We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, walking distance to all. Newly upgraded.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We've stayed here about a dozen times. Debbie, one of the desk clerks is a peach! Friendly, knowledgeable, a can do personality. Hotel has just been recently upgraded. Great pet park, fish cleaning station, new fish freezer, new patio with Huge BBQ. Great continental breakfast, outside dining with spectacular view. Complimentary fresh popcorn. 24 hour hot beverage station. Ask about buy 9 nights get one free. This is a great budget conscious choice for your stay in beautiful Bishop, CA.
Thank You Debbie!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank D P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Thank you so much for the kind remarks, I have shared this glowing review with Debbie and she is very flattered. We are also very happy that you recognized all of our improvements and additional amenities. We are working hard to create a more relaxing and enjoyable atmosphere for our guests. With so many outdoor activities and wonderful weather, we felt that many of these added amenities were a necessity. We hope you will return soon.
Thank you, Sam at Vagabond Inn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 502 reviews

Reviewed January 5, 2013

This hotel was a good place to spend the night traveling through. We arrived late in the night and the staff was wonderful and kind when we checked in. The room had basic amenities and was clean. There is a basic complementary breakfast in the morning with bagels, muffins, and juice.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SanDiegoMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you, SanDiegoMomma, for sharing your experience during your stay at our hotel. Your kind comments about our staff will be shared with our staff, and are kindly appreciated. We hope that in the future with our upgrades, we can meet and exceed the quality of stay that you experienced during you last visit. We hope to see you again soon!
Sincerely, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After our car broke down we were forced to spend the night in Bishop. The staff at the Vagabond Inn was very friendly and helpful. They even let us have the room a little past check out time as we waited for our car to be repaired. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Free continental breakfast and all the popcorn you can eat all day long!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aliceb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear aliceb8,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We were very sorry you experienced the issues with your vehicle during your visit to the area, we are glad that we were able to accommodate your request for a later check out and that the amenities of your room were clean and comfortable. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the popcorn that we have in our lobby. We hope you return sometime soon, we would love to see you again.
Thank you, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2012

They were very helpful in finding me an option that fit my budget. They allow pets with a small additional fee which was a huge plus! The rooms were fine, nothing fancy but love that there is a fridge. Continental breakfast in the morn and popcorn and coffee all day was nice. The staff is very nice and one gal was extra helpful getting me checked in. I came on a friend's recommendation and I'll stay here again. They're currently upgrading all the rooms too!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carriannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Dear Carriannc,
Thank you so much for sharing kind words about our property and noticing the extra benefits our property offers including the upgrading of the rooms and the room amenities (miniature refrigerator) We are happy to hear that our staff was able to help you and exceed your expectations at check in in order to fit your needs and budget. We can not wait for your return, and hope it will be in the near future!
See you soon, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently had a decent one night stay here. Check in/out was relatively easy. Continental breakfast had small selection of items. Only complaint would be bed mattresses were way too soft. Other than that, good location and value.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Thank you Carolinelomeli for sharing your experience at our property. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was only decent, as we aim to beat and exceed any expectations of our guests. We have made some improvements to our property and will continue to make upgrades to our rooms. Next time you stay in Bishop, give us a call at the front desk to make your reservation and we will do our best to find you room with a firmer mattress. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while exploring Mammoth Lakes and Yosemite.

Room was nothing special, there was some wear, but it was clean. Staff were helpful, breakfast was OK - pretty much the same as most other hotel free breakfasts.

Offered good value.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded January 11, 2013

Hello Scott,
Thank you so much for your review on our property. We are happy to see that you felt our hotel was a good value, offering you a place to use as your HQ. We recognize that our hotel has seen some wear and are currently in the process of completing some upgrades to our rooms. We hope you will come back and visit us, as well as experiencing the comfort of our upgrades.
We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank robin c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,069 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
923 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
255 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
130 reviews
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Address: 1030 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $77 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing