We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not return” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of California Inn

California Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Blythe
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
California Inn
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Blythe
Florence, Kentucky
Level Contributor
145 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Will not return”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2011

This hotel is NOT a Hampton now. It's going under the name of "California Inn" and the Hampton signs are covered up.
I stayed for 2 nights and found the check-in staff to be surly and grumpy. When I got into the room, I found the fridge unplugged and several lamps unplugged. Maybe they're on an economy kick and think this saves money. I also found a long black hair in the tub. There are nicer hotels in Blythe. This place is on the ropes!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentuckyColonel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    17
    7
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
11
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2011

My husband and I stayed here with our baby on our way to LA. We had a great time relaxing in their pool, which was clean and cool. The room was very nice. I didn't get a smile from the staff at check-in, but she wasn't grumpy or anything. My only suggestion to them would be, to get a sign, or a bigger one if they have it. We drove right by, because the sign that used to say "Hampton Inn" was covered up, because they are now the California Inn, which we didn't see anywhere.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SwordsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2011

stayed here for a business trip, my fellow travellers included geologists and professionals good place to stay in town, more up to date than HI Express.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunseasurfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2011

We have stayed at several of the hotels in this area and this was tge BEST by far. This hotel is now called California Inn and has been completely updated. Comfortable beds, very clean and quite. The continental breakfast was wonderful (eggs, sausage, fresh fruit, waffles and much more). We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SJCali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2010

After a long drive and 110 degress it was great to find a place with friendly people, nice clean rooms and free internet. Having an extra sofa bed was very nice too. We recommend this place.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Los_Muy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

Very clean, quiet n nice staff. Ask for room on side facing left of the office...its quieter there w less cars parked. 0.75 soda n water in lobby , just ask. Walking distance to coffee shop n restaurants. Nice tile shower not cheap plastic tub like u usually get at motels. Granite faux countertop in kitchen/vanity area. Fridge n microwave. King bed room good size. Would stay here again. Room price on Fri night was 99 bucks.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mary1138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan, Kansas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2010

We were driving through Blythe on the way to SoCal so was not looking to spend a fortune. I am a Hilton Honors member and this was one of their hotels, so I took a chance. The room was clean and quiet and everyone seemed polite at the desk during check-in and check-out. I didn't eat the breakfast since we were rushing out of town, but I did grab one of the go bags they had for people who didn't have time to stop for breakfast. I thought that was a great addition.

Now as far as the town of Blythe...we now call it "Blah". It's not horrible, but seems pretty dead and kind of run down. It's the middle of the desert, so there is not a lot going on there. But this hotel is decent compared to the rest of the town and kind of made up for the depressing surroundings.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pepper899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Blythe hotels
2.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blythe
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Sahara
BEST WESTERN Sahara
#3 of 19 in Blythe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.0 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#4 of 19 in Blythe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 19 in Blythe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Blythe
Red Roof Inn Blythe
#9 of 19 in Blythe
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
1.0 mi away
Capital Suites Hotel
Capital Suites Hotel
#17 of 19 in Blythe
3.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to California Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about California Inn

Property: California Inn
Address: 900 W Hobsonway, Blythe, CA 92225-1418 (Formerly Hampton Inn)
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Blythe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Hotels in Blythe
Number of rooms: 59
Also Known As:
California Hotel Blythe
Hampton Inn Blythe
Blythe Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing