We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, good menu”
Review of Royal Oak - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Royal Oak
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Running Springs
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food, good menu”
Reviewed November 17, 2012

The food is good but the place smells of mildew which really curbs my appetite. I took my meal home and very much enjoyed it by the fire. Do give it a go, you might be pleasantly surprised by the upscale touches in this menu.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    6
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
California Central Coast
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We went to the Royal Oak early in the evening when it was very quiet. The restaurant is attractive with a pub-like decor. All the staff, especially our waiter Ryan, were friendly, efficient, and professional. My husband got the beef stroganoff, which he has eaten around the globe, and found it outstanding. I got the baked rigatoni, which was huge and delicious. We did not have room for dessert--unusual for us! I would definitely dine here again.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank PalmSpringsVisitors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Anniversary dinner”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I had steak and potatoe and salad, it was very good, but not excellent, the steak was a little dry. Maybe overdone. The scallops were excellent, the best we ever had. I don't usually like them, but these were really good. The atmosphere is kind of british old pub, could use some upgrading.

Helpful?
1 Thank LakeArrowheadVicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food!”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Great food and good early bird prices. Needs to be brightened up a little but I guess its like a english pub so thats what they are going for. I had the rigatoni. So yummy! Kids has spaghetti and fish and chips. They enjoyed. Steaks looked great too

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Liana P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Never again.”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

My husband and I went to the Royal Oak around 7:30 on a week night. Although the bar was busy, there was only one other occupied table in the restaurant area, and that should have been a red flag. We were seated immediately and given water and menus...and then the staff disappeared. Occasionally we'd see our waitress come through the room to deliver dishes to the other two guests, but she never returned to our table. After several efforts to wave her down, my husband finally got her attention, and she said, "I'll be right there." Only she never showed up. A passing busboy promised to bring us some bread. Never happened. After 25 minutes of waiting to place an order, we left, hungry and disgruntled. Unless you have several hours for an extremely leisurely meal, choose another restaurant!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Judith_S_11122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal Oak also viewed

Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing