We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey, outdated hotel in wonderful location.”
Review of Inn at the Tides

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Inn at the Tides
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Reviewed November 7, 2011

Myself, husband and our 2 year old stayed at the beginning of October for 2 nights. We enjoyed the lovely pool area and the grounds. The room is very dated and needs new carpet desperately. The room size is very nice and the deck off our room was convenient.
The breakfast was included with our room and the hotel restaurant is across the street, overlooking the Bay. The restaurant breakfast is a sit down meal with about 10 choices from a menu. The view of the water and wildlife are the best part.
We enjoyed staying in Bodega Bay, it is a nice place to visit. However, not sure if we will be back to the Inn at the Tides. Expensive price for an outdated room.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kualoa04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

378 - 384 of 527 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2011

Lots of great things about this place, but a lot not good too. Warm welcome at the front desk, instant upgrade to a larger room with a fireplace. Opened the door of the room and noticed the musty smell right away. Despite the chilly air, we cranked open all the windows. Carpet was badly in need of a cleaning/replacing. There were broken blinds hanging diagonally. The DVD player was broken, but we were warned about that at check-in. The decor needs updating, especially in the bathroom. And when you are spending good money on a room, can you at least get a make-up mirror? Some of us don't see so well! The pluses? Large room, gorgeous view, breakfast included, complimentary wine and lots of restaurants nearby. I have to wonder if they made the improvements to the room, if I would be able to afford the place, so you have to consider things when selecting a spot to stay in the area. Also have to mention we woke up to the sound of "moo!" Cows adjacent, but that was kind of cute. They don't rise as early as chickens. :-)

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baramama2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

Our room had a great view of the Bay. We also had a nice patio with a view of the Bay and a nice pasture on the east. We saw beautiful sunsets! The room was fairly well appointed and we even had a complimentary bottle of wine waiting for us! We also had a huge complimentary breakfast at the restaurant right down the hill from the hotel. It was excellent! They also have a very nice spa with a big pool, hot tub, sauna and workout room. Overall, this was a great, relaxing place to spend a few days and nights.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Bodega Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BitsyIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

We stayed here 2 nights and enjoyed it very much. Gorgeous location - close to beaches and trails - and lush, beautifully-maintained grounds. We stayed on the first floor, which gave us a small patio but sacrificed some of the ocean view that the second floor provided. The hot breakfast (included) across the highway is a plus, and we enjoyed watching seals, ducks, and kayakers while we ate. Dinner at the Inn was excellent and reasonable; the atmosphere is relaxed but elegant. The mussels in wine and garlic were a delectable appetizer, and the veal piccata was out of this world, with lots of fresh lemon zing. The only negatives of the Inn: the room decor seemed a bit "tired" - new spreads, carpet, and shades are due; the thermostat didn't work and the room was hot unless the windows were open; a luggage rack, laundry bag, and small refrigerator would have been appreciated; and a tall plant or screen separating our patio from the adjacent patio would be nice (our neighbors retreated to their room each time we ventured out...). All in all, we enjoyed our stay but found it a bit pricey for what we got.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with clear view of the Bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connie115-11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

We have stayed here before and it was nice. It isn't super luxurious, but I wasn't counting on that. I was expecting clean and functional. That isn't what I got. The bathroom door is a pocket door, but the handle part was missing. There was just a notch where it used to be. On the wall behind the TV, there was a hole with wires sticking out where something had been removed. The bathroom rug was dirty, and when I rolled out the bathmat for the shower, there was a hair in it. The robe they offered was so old it felt like an old dish towel. The collar was frayed and the pockets were coming off. There were holes so large where the pockets used to be attached I could put my index finger through them.
A full breakfast is complimentary with the stay here at the Tides Wharf restaurant. Somehow, the restaurant managed to poach an egg and have the yolk be so cold it seemed to come out of the refrigerator. My husband's were the same way. Yuck!
I don't complain usually. But this was a special weekend that just didn't go well. On a good note, when the manager was made aware of the situation, he did give me a discount on the room. I am glad he listened to me. I'm not saying I won't be back. But it won't be for quite a while. I hope they are able to resolve some of these issues.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I am so happy that we found this place overlooking the Bay. It is across the street from the bay but all the rooms are on a hill side and face the bay for a wonderful view.

The room had vaulted ceilings and a fireplace, equipped with wood and ready to go.

Very clean and the bed was very comfortable and had 6 pillows, a plus for us!

The breakfast was amazing and the our view was of sea lions playing in the water, now you can't ask for more.

The only problem we encountered was when I was ironing the electric went out in our room. I called the front desk and they sent someone over to take care of it while we were at breakfast. Too much noise by the pool late in the evening as well.

The price is high but for only one night stay , I think it was worth it.

Room Tip: Top level so you can have the vaulted ceilings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2011

This was our first time visiting Bodega Bay. We selected this inn based on its price point and because we were only sleeping there for one night. Other hotels in the area require a minimum two night stay and their prices were on average $100 - $200/night more.

You get what you pay for.

Upon arrival, we were met with a beautiful landscape, with the inn rooms nestled upon a hill. I reserved two rooms and specifically requested some quiet space in the reservation. Our rooms were located at the very top of the property and we were very pleased with the view of the ocean. Unfortunately, it went downhill from there.

This inn is in need of a major overhaul. It appears as though renovations could have dated back to the late 70's/early 80's. Upon opening the door to our room, we were met with a very musty smell. We proceeded to the windows to get some fresh air, and the window crank fell off in our hands. Trying to put it back on, the screen almost fell out of the window.

The room in general, while surface clean, was dirty from decades of wear and tear. The blue rugs looked like outdoor carpet and had stains everywhere. The bedspreads were worn, had threads missing and were faded. The bed was soft and uneven.The couch was well used, and by looks we chose not to sit in it. The bathroom was in dire need of new fixtures, countertops, toilets, shower. The towels were thin and fraying. The heaters in the room (yes after opening the windows, it was freezing) were downright scary, and we wondered if we left them on if we'd wake up in the morning. Everything needed a fresh coat of paint. Adding to the general dingy atmosphere was the foghorn. It sounded every 8 seconds and operates 24/7. Even with earplugs, you can still hear it. So much for requesting a quiet room. There was no rest for the weary.

On the positive side, each room was provided a complimentary bottle of Chardonnay wine and breakfast in the restaurant across the street. They should take the cost of those extras, and put them into a renovation account.

We did eat dinner at the hotel restaurant, and the service and the food were well beyond expectations.

We would never stay at this property again. I gave it 2 stars for the room view and the complimentary wine and breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GRLTRAV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega Bay
1.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,654 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
213 reviews
19.0 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
19.8 mi away
Fountaingrove Inn
Fountaingrove Inn
#4 of 24 in Santa Rosa
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn at the Tides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn at the Tides

Address: 800 Highway One, Bodega Bay, CA 94923
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Bodega Bay
Price Range: $221 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Inn at the Tides 2.5*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A charming inn located on a hillside in a clustered village atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Inn at the Tides reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn At The Tides Hotel Bodega Bay
Hotel At The Tides
At The Tides Hotel
Inn Bodega Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing