We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bishop)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elms Motel(Bishop)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
127
203
117
37
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
203
117
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree popcornroom was cleanbunk bedsdenny's restaurantcontinental breakfastpet areadeath valleybbq areafish cleaningbagelswould stay here againin townfishing triplas vegasremodeled roomsshower headcold cereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
295 - 300 of 514 reviews
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Ideally situated on the 395, Vagabond again has all you need from a motel.

Good size, clean rooms with air con, nice little continental spread in the morning and a friendly host in Tevis.

There's a pool and fish cleaning spot if you need it too.

Easy walk to restaurants within town and a stunning backdrop of the Sierra Nevada range for a great sunset.

Good stop off having climbed Mount Whitney and then heading onto Mammoth which are both an hour away in either direction.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Steve,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vagabond Inn Bishop. We are very happy that you enjoyed our oversized rooms, the air conditioning system, the breakfast, and most importantly, our Team Members; I am sure Tevis will be delighted to see her name mentioned. :) Thank you for staying at the Vagabond Inn Bishop and we hope to see you whenever you are visiting the Eastern Sierras.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Only stayed for one night in June. Was good though. Really quiet as small town. Room had tv and fridge with nice view over pool and mountains. Would recommend to friend. Only drawback was that jacuzzi was really hot and took some getting into. Once in its fine though :)

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
Thank Emily E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Emily,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vagabond Inn Bishop. The best compliment that you can give us is your recommendation to a friend - THANK YOU! We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with our hotel. In regards to the Jacuzzi temperature (believe it or not), it is recommended that the temperature be set at 102 degrees; while it feels excellent in the cooler months, it does initially become a bit warm to use the Jacuzzi in the warmer months. Thanks again for staying with us and we hope to see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Vagabond is at the north end of Bishop's commercial main drag, just a couple of blocks south of the junction of US 395 and US 6, on the east side. A very comfy place for the traveler or those staying several days. Friendly staff.

A 24-hour Denny's Restaurant is immediately adjacent, and motel guests get 10% off at the register. Other restaurants are 2 blocks away or more. A Von's supermarket and K-Mart are about 1/2 mile north, partly out of view to the east, off US 6. Thus you can do a lot of shopping without worrying about parking in the main drag area.

The narrow driveway off Hwy 395 requires attention when entering and leaving.

Room Tip: One room (I think it's #101) has a room with several bunk beds for smaller kids if traveling as a family.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rollingstoneman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Dear rollingstoneman,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vagabond Inn Bishop. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for acknowledging the friendliness of our Team Members. We have several rooms with the two sets of bunk beds and are pleased that you enjoyed the room. We hope to see you soon.

Thanks,
Niral

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

This was our second overnight visit to Bishop on the way to Lake Tahoe, but our first time at the Vagabond. While this wasn't the least expensive nor highest recommended place to stay, to be quite honest the deciding factor for me was the fact that the manager (Sam) had taken the time and interest to post responses to any complaints expressed here by prior guests. Upon check in, I happily found that same customer service ethic to be evident when I needed assistance with a room issue and the front desk rep (Anna) sent someone by within a matter of minutes to take care of it. The A/C was new, the wi-fi worked without interruption, and the breakfast was plenty and offered lots of choices. The rooms were clean and have actually been remodeled since the pix were taken here on the TripAdvisor site--bonus! All in all a great experience for our family (who are no strangers to five-diamond lodging) and we will definitely be back on the way to Tahoe next year.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TahoeOrBust8017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear TahoeOrBust8017,

We take the comments and suggestions of our guests very seriously and we thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I will certainly share your review with Anna, who I am sure will be very pleased to read your review. One of the best compliments that you can give us is by telling us that you will be back staying with us next year. Please give us a call directly so we can have the pleasure of setting your reservations and continue exceeding your expectations.

Thank you,
Niral Munshaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

If your going to stay in Bishop, this is the place to stay. When we arrived, are rooms were ready for us. The front desk hostess (Anne) was very pleasant ( all though they had a water main break that day). She was very helpful and understanding of our questions. Are room was clean and very a pleasant to stay in. The beds were easy to fall asleep on and gave you a good night sleep.
I would recommend staying here if you are going stay a night in

Room Tip: Ask for a lower room if you do not want go up any stairs.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Dear Mark M,

Thank you for taking the time to review the Vagabond Inn Bishop. I am very sorry that you were inconvenienced by the break in our main waterline - thanks for your understanding. I will certainly convey your acknowledgement to Anne about her service. I am happy that you enjoyed our beds - we hope to see you soon!

Thanks,
Niral Munshaw

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews