We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fine dining, on a European timetable.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casual Elegance - CLOSED

Casual Elegance
Price range: $35 - $50
Cuisines: American, International
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Redlands, California
Level Contributor
132 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Fine dining, on a European timetable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a grand dining experience, as long as you realize it's served slowly, and not one feeling of being rushed. Very similar to the 'European style', one of which for us in Rome took 3 hours from start to finish. But I REALLY like this feeling!

And, the restaurant is so homey, set in a renovated mountain house. And everything has been thoughtfully set...down to the lovely mix of napkin rings!

The food was exceptional. I had the salmon with a lovely yogurt/horseradish/dill sauce...I ate every bite! The only sad thing was that the meal was so good, I had no room for dessert. But, as we were leaving, we were offered small squares of lemon/poppy seed cake.

Our friends travel from Glendale often, just to dine here. We will return often, as well.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kmarq55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

33 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    2
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Diamond in the woods”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2012

Very good food. Great service. The sweet potato side dish is amazing. My favorite place in the Lake Arrowhead area. Be aware this is not a fast food place. if you have the time you won't be disapointed.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank ssvlaunch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Arrowhead, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“ABSOLUTELY FANTASTIC!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

As a Lake Arrowhead local my family and I complain that good dining choices on the mountain are limited. However, we are very fortunate to have Casual Elegance as a go-to restaurant, knowing that we will always eat great food and receive excellent service. This is the place we recommend to out-of-towners who ask where to dine, and is where we go for special occasions. My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary here and last Christmas Eve we took the extended family for a wonderful holiday dinner. Cathleen the owner works very hard to insure that everyone has a great experience in her restaurant. Casual Elegance is somewhat of an institution here on the mountain, having been in business for many, many years. You can't go wrong dining here.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CeliaAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA Mountains
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely Delicious!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

If you love delicious gourmet food, this place is for you! Their menu is simple, fresh, and seasonal. Enjoy the quaint ambience. You can even bring you own bottle of wine (corkage fee) and be prepared to bring your $$$.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank MtnSoccerMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Wonderful experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2012

We can't say enough about the quality of food at Casual Elegance. This is top quality food and I will drive an hour and a half from Los Angeles just to get dinner here. The duck was cooked perfectly and the mushroom barley soup I could have eaten all night. Perfect seasoning and portions. Can't wait to return!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Itakr946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Casual Elegance also viewed

Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
Blue Jay, Lake Arrowhead
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing