We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa
Nearby Hotels
Valley Ford Hotel(Valley Ford)
$167
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodega Bay Lodge(Bodega Bay)(Great Value!)
$279
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Inn at the Tides(Bodega Bay)
$239
$232
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bodega Harbor Inn(Bodega Bay)(Great Value!)
$88
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Occidental Hotel(Occidental)(Great Value!)
$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Continental Inn(Tomales)(Great Value!)
$230
$160
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairfield Inn & Suites Santa Rosa Sebastopol(Sebastopol)(Great Value!)
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sebastopol Inn(Sebastopol)
$169
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
81
40
27
15
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
40
27
15
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbodega baywine tastingsonoma coastcouples massagegrounds are beautifulstanding showerthe wood burning fireplacehoneymoon suitegreat place to get awayprivate patiohalibutoff the beaten pathhot itemsquaint townfresh fruitwine hourstayed for two nights
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
126 - 131 of 184 reviews
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I believe in keeping reviews short and to the point when the negatives outway the positives. Why waste your time as a reader.

The facilities and location were very nice, but the service at this place is shockingly bad. Why would anyone choose to run a business like this if they lack the interest in relating with their customers? The simple fact is that despite the looks of the place, the ownership is either permanently stuck on curt, rude, and cold or thinks that all one has to do is provide nice accommodations to give guests value. Regardless of the reason, we all wat value for our money now more than ever and service providers like this one need to realize we as customers have the ability to make well-informed choices.

The number of reviews here complaining about the exact same problems should be a red flag. So, choose wisely. I wish I had.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank Kurai2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, General Manager at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2012

Thank you for your review and comments, we are confused about your stay,
You stayed with us in May 2012 and write this review in November 2012 without any details about our short coming in services.

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a two night stay after buying a living social/groupon type deal to celebrate our 13th anniversary. I wish we had paid better attention to the deal, which promised reservations in a deluxe villa room. Upon arrival we were shown to a country room, which really wasnt bad, but not what we paid for. Unfortunately, we didn't print our a copy of the deal beforehand, and couldnt look up the deal on our phone without paying $10/day for wifi access. When we asked about the availability of the deluxe villa, we were gruffly told it was an extra $50/night. Our bad for not printing out the deal so we could call him on it. The owner also gave us a ton of attitude when we cancelled our couples massage (cancelled one day prior). Not a bad place, but for the price there are much nicer accomodations available nearby. And without the pompous attitude. The final insult was that he charged us the taxes due for the deluxe villa, despite our accomodations in the cheaper room. Lame.
On the plus side, the breakfast is far better than any included breakfast I've experienced.
All in all, the owner could take a few lessons in customer service. Or hire a manager and focus on handling the books.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 85Sarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us, The deal included the Villa room which you stayed in. The room had private deck, jetted tub, radiant floor heating and fireplace, In regards to the Massages ,we have made an exception, as you were aware there is a 24 hour cancellation policy, the Couple massage was cancelled less then 12 hours.
We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning, the taxes and resort fee were not included in the deal.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We too had a groupon for our weekend stay and were so glad we did. We would not have learned about this place otherwise. We very much enjoyed our dinner cooked onsite and presented to us in our room complete with white table cloth. Breakfast was more than we expected and was very enjoyable. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, wonderful pastries and delicious frittata. We had great spa treatments, took advantage of the jacuzzi, and fireplace in our room. The grounds are beautiful and our room was spacious and very clean! I'm not saying it was complete perfection but we would come back. A little disappointing was that the jacuzzi closes at 9:00 PM (a little early), coffee in our room was not replenished, and the wine tasting was not really a wine tasting. I tasted one out of the 5 wines offered but never saw anybody behind the counter after that as he was busy with other things. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the pool but being that it closes at 6;00 PM it was never a problem. The jacuzzi was on one side of us and that was never a problem. The neighbors on the other side were another story.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I just visited this property with a groupon in late august and was absolutely delighted with everything. We were preparing for a less than stellar experience based on previous reviews but we had nothing but great service. I can definitely see where the owner, Johannes, may come off a bit abrasive at first but he is extremely hard working and if you take the time to talk to him, he is very knowledgable and has a great sense of humor. We had made friends with some of the other guests during the daily wine tasting at the property and the owner happily answered any questions we had and even joked with us a bit.

We asked Johannes if we could have dinner in the dining room instead of in our villa and he obliged.We spoke with him during dinner and he helped us pick a wine and told us about how he went to cooking school in Austria and Switzwerland, and it definitely shows, the food was wonderful.
Breakfast was also nice, a decent selection of pastries, fruits, cereals, and even some grilled veggies and cheeses.

We stayed in a Delux King Suite, the room is adorable. Very quaint and homey with a wood burning fireplace, small private patio and big jetted tub. The grounds of the property are beautiful, perfect for having a glass of wine outside and walking around.

We didn't get to take advantage of the spa services however, we were happy to find out that they offer horseback riding as well! We went and met with the caretaker of the horses (I think his name was Dave?) and he was great to work with, very nice. We took the horses about a 5 minute drive down to the beach and went riding on the beach which was a great time and a wonderful end to our trip.

Its a perfect getaway and we would definitely recommend this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Well, I don't know where everyone was getting their groupon coupons, but we paid full price ($325) which included breakfast, and based upon the rates of everywhere else, it wasn't outrageous (although still expensive).

The room was beautiful: stayed in a Delux Villa. Wood burning fireplace (supplied wood and starter) made this place a charm. Very roomy, great layout. Extremely clean with nice bedding and bathroom amenities. Nice private patio. Could not ask for more.

Beautiful grounds to grab your coffee or wine and walk. Good breakfast: not amazing but tasty and a nice way to start the day (only available from 9-10:00am).

They offer an in room dinner. Everyone in town praises the Chef (and owner) but check the menu before ordering. We loved the idea of just relaxing in the room, drinking wine and eating, but the menu that evening was just a salad, a few basic entree choices and dessert. Disappointing. Plus they charge corkage to drink your own wine in your own room - which is terrible considering they don't sell wine. Corkage is typically charged when you choose not to buy their wine and bring your own.

Spa? Well, we weren't there for a Spa, but we only saw a small jaccuzi so ask about it before making your reservation if that's what you're hoping for.

Very peaceful and easy to get to other local places.

We stayed at two other places on this trip and wished we could have stayed at Sonoma Coast Villa (and Spa?) longer.

Room Tip: A for the Villas. I would not want a room facing the pool. Everything on 1 level and the pool being off the reception desk and breakfast room, all guests pass by, making it less than private. But the windows on the other side does allow for a "non-pool" view.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews