We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nicely remodeled and friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Woodland Hills
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“nicely remodeled and friendly staff”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our stay was very pleasant. The newly remodeled rooms were comfortable, clean and well lite. The staff was very nice and helpful. The parking was good and the pool is not to close to the rooms. The continental breakfast was only average but OK. For the price we were happy with everything.
Ray S

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms as usual would be the best for quiteness.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aquachef79, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Ray S,

We are very happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay at our hotel, and that our staff was able to provide service that met your expectations. We hope that you come visit us again soon and enjoy the value that our hotel has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    179
    101
    32
    27
See reviews for
162
167
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

My teen sons and my husband and I stayed in this hotel. Someone entered our room while we were out fishing and replaced the room air-conditioner without telling us they would be coming in! When we went to check out we had all kinds of problems. When I got home we had credit card fraud. I can't prove it came from this hotel but I personally think it did. Room was clean, breakfast was donuts and bagels with coffee that was all ok. Too many issues in this hotel to EVER stay there again! We stayed 2012 in May.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renee D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Renee D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your response. We are sincerely concerned with some of these comments, mainly the fraud and the entering of your room without your permission. We always announce before we enter a room and acquire permission from our guests first. As far as the fraud, we will do our best to investigate the issue, should you have any more information and be happy to share with us, we may be abe to figure out what happened. We encourage you to reach out to us if possible to straighten things out. Thank You.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

1 review
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We were a little bit let down no coffee maker in the room shower didn't hold water.be sides that the stay was excellent we enjoyed the beds and they were very comfortable. a little hard to reach the heater unit all the way at the top of the wall above the mirror.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mommyruthie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you mommy ruthie, for taking the time to share your experience. We apologize for the isolated inconveniences that occurred with your shower and missing coffee maker, though we are happy to hear that your overall experience was enjoyable and comfortable. We have replace the heater unit and coffee maker in the room. Also have taken care of shower. We appreciate you taking time to let us be aware of the problem and for taking a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merishausen
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed before at this hotel for a period between 2010 and march 2013. The management really makes huge efforts to augment the quality of the services offered.
Liked the quiet location at the back of the hotel-yard

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank searingoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you for your business year after year. It brings us great joy that you have recognized that we have been making huge efforts to improve the property and the services we provide since the ownership change in 2012. Your experience is important to us, we hope to provide the best service possible for years to come.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Bishop California for a night on my way through. the room was decent size for the price, but the bed was very very comfortable. Kingsize, pillow top. Got really good sleep. Televisions need updating as well as the bathrooms still dated. Overall a good experience. The Lady at the desk the night I checked in Tevis or Telva, sorry was unsure of the spelling, was awesome, she is all about customer service and a smile.

Room Tip: Ask about discounts as they have many
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uncledj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind remarks, I have shared this glowing review with Tevis and she is very flattered. We just went into the major renovation and are going to do more improvising with coming year or so. We hope you will return soon.
Thank you, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Habra, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent two nights with my sons at the Vagabond Inn which I have stayed at before. Much improved from the last time I stayed their three or four years ago. A lot of remodeling has taken place and the desk staff is very helpful with your motel needs. The continental breakfast is a nice way to start the day and they have a new fish cleaning area for the in town fishermen. The motel has very comfortable mattresses for their guests. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem to be the quietest and even the ones in the very back are a good location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Thank you for your great review John S, we are so happy you had a good experience once again and noticed our vast improvements since your previous visit. We hope you come back soon to use our fish cleaning facilities on your next fishing trip.
Thanks, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We needed a stopping point to break up a longer trip; several friends independently recommended the Vagabond Inn. Despite some initial hesitation due to mixed reviews, we booked the hotel based on our friends' experiences. We were glad we did!

We arrived very late at night, but the desk clerk was super nice, friendly, and made us feel welcome. Our request for a room on the top floor and towards the back was honored. While it is your standard hotel room in size and layout, it is newly refurbished (in fact, they were working on the rooms at the front of the building, putting in new carpeting, etc.) The new decor is very pretty and stylish. The room was quiet during the night, and the heater worked great. Everything was clean and working - plenty of hot water. The walls are thin as we discovered when our neighbor was up at 5 am to take a shower, but I'm sure he wasn't happy when we arrived in the wee hours of the morning.

Continental breakfast in the morning; when we checked in, the desk clerk reminded us the room included breakfast and to please come eat. Bagels, muffins, doughnuts, juice, coffee, jams, oranges, etc. It looks like they have fresh popcorn in the evening.

Plenty of parking and easy to find - it is right on the main road through town.

Overall, a good experience and we can see why our friends recommended it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank amama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you so much for stopping by our hotel during your trip, and I am very happy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to your future visits to our property and invite you to book directly with us.
Thank you, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Property: Vagabond Inn Bishop
Address: 1030 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing