We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing "luxurious" about this place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa
Ranked #1 of 2 Bodega B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We booked a two night stay after buying a living social/groupon type deal to celebrate our 13th anniversary. I wish we had paid better attention to the deal, which promised reservations in a deluxe villa room. Upon arrival we were shown to a country room, which really wasnt bad, but not what we paid for. Unfortunately, we didn't print our a copy of the deal beforehand, and couldnt look up the deal on our phone without paying $10/day for wifi access. When we asked about the availability of the deluxe villa, we were gruffly told it was an extra $50/night. Our bad for not printing out the deal so we could call him on it. The owner also gave us a ton of attitude when we cancelled our couples massage (cancelled one day prior). Not a bad place, but for the price there are much nicer accomodations available nearby. And without the pompous attitude. The final insult was that he charged us the taxes due for the deluxe villa, despite our accomodations in the cheaper room. Lame.
On the plus side, the breakfast is far better than any included breakfast I've experienced.
All in all, the owner could take a few lessons in customer service. Or hire a manager and focus on handling the books.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank 85Sarah85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakcreekmanor, Owner at Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Thank you for your comments about your stay with us, The deal included the Villa room which you stayed in. The room had private deck, jetted tub, radiant floor heating and fireplace, In regards to the Massages ,we have made an exception, as you were aware there is a 24 hour cancellation policy, the Couple massage was cancelled less then 12 hours.
We are glad that you enjoyed the breakfast each morning, the taxes and resort fee were not included in the deal.

Thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

119 - 125 of 175 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2012

We too had a groupon for our weekend stay and were so glad we did. We would not have learned about this place otherwise. We very much enjoyed our dinner cooked onsite and presented to us in our room complete with white table cloth. Breakfast was more than we expected and was very enjoyable. Lots of fresh fruit, yogurts, cereals, wonderful pastries and delicious frittata. We had great spa treatments, took advantage of the jacuzzi, and fireplace in our room. The grounds are beautiful and our room was spacious and very clean! I'm not saying it was complete perfection but we would come back. A little disappointing was that the jacuzzi closes at 9:00 PM (a little early), coffee in our room was not replenished, and the wine tasting was not really a wine tasting. I tasted one out of the 5 wines offered but never saw anybody behind the counter after that as he was busy with other things. We hope to be back.

Room Tip: Our room was right across from the pool but being that it closes at 6;00 PM it was never a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank momofklo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

My boyfriend and I just visited this property with a groupon in late august and was absolutely delighted with everything. We were preparing for a less than stellar experience based on previous reviews but we had nothing but great service. I can definitely see where the owner, Johannes, may come off a bit abrasive at first but he is extremely hard working and if you take the time to talk to him, he is very knowledgable and has a great sense of humor. We had made friends with some of the other guests during the daily wine tasting at the property and the owner happily answered any questions we had and even joked with us a bit.

We asked Johannes if we could have dinner in the dining room instead of in our villa and he obliged.We spoke with him during dinner and he helped us pick a wine and told us about how he went to cooking school in Austria and Switzwerland, and it definitely shows, the food was wonderful.
Breakfast was also nice, a decent selection of pastries, fruits, cereals, and even some grilled veggies and cheeses.

We stayed in a Delux King Suite, the room is adorable. Very quaint and homey with a wood burning fireplace, small private patio and big jetted tub. The grounds of the property are beautiful, perfect for having a glass of wine outside and walking around.

We didn't get to take advantage of the spa services however, we were happy to find out that they offer horseback riding as well! We went and met with the caretaker of the horses (I think his name was Dave?) and he was great to work with, very nice. We took the horses about a 5 minute drive down to the beach and went riding on the beach which was a great time and a wonderful end to our trip.

Its a perfect getaway and we would definitely recommend this place and can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Well, I don't know where everyone was getting their groupon coupons, but we paid full price ($325) which included breakfast, and based upon the rates of everywhere else, it wasn't outrageous (although still expensive).

The room was beautiful: stayed in a Delux Villa. Wood burning fireplace (supplied wood and starter) made this place a charm. Very roomy, great layout. Extremely clean with nice bedding and bathroom amenities. Nice private patio. Could not ask for more.

Beautiful grounds to grab your coffee or wine and walk. Good breakfast: not amazing but tasty and a nice way to start the day (only available from 9-10:00am).

They offer an in room dinner. Everyone in town praises the Chef (and owner) but check the menu before ordering. We loved the idea of just relaxing in the room, drinking wine and eating, but the menu that evening was just a salad, a few basic entree choices and dessert. Disappointing. Plus they charge corkage to drink your own wine in your own room - which is terrible considering they don't sell wine. Corkage is typically charged when you choose not to buy their wine and bring your own.

Spa? Well, we weren't there for a Spa, but we only saw a small jaccuzi so ask about it before making your reservation if that's what you're hoping for.

Very peaceful and easy to get to other local places.

We stayed at two other places on this trip and wished we could have stayed at Sonoma Coast Villa (and Spa?) longer.

Room Tip: A for the Villas. I would not want a room facing the pool. Everything on 1 level and the pool bein...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank richardneworleans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Stayed here with a livingsocial deal and absolutely loved it. The owner is extremely hard working, and it pays off. The food is amazing, especially the fresh bread. Overall, the place is extremely relaxing and a great getaway.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brandon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

We were skeptical of this place based on tripadvisor reviews but we had a wonderful time. We had purchased a Groupon but we were not treated any differently than anyone else there. The grounds are lovely, the weather was perfect and our villa was very spacious and well appointed. The food we had was great. Breakfast was perfect, there was a nice assortment. It was not a big cooked breakfast but there were waffles, French toast, pastries, fruit, granola, yogurt and a hot quiche. Given we had big plans for food and wine in the area, we had more than enough delicious food. We took advantage of the wine tasting and Johannes was very generous in his pours. He is a very matter of fact person and stays very busy but accommodated our every need. We will return.

Room Tip: If watching tv in bed is important to you ask for a room that has a tv directly in front of the bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingirlnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Rudest staff ever! The charge you for everything. Even if you're an hour early. DO NOT go here. Do not purchase a travel voucher for this place. I m sure ANYWHERE else in Sonoma is better then here. The food was mediocre and LATE and EXPENSIVE. The complimentary wine hour is NOT complimentary with a travel voucher. Please please go somewhere else if you're planning for a romanic getaway because all you will find here is STRESS!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bodega
4.0 mi away
Bodega Bay Lodge
Bodega Bay Lodge
#1 of 5 in Bodega Bay
1,597 reviews
4.5 mi away
Inn at the Tides
Inn at the Tides
#3 of 5 in Bodega Bay
521 reviews
4.2 mi away
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
Bodega Coast Inn & Suites
#4 of 5 in Bodega Bay
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.1 mi away
Timber Cove Resort
Timber Cove Resort
#2 of 3 in Jenner
127 reviews
2.2 mi away
Valley Ford Hotel
Valley Ford Hotel
#1 of 1 in Valley Ford
119 reviews
5.2 mi away
Occidental Hotel
Occidental Hotel
#1 of 1 in Occidental
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa

Address: 16702 Shoreline Hwy, Bodega, CA 94922 (Formerly Sonoma Coast Villa Inn And Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Sonoma County > Bodega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Bodega
Price Range: $206 - $417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa: A Luxury Resort in Sonoma County An elegant luxury hotel in the north of California's Wine Country, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is waiting to refresh your senses, relax your body and enchant your palate. Evocative of a tranquil European villa warming in the California Russian River sunshine, Sonoma Coast Villa & Spa is the perfect place for your vacation, honeymoon, special event or weekend getaway from the Bay Area. Forty wineries sit within driving distance of the Villa, making it the perfect destination in Sonoma County for wine pilgrims and explorers. Our attention to detail and excellence fills every aspect of your experience, from the comfort of our beautiful hotel rooms to the five star cuisine of our organically stocked restaurant. Our inviting and private Courtyard Spa will revitalize you with a variety of massage and spa packages, administered by our knowledgeable, sensitive and thoroughly professional therapists. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Sonoma Coast Villa Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sonoma Coast Villa Hotel Bodega
Sonoma Coast Villa And Spa
Sonoma Coast Villa Resort And Spa Sonoma County/Bodega

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing