We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bishop)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Elms Motel(Bishop)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (514)
Filter reviews
514 results
Traveler rating
127
203
117
37
30
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
127
203
117
37
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfree popcornroom was cleanbunk bedsdenny's restaurantcontinental breakfastpet areadeath valleybbq areafish cleaningbagelswould stay here againin townfishing triplas vegasremodeled roomsshower headcold cereal
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
310 - 315 of 514 reviews
Reviewed April 10, 2013

We stayed before at this hotel for a period between 2010 and march 2013. The management really makes huge efforts to augment the quality of the services offered.
Liked the quiet location at the back of the hotel-yard

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank searingoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you for your business year after year. It brings us great joy that you have recognized that we have been making huge efforts to improve the property and the services we provide since the ownership change in 2012. Your experience is important to us, we hope to provide the best service possible for years to come.
Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

I recently stayed at the Vagabond Inn Bishop California for a night on my way through. the room was decent size for the price, but the bed was very very comfortable. Kingsize, pillow top. Got really good sleep. Televisions need updating as well as the bathrooms still dated. Overall a good experience. The Lady at the desk the night I checked in Tevis or Telva, sorry was unsure of the spelling, was awesome, she is all about customer service and a smile.

Room Tip: Ask about discounts as they have many
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank uncledj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind remarks, I have shared this glowing review with Tevis and she is very flattered. We just went into the major renovation and are going to do more improvising with coming year or so. We hope you will return soon.
Thank you, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Spent two nights with my sons at the Vagabond Inn which I have stayed at before. Much improved from the last time I stayed their three or four years ago. A lot of remodeling has taken place and the desk staff is very helpful with your motel needs. The continental breakfast is a nice way to start the day and they have a new fish cleaning area for the in town fishermen. The motel has very comfortable mattresses for their guests. Overall, a very good experience.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms seem to be the quietest and even the ones in the very back are a good location.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2013

Thank you for your great review John S, we are so happy you had a good experience once again and noticed our vast improvements since your previous visit. We hope you come back soon to use our fish cleaning facilities on your next fishing trip.
Thanks, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We needed a stopping point to break up a longer trip; several friends independently recommended the Vagabond Inn. Despite some initial hesitation due to mixed reviews, we booked the hotel based on our friends' experiences. We were glad we did!

We arrived very late at night, but the desk clerk was super nice, friendly, and made us feel welcome. Our request for a room on the top floor and towards the back was honored. While it is your standard hotel room in size and layout, it is newly refurbished (in fact, they were working on the rooms at the front of the building, putting in new carpeting, etc.) The new decor is very pretty and stylish. The room was quiet during the night, and the heater worked great. Everything was clean and working - plenty of hot water. The walls are thin as we discovered when our neighbor was up at 5 am to take a shower, but I'm sure he wasn't happy when we arrived in the wee hours of the morning.

Continental breakfast in the morning; when we checked in, the desk clerk reminded us the room included breakfast and to please come eat. Bagels, muffins, doughnuts, juice, coffee, jams, oranges, etc. It looks like they have fresh popcorn in the evening.

Plenty of parking and easy to find - it is right on the main road through town.

Overall, a good experience and we can see why our friends recommended it. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2013

Thank you so much for stopping by our hotel during your trip, and I am very happy to hear that we were able to meet and exceed your expectations. We look forward to your future visits to our property and invite you to book directly with us.
Thank you, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've stayed here about a dozen times. Debbie, one of the desk clerks is a peach! Friendly, knowledgeable, a can do personality. Hotel has just been recently upgraded. Great pet park, fish cleaning station, new fish freezer, new patio with Huge BBQ. Great continental breakfast, outside dining with spectacular view. Complimentary fresh popcorn. 24 hour hot beverage station. Ask about buy 9 nights get one free. This is a great budget conscious choice for your stay in beautiful Bishop, CA.
Thank You Debbie!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind remarks, I have shared this glowing review with Debbie and she is very flattered. We are also very happy that you recognized all of our improvements and additional amenities. We are working hard to create a more relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests. With so many outdoor activities and wonderful weather, we felt that many of these added amenities were a necessity. We hope you will return soon.
Thank you, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews