We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Treasure” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
Ranked #2 of 2 Bodega B&B and Inns
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hidden Treasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Took a shot with Groupon and came out big winners. We checked out their website (beautiful) before committing and all we can say is the web site doesn't do justice to the place. Small intimate place with only 18 rooms but service and attitude of a five star skyscraper hotel with a multitude of employees. The owners, husband and wife, couldn't do enough to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent, our room was great and the place was simply lovely. Wish we lived within driving distance and we would be there every couple of months for a weekend get-a-way.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shelray1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Thank you for your comment and feedback, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and it is pleasure to provide 5 stay service to all our guests. We hope to welcome you again in the near future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    34
    25
    14
    21
See reviews for
16
109
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redding, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2012

What a great get away! Absoloutly beautiful grounds, the room was spacious and nicely decorated. The huge jacuzzi tub was delightful. We so enjoyed the delicious food too, dinner was superb and the breakfast was as well. Johanes was a gracious and accommodating host, he was friendly and interesting to talk to, but never intursive. We found him to be a very busy man that makes sure he provides the best experience for his customers. I am so surprised by the ealier comments that say otherwise.... what more could you possible want? We were waited on and had all of needs met in a friendly and professional manner. During our evening wine tasting we enjoyed a pleasant conversation with Johanas... friendly, interesting & a good sense of humor. Thank you we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suz243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

I can't comment on the rooms as I never actually stayed here. I only booked a room and had a terrible experience with the owner. I reserved a spa package the day before by phone. On the way to the hotel I was close by and received news of a death in my immediate family. I tried to call the hotel to cancel but my phone went dead. I was close to drove there in a terrible state. There was no one at the desk but then I presume it was Johannes from the other reviews that walked in. I informed him why I could not stay and offered to pay for one night- he said no he would charge me for the 2 nights and spa package which included dinners. I was not in a good way and repeated why I could not stay. He was rude and said he could give me a gift certificate. Since I thought I would be out of state for some time and now saw the level of service I said no, that I would deal with my credit card company. He said fine but he would charge me, that the hotel had a 14 day cancellation policy. I was not told this on the phone nor is it on the website.

I had no other contact or experience with the hotel so your stay might be different. I did notice that the exterior of the hotel looked more run down than the photos. So far my credit card company has temporarily reimbursed me for the $900+ charge. I did not read other reviews prior to this experience, now I see there have been other problems. I am hoping the owner realizes that he will drive business away this way. Had he handled the situation with more kindness I would have been happy to check the place out again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Epiphany1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Thank you for your comments and feedback, we are very sorry for your loss, and our prays are with your family, You have booked the “two day spa and dinner package” which clearly states that special package must be pre-paid and non refundable upon cancellation, you were informed when you booked the packages on November 8, along with the spa appointments one for Friday at 4:00 pm and one for Saturday at 11:00 am that this reservations cannot be cancelled anymore and the full amount will be charged to your credit card with the confirmation number C-23478
One Friday afternoon, you come to the Lobby at 2:00 pm to cancel your reservation, you were informed by Carl that the package is non refundable upon cancellation, The owner could not been rude to you as he had no inter action with you. Carl informed me about your situation and I authorized him to issue you a gift certificate for the whole amount to use an other time. You also were yelling in the lobby, there was nothing else we could done,
Your comments about the Villa: I did notice that the exterior of the hotel looked more run down: We improved the entrance with new signs, new paved parking lot and we just finished a new paint job for the entire Villa,
Thank you for your comments and we are looking forward to your next visit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bodega hotels

Whittier, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We would like to address this directly to the owner/operater, Johaness (sorry if my spelling is incorrect ). My husband and I never take the time to write reviews on anything, but in this case we felt it was worth our time. First of all we'd like to comment on how pretty the building is and the grounds. You obviously took some time and effort in this area of the resort. When we first drove in we were immediately impressed with the olive tree lined driveway and the front of the buidling is gorgeous. Once we went inside to check in everything changed. First there wasn't anyone at the front desk.. we had to call to get service. Then when you came to the front to help us you immediately made us feel unwelcome and as if we were disturbing you.
We were given this trip as a gift from my husband's sister and so when you mentioned a fee that we thought was covered you were abrupt and seem to be irritated that we were questioning anything. Our room was large and very nice with the wood buring fireplace. The decor and furnishings could be updated, otherwise it was very nice and cozy. The grounds were landscaped beautifully and the area was quiet and secluded. All in all this would have been a wonderful stay if we had been given the appropriate customer service.
In a business where you are in constant contact with people who are vacationing you "have" to be overly warm, friendly and attentive. It doesn't matter how great the rooms and ammenities are, how one is treated is just as important. If that's not your personality then you need to have someone working up front that does have that personality. We have read over and over on this site people saying the same exact thing.. customer service is greatly lacking and to the point of being down right rude at times. We had the pizza for dinner on our first night and it was delicious, but when my husband complemented you on how good it was you barely ackowledged him. In these hard economic times this is a very bad choice for someone running a business. There were only 3 other couples there when we were there.. very telling.
Instead of feeling defensive.. we feel you need to take to heart these reviews and make some changes if you want people to want to come to your resort and for people that do stay there to want to return. The first day we were there we said we would never want to come back, which is very sad because this place has the potential to be awesome!
Reviews are everything these days.. people make decisions on what they read in reviews.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
30 Thank Lianne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2012

I believe in keeping reviews short and to the point when the negatives outway the positives. Why waste your time as a reader.

The facilities and location were very nice, but the service at this place is shockingly bad. Why would anyone choose to run a business like this if they lack the interest in relating with their customers? The simple fact is that despite the looks of the place, the ownership is either permanently stuck on curt, rude, and cold or thinks that all one has to do is provide nice accommodations to give guests value. Regardless of the reason, we all wat value for our money now more than ever and service providers like this one need to realize we as customers have the ability to make well-informed choices.

The number of reviews here complaining about the exact same problems should be a red flag. So, choose wisely. I wish I had.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Kurai2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, General Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your review and comments, we are confused about your stay,
You stayed with us in May 2012 and write this review in November 2012 without any details about our short coming in services.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a two night stay after buying a living social/groupon type deal to celebrate our 13th anniversary. I wish we had paid better attention to the deal, which promised reservations in a deluxe villa room. Upon arrival we were shown to a country room, which really wasnt bad, but not what we paid for. Unfortunately, we didn't print our a copy of the deal beforehand, and couldnt look up the deal on our phone without paying $10/day for wifi access. When we asked about the availability of the deluxe villa, we were gruffly told it was an extra $50/night. Our bad for not printing out the deal so we could call him on it. The owner also gave us a ton of attitude when we cancelled our couples massage (cancelled one day prior). Not a bad place, but for the price there are much nicer accomodations available nearby. And without the pompous attitude. The final insult was that he charged us the taxes due for the deluxe villa, despite our accomodations in the cheaper room. Lame.
On the plus side, the breakfast is far better than any included breakfast I've experienced.
All in all, the owner could take a few lessons in customer service. Or hire a manager and focus on handling the books.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 85Sarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for your comments about your stay with us, The deal included the Villa room which you stayed in. The room had private deck, jetted tub, radiant floor heating and fireplace, In regards to the Massages ,we have made an exception, as you were aware there is a 24 hour cancellation policy, the Couple massage was cancelled less then 12 hours.
We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning, the taxes and resort fee were not included in the deal.

Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgan Hill, CA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

We too had a groupon for our weekend stay and were so glad we did. We would not have learned about this place otherwise. We very much enjoyed our dinner cooked onsite and presented to us in our room complete with white table cloth. Breakfast was more than we expected and was very enjoyable. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, wonderful pastries and delicious frittata. We had great spa treatments, took advantage of the jacuzzi, and fireplace in our room. The grounds are beautiful and our room was spacious and very clean! I'm not saying it was complete perfection but we would come back. A little disappointing was that the jacuzzi closes at 9:00 PM (a little early), coffee in our room was not replenished, and the wine tasting was not really a wine tasting. I tasted one out of the 5 wines offered but never saw anybody behind the counter after that as he was busy with other things. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the pool but being that it closes at 6;00 PM it was never a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank momofklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega
4.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,088 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 466 reviews
2.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Bodega Bay
3.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
4.8 mi away
Bodega Harbor Inn
Bodega Harbor Inn
#2 of 5 in Bodega Bay
4.0 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa

Property: Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa
Address: 16702 Coast Highway One, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa: A Luxury Resort in Sonoma County An elegant luxury hotel in the north of California's Wine Country, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is waiting to refresh your senses, relax your body and enchant your palate. Evocative of a tranquil European villa warming in the California Russian River sunshine, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is the perfect place for your vacation, honeymoon, special event or weekend getaway from the Bay Area. Forty wineries sit within driving distance of the Villa, making it the perfect destination in Sonoma County for wine pilgrims and explorers. Our attention to detail and excellence fills every aspect of your experience, from the comfort of our beautiful hotel rooms to the five star cuisine of our organically stocked restaurant. Our inviting and private Courtyard Spa will revitalize you with a variety of massage and spa packages, administered by our knowledgeable, sensitive and thoroughly professional therapists. Expect your stay at Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa to leave you feeling rejuvenated and pampered in every way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Coast Villa And Spa
Sonoma Coast Villa Hotel Bodega
Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa Sonoma County/Bodega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing