We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay In Bishop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Southwest Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Best Stay In Bishop”
Reviewed February 26, 2014

After staying at a couple other places in Bishop, we decided on the Vagabond Inn for our last night before leaving on a road trip. I wish we had stayed at the Vagabond the previous two times we decided to stay in town Bishop from a break from camping. The Vagabond is right on the main drag of Bishop, right near Denny's and other fast food places, but also very close to the grocery store.
The gentleman at the front desk was great- he made for a very quick check in and when I mentioned we needed to do laundry, he was able to have our room right near the laundry so we were not having to haul things all over the place. The guest laundry was great- very, very inexpensive and did a very good job!
The room was very clean and comfortable, with a nice big bed and a huge bathroom. As mentioned in other posts about Bishop, our main concern was wireless internet as we are students. The wireless worked amazingly well and we had no problems at all. We will definitely stay at the Vagabond again on our return trips to Bishop.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyTravels1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear RSG89,
Thank you so much for the 5 Star review! We know how important a clean, well- functioning laundry facility is after a camping trip in the Eastern Sierras, and are very happy to provide that for our guests. Clean laundry, free WI-FI, hot tub, 24 hour coffee and popcorn, warm showers and cozy beds, and a complimentary continental breakfast is enough to make us appreciate civilization again... until the campsite starts calling your name again! We look forward to your next stay at our Vagabond Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    178
    99
    30
    26
See reviews for
161
164
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Simi Valley
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

I stayed at the Vagabond for a second time two weeks ago. The Vagabond is my #1 choice for lodging in Bishop. The staff is very friendly. The beds are very comfortable and the included continental breakfast is a plus.
C. Richmond

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crich33093
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Crich33093,
Thank you for the wonderful review, and for making our Vagabond Inn your #1 choice for lodging each time you stay in Bishop. Our team members enjoy providing excellent customer service to our guests, and our goal is to ensure that each guest enjoys their visit. We look forward to seeing you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilder, Idaho
Level Contributor
188 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Was flying from Tulare to Idaho and stopped in Bishop for the nite...chose the Vagabond by chance...was traveling with two others on a company trip...rooms were clean and comfotable..breakfast was simple and good...had a good nites sleep and flew out early the next morning...probably would stay here again if going thru Bishop

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Onionguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Onionguy,
We were pleased to read about the good night's sleep that you and your traveling companions enjoyed during your stop-over at our Vagabond Inn! That is one of the goals that we strive for... a nice, clean, comfortable place for our guests to relax and get that well-deserved good night's sleep. Thank you so much for the nice review. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Bishop!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MESA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Comfortable bed and pillows, with a dinette, microwave AND fridge, as well as free wifi...all of which made for a VERY comfortable stay. "Better hotels" could learn a thing or 2 about what guests REALLY want and need.

The Vagabond is an older hotel that has been maintained nicely; rooms have been updated. It appeared that breakfast would be minimal, but we had other plans for breakfast any way. We were on the first floor just outside a staircase, so it was a little noisy at times - but nothing the room's heater fan couldn't remedy.

For the price, we really can't complain about a thing. Our kids live in Bishop now, so we'll stay at the Vagabond whenever we're in town visiting.

Room Tip: May want to avoid a room near a staircase because of noisy guests coming and going. No elevators, so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Dear Micki W., Thank you for the great review! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Vagabond Inn in Bishop. All of our recently renovated rooms offer new mattresses, a microwave and refrigerator, along with free WI-FI and many other wonderful amenities. Thank you again for helping us to get the word out. We look forward to your next visit with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2013

We have spent the last 5 years staying at the Elm Motel and have been very happy, but now we travel with our dog and they have a no pet policy so we had to try somewhere new. We spent one night at the La Quinta, which was fine, but the beds were tiny as was the bathroom so we thought we'd try here (and they were cheaper for the night, even with the $15 dog fee).

So glad we did! The rooms are spacious for the price, everything was very clean, the bedding comfy, it was quiet, they have a nice little pet area, AND they have yummy popcorn in the lobby! Nice queen beds and crisp clean towels. Heater was reasonable quiet as well.

I booked through hotels.com on my phone, which I love, except for the fact that there is nowhere to make a note about travelling with a pet and when we arrived the person at the front desk said they were running out of rooms for pets. Worked out fine for us, but that is a little concerning as nowhere did it say "limited # of pet rooms". I'm not sure what would have happened had we gotten in later and they were all taken.

This will definitely be our go to motel in Bishop each year now!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hulabum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Thank you so much for the five star review! We are happy that you were able to bring along your pet as a traveling companion. We have a great set up for dogs, with the large lawn in the back of the hotel for exercising your four-legged friends. Feel free to book directly with the Vagabond Inn for great customer service as well as a chance to request a pet friendly room for your future visits!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2013 via mobile

Words cannot desribe my visit. I have been out of the country on international affairs. Landed yesterday. This was top on my list to do. Love it love it love it. Wireless is fast. Staff is helpful and knowledgeable. If you find yourself in northern cali, Bishop is just a gem.

Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank jlewis923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Mr. Lewis,

Welcome back to the US and welcome back to Bishop! I am glad that you enjoyed your most recent stay with us. I am very sorry that I did not get an opportunity to say hello while you were staying with us but please email me directly the next time you are in town. Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2013

I stay at this location several times a year for the past 8 years now. Located nest to Denny's, it offer walking distance proximity to most of the restaurants in town. Ample parking, clean and comfortable rooms, and a friendly staff ensure a pleasant stay every time.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerald S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Owner at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Gerald S,

Thank you for your continued patronage at our hotel. We certainly hope that you liked our recent renovations. During the next year, we will begin Phase 2 of our renovations that will include an upgrade of our furniture and television sets. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Property: Vagabond Inn Bishop
Address: 1030 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelsClick so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing