We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty, smelly, Stay in Ehrenberg instead”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Sahara
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Blythe
Reviewed November 1, 2013

First - I did not have an advance reservation and did not get the super price others have quoted for this hotel, but I wouldn't stay there again even if I did. Rooms open off a central parking lot which was noisy (and parking was tight when it filled up). The room was dirty (white socks turn gray within 2 minutes). My sink had a very large and unattracttive crack. And the built-in single unit air conditoner was horribly loud and absolutely reeked.

In addition to this, the login information provided by the staff was not accurate and I was unable to get on the itnernet. They told me later (and I see in reviews) that they're known for great internet, so this may have been a misunderstanding on my part. It didn't matter, as I only stayed one night.

Since taking this trip I discovered the Best-Western Desert Oasis in Ehrenberg, a few miutes East of Blythe, and highly recommend staying there instead.

Room Tip: Check your room for oder and cleanliness before you accept it. My a/c unit smelled far worse than an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HyacinthTucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (346)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 346 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2013

Front office staff very helpful. Rooms and bed comfortable. However, walls are thin and external conversations are available at no extra cost! This is true with adjoining rooms as well. No on-site laundry, but there is a laundromat across the street. Didn't try the breakfast, but imagine it's what you would expect. Plenty of tv channels both from Phoenix and Los Angeles. When I return, I'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Alan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesBlythe, General Manager at Best Western Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Hi there Alan M,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us - it's wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and will be joining us again on your next trip to Blythe. We truly appreciate your loyalty, and look forward to welcoming you soon.

Safe travels,

Britton Morris
General Manager
Best Western Sahara, Blythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

This is a motel from the times when people took car trips. I enjoyed my stay. The room was comfortable and clean. The staff was very nice and very helpful. What I didn't remember about motels from this time period is that your room faces parking spaces. Ergo, all night long as people come and go you room is lit up and you hear the noise of them coming and going. I am very light sensitive so maybe better block out curtains would help this. Other than that I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Maybe at the back and on the end where other guests wouldn't be parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AvrilSuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesBlythe, General Manager at Best Western Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Hello AvrilSuzanne,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Best Western Sahara Hotel, we truly appreciate your feedback. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and would visit us again. However, we are sorry to hear that our rooms were not dark enough for your light sensitivity - we can understand how important a good nights sleep is, especially on the road. Should you visit us again, please alert our front desk team of your preferences and we would be happy to customize a solution to fit your preferences. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Britton Morris
General Manager
Best Western Sahara, Blythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The rooms are average size, modernized with flat screen TVs and nicely decorated. There are microwaves and refrigerators in all rooms, which was nice. No traffic noise; very pretty pool area and grounds are nicely landscaped. Hot buffet breakfast included. Front desk personnel very friendly and helpful. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BSalazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesBlythe, General Manager at Best Western Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2013

Greetings BSalazar,

We appreciate your wonderful feedback on your stay at The Best Western Sahara hotel. It is so great to hear that you enjoyed a sound night of sleep, followed by our delicious hot breakfast. Our entire staff works hard at deliverying top-notch service to every guest, and we appreciate your recognizing them; we will be sure to pass the message along. We hope to welcome you again soon!

Safe travels,

Britton Morris
General Manager
Best Western Sahara, Blythe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was great for our one night stay in Blythe. Room was cramped for two beds, but everything was clean!! Patricia at the desk was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed our stay, and will probably stop again on our way back through.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyGirl27924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesBlythe, General Manager at Best Western Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Greetings HappyGirl27924,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us. Offering great customer service is our key priority, and we are so pleased to hear that Patricia offered you the exceptional service that you deserve. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Think of this motel as typical roadside lodging of the 1950s and '60s. Built in 1962, it is a single-story, L-shaped property with parking (the spaces are somewhat narrow) at the door. The room was clean, with newer-looking carpeting and crisp bedding; but the wallpaper was marred by several jerry-rigged repairs. Staff service, however, outshone the serviceable room: my early check-in request was gladly granted and an employee was preparing waffles to order for guests--a thoughtful gesture at a self-service continental breakfast of average quality.

While the bathroom was of average size, I was not a fan of the space-saving toilet with its round seat. And the A/C unit, located at the far end of the room, was unable to cope with a warm day in Blythe. A small alcove with clothes hangers further served to diffuse what cooled air remained. So while I was warm, my slacks and wallet, hanging in the open closet area, were quite cool. But I guess there is nothing better than cold cash.

If you consider yourself a nonconformist, you might well find a determined foe in the firm, sparsely-padded mattress. After several grueling hours of fitful sleep, I arose convinced that the mattress was durable--maybe even bulletproof.

In conclusion, if cost and attentive service are your primary requirements, choose this property. If, however, room comfort is more important, you might consider a newer, more expensive chain hotel located near the freeway.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHSuiGeneris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesBlythe, General Manager at Best Western Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Hello MHSuiGeneris,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with us, your feedback is most appreciated. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed the exceptional service that we strive to offer - especially our made-to-order waffles. We look forward to welcoming you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The accomadations were great...the rooms lovely...the pool area was very attractive...breakfast was great...the employees were very professional and nice...and we had a very relaxing time...there isn't very much else to say....it was a great get-a-way1

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kathleen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ComfortSuitesBlythe, General Manager at Best Western Sahara, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2013

Greetings Kathleen G,
We appreciate you taking the time to share your review with us, and we are so happy to hear that you found relaxation at our property. It's great to know that you enjoyed our updated rooms and pool area, and that our stay offered your the exceptional service that you deserve. We hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Blythe! Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blythe
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Blythe
0.4 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#3 of 19 in Blythe
180 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn
Clarion Inn
#5 of 19 in Blythe
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Best Western Desert Oasis
Best Western Desert Oasis
#1 of 1 in Ehrenberg
347 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Blythe
Red Roof Inn Blythe
#14 of 19 in Blythe
102 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Blythe CA
Days Inn Blythe CA
#11 of 19 in Blythe
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Sahara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Sahara

Address: 825 W Hobsonway, Blythe, CA 92225-1415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > California Desert > Blythe
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Blythe
Price Range: $76 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Sahara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at this Blythe hotel situated in the beautiful Palo Verde Valley and along 45 miles of the Colorado River. Situated near the California-Arizona border, the BEST WESTERN Sahara is conveniently located near area attractions including boating, fishing and jet skiing on the Colorado River; speedway car racing and nearby Quartzsite for rock hunting. Hotel guests will also have easy access to the year-round festivals held in and around Blythe. Each spacious, well-designed room is equipped with all the amenities needed to make any stay enjoyable. The BEST WESTERN Sahara hosts a complimentary breakfast each morning complete with sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy, and a variety of fresh fruits and pastries to satisfy any taste. An oversize outdoor swimming pool is open year round for hotel guests' enjoyment as well. Whether traveling to Blythe for the annual Jazz Festival or the Colorado River Music Festival, a friendly staff is ready to provide dedicated, professional service. Make an online reservation today at the BEST WESTERN Sahara Motel! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Best Western, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Best Western Sahara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Sahara Hotel Blythe
Best Western Blythe
Blythe Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing