement. The bathrooms were very dated. I inquired about the laundry facilities only to find that one of the machines was broken and ate my quarters! This hotel clearly needs to put some money into some basics, as the setting is fantastic. The dinner at the hotel that night was excellent!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AliceRochester_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
santa clara ca
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here after a day of wine tasting in Sonoma. The staff was friendly and professional. Our room was large and comfortable, with a king bed, a flat screen TV, and a fireplace. We had an enjoyable dinner at Bayview, the on site restaurant. Afterward, we had the option of moving over to the lounge, where a passable pianist was performing but chose instead to retire to our room to enjoy a fire, a complementary bottle of wine, and the sound of sea lions barking in the fog-shrouded bay. In the morning, we walked across the street to The Tides for a very decent breakfast, which was included in the price of the room. The only reason I didn't give this property five stars is that it adamantly does not allow pets. Nevertheless, we will be staying here again and will recommend it to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank water_dragon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 201 reviews
19.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.3 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
6.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
18.1 mi away
Fort Ross Lodge
Fort Ross Lodge
#1 of 3 in Jenner
4.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Property: Inn at the Tides
Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing