We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Birthday and Valentine's Day Trip to Wine Country”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Bodega B&B and Inns
Reviewed February 20, 2011

My husband and I travelled with our good friends to Sonoma Coast Villas from DC for our 50th birthdays and Valentine's week. The Chef/Owner, Johannes, and his wife, Ingrid, were both gracious and accomodating. The food was delicious, the resort and grounds were beautiful, the rooms were very comfortable, and the spa was nice and quiet. Although the weather was not cooperating, Johannes was very informative about the wineries, sites, and all types of attractions. He made all of our reservations for the wineries, oyster farm, and limo rides. Originally, we planned on eating at several restaurants for dinner, but changed our minds when we tasted and experienced Johannes's creations. Every dinner was a 3-course meal with full wine service and the food was delicious. We highly recommend this small resort for its beauty, its remote location (away from commercialization and traffic), its accomodations and the food. It looks and feels like an Italian countryside manor.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dana_DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (176)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 176 reviews

Reviewed January 29, 2011

We stayed here before christmas in one of the villas. Cute but way over priced. The food was horrible that was prepared by the nice but not overly warm and friendly inn keeper. Our fish was dried out and the side boring. The salad dressing was good. The breakfast in the morning was rolls...muffins and yogurt boring! The worst was their "spa" it is a rental hall converted into a spa. A random table with a chair is the checkin desk. Then you change into a robe in one of 2 bathrooms. I had to change after I waited for a man to "finish" using the bathroom. It was so gross.

  • Stayed: December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nannergrl44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, General Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 1, 2011

Dear nannergrl44,
Thank you for your comments, We are always surprised that we hear comments after 6 weeks stay, If the food would been so horrible, I would brought this to the Management attention on the some day upon check –out. We are sorry about the dissatisfaction. We buy the freshest quality of seafood from our local area on a daily basis. The side dishes were roasted fingerling potatoes, sweet roasted peppers, grilled zucchinis squash and portabella mushrooms,
In terms of Breakfast, we do not serve rolls, or nor muffins,
The breakfast consists of, selection of three cereals, assortment of homemade jams,light and regular yoghourts, poached apples, cottage cheese, hot boiled eggs, fresh berries and fresh sliced fruit, tomatoes and mozzarella cheese, home made croissants, pastries, and bagels, and oven baked frittata with spinach., selection of coffee, tea and juices.

We do have two changing rooms in the spa, we always that hotel guest can change in their guest rooms and use our luxuries robes. This is our first comment to hear that our spa is a rental hall because of the changing rooms.???

Thank you again for your comments,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2010

My fiance and I stayed here for a weekend getaway. We really wanted to like this place, but it falls short in several areas:

- The comforter on the bed was lightly stained in a few spots.
- The room heater took a whole night to warm up to a comfortable temperature.
- The bottled water in the room cost $ 4. Considering the price we were already paying to stay in the deluxe villa room, it didn't feel good to pay such a high price for bottled water in the room.
- Breakfast was from 9 - 10 am only, a narrow time slot that was inconvenient.
- Breakfast had no hot foods, only cold fruits and pastries/breads. It would have been nice if there were hot items as well. Also, considering everything was cold, I wonder why the inn couldn't serve breakfast for longer than just 1 hour.
- We had a deluxe villa room, which was spacious and comfortable. But we passed by regular rooms that looked more beautiful than our deluxe room. We wished we had gone with a regular room instead of paying more for a deluxe villa that really didn't seem as nice.
- The inn was in the middle of nowhere. There are better places to stay elsewhere in the area, in towns or by the water.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shinywings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Front Office Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2011

Thank you for your comments. We are always happy to hear from our customers. We do offer special imported waters in the minibar, which are larger bottles for example: Evian or Perrier water, We also offer local waters in the mini bar for less. The breakfast is served in our dining room from 9:00 am to 10:00 am daily. We do offer room service for guests would like to Breakfast earlier or later in the morning. We are surprised to hear about the Villa rooms, which are beautiful designed with radiant floor heating, fireplace jetted tubs and private courtyard with fountain.
Thank you for your comments and hope to welcoming you very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2010

Sonoma Coast is a place that is a little hidden from the road, so you may pass it without even knowing it is there. You will definitely not be disappointed in this place. The grounds are absolutely fabulous. The food, service and atmosphere was nothing but the best. I traveled with my college roommate and two daughters and all of us could not say enough about Sonoma Coast. Johannas (owner) couldnot have been more attentive to everything we asked for. The horseback riding was spectacular. I was so impressed with everything about the place that my husband and I are going to go there in October. I really wanted him to see how beautiful this place is. You will not be disappointed in your stay!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lundypeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2010

Just a note to pass on a great weekend get-a-way that my wife and I discovered this month. The place is about 1 hour 20 minutes north of the Golden Gate, 5 miles south of the golf course at Bodega Bay on Highway 1. This Mediterranean-style Villa has only 18 rooms/suites but it is relatively inexpensive compared to some of the other venues around (Sonoma coast) Bodega Bay and Healdsburg. The Austrian owner, Johannes, trained as a chef in Switzerland and provides gourmet meals delivered to your room (very cool). The place is away from the ocean a bit, but it puts you in striking distance of the over 150 wineries along the Russian River and around Healdsburg. The grounds are nicely kept and the rooms immaculate. Though they do weddings and events/retreats, when we were there the place was calm, secluded, and awesome if you like quiet. Per the spa - wife loved it. One more thing, there is a very cool pond with Adirondack Chairs in the back next to the horse back riding stables. Very bucolic. Have fun.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leonidas49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

My husband and I, along with our best friends, arrived at this hidden gem and wondered what to expect. A little off the beaten path and much more than a bed and breakfast, yet more intimate than a large spa. SCV&A is a personal experience that we found ourselves talking about for the rest of our trip! Wish we would have stayed a bit longer! Johannes' service was impeccable and European -- in a good way! He had the right balance between friendly service with a personal touch and yet we never felt like he was intruding. We had space to relax and enjoy our beautiful surroundings which were obviously tended to with love.
Personally, I wish we would have splurged on an upgraded room - hindsight is 20/20 - however the smaller rooms we rented were well appointed, decorated, and clean. The bathtub looked like you could take a bubble bath in it if that is your thing! We opted for the golf package which only one of us used and requested a horseback ride for the other which was gladly substituted. Both activities were wonderful experiences. Tracey at the stables loves her horses as much as Johannes loves his Inn.
The food -- to die for! Johannes is a trained chef that prepares a meal like he is courting a woman. We opted for dinner and also enjoyed the complimentary breakfast. Don't skip the food! Order drinks and eat the cookies!! And PS -- tell only your dearest friends about this place - the ones that will appreciate the finer things in life without being pretentious!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2010

My boyfriend and I wanted to go somewhere new to celebrate our anniversary and my birthday. We had not spent much time in Sonoma County, but have traveled on getaway weekends all over California. We happened to see Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa through the trees while driving north on the Bohemian Hwy to Bodega Bay for my birthday lunch.
Although we had reservations for Friday night, we decided to keep the rest of our long weekend open. We stopped in, met Johannes, the owner and he graciously showed us three different villas. I couldn't believe it!! We were both totally impressed and couldn't wait to stay there! We LOVED the quaint, quite, peaceful tranquility that it offered! And, we couldn't wait to enjoy one of the nice bottles of Pinot Noir we had just purchased at the nearby winery in front of our inviting fireplace. It was a beautiful night so we also enjoyed the patio area that looked onto the pool outside our room. In doing so, we had an opportunity to chat with Johannes and get to know him. Johannes is a complete professional and has an intense attention to detail. He personally made it his goal to guarantee that every aspect of our stay was beyond our expectations.....and he achieved that goal!! So much so, that we decided to return two weeks later!!! This time, we decided to experience the dining and the spa. Johannes is a professionally trained chef, and therefore prepared our meals. I had the halibut and my boyfriend had the steak! The presenation was inpeccable and the flavor was out of this world!!! The roasted vegetables were deliciious and what we really enjoyed was the temperature of the food!! The plates were served hot to the touch and truly the food melted in your mouth!!!
The next day we decided to try out the Spa. We both had the 100 minute Full Body Massage by Carl and without a doubt, hands down the best massage I have ever had in my entire life!!! My boyfriend does not treat himself to massages as much as I do, so this was an "out of body experience" for him!! We both would request Carl again when we return.
I did a lot of research prior to our trip and quite frankly...could not have dreamed this place in my mind. If you are looking for a quiet, peaceful and relaxing experience, at a reasonable price...THIS IS THE PLACE!!! In fact...if my boyfriend and I ever decide to "tie the knot"...this is EXACTLY where we would have our wedding and our reception!!!!
Personally, for the price....I loved it just as much as Ventanna in Big Sur!!! Obviously, on a whole different scale...but also on a whole different price point!
One more thing....since there are only 18 villas....we think it would be an awesome place for a girls weekend, guys golf weekend, or even a small family reunion.....you could literally have the place to yourself!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GingerSanMateo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega
4.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,658 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
527 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
5.2 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
125 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa

Address: 16702 Shoreline Hwy, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega
Price Range: $221 - $402 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa: A Luxury Resort in Sonoma County An elegant luxury hotel in the north of California's Wine Country, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is waiting to refresh your senses, relax your body and enchant your palate. Evocative of a tranquil European villa warming in the California Russian River sunshine, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is the perfect place for your vacation, honeymoon, special event or weekend getaway from the Bay Area. Forty wineries sit within driving distance of the Villa, making it the perfect destination in Sonoma County for wine pilgrims and explorers. Our attention to detail and excellence fills every aspect of your experience, from the comfort of our beautiful hotel rooms to the five star cuisine of our organically stocked restaurant. Our inviting and private Courtyard Spa will revitalize you with a variety of massage and spa packages, administered by our knowledgeable, sensitive and thoroughly professional therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Groupon, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Coast Villa And Spa
Sonoma Coast Villa Hotel Bodega
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort And Spa Sonoma County/Bodega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing