We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overnight in Bishop”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Overnight in Bishop”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

After our car broke down we were forced to spend the night in Bishop. The staff at the Vagabond Inn was very friendly and helpful. They even let us have the room a little past check out time as we waited for our car to be repaired. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room. Free continental breakfast and all the popcorn you can eat all day long!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear aliceb8,
Thank you so much for sharing your comments with us. We were very sorry you experienced the issues with your vehicle during your visit to the area, we are glad that we were able to accommodate your request for a later check out and that the amenities of your room were clean and comfortable. We are glad you enjoyed the breakfast as well as the popcorn that we have in our lobby. We hope you return sometime soon, we would love to see you again.
Thank you, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    179
    101
    32
    27
See reviews for
162
167
22
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bishop, California
1 review
Reviewed December 31, 2012

They were very helpful in finding me an option that fit my budget. They allow pets with a small additional fee which was a huge plus! The rooms were fine, nothing fancy but love that there is a fridge. Continental breakfast in the morn and popcorn and coffee all day was nice. The staff is very nice and one gal was extra helpful getting me checked in. I came on a friend's recommendation and I'll stay here again. They're currently upgrading all the rooms too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carriannc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Carriannc,
Thank you so much for sharing kind words about our property and noticing the extra benefits our property offers including the upgrading of the rooms and the room amenities (miniature refrigerator) We are happy to hear that our staff was able to help you and exceed your expectations at check in in order to fit your needs and budget. We can not wait for your return, and hope it will be in the near future!
See you soon, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
448 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I recently had a decent one night stay here. Check in/out was relatively easy. Continental breakfast had small selection of items. Only complaint would be bed mattresses were way too soft. Other than that, good location and value.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Thank you Carolinelomeli for sharing your experience at our property. It is disappointing to hear that your stay was only decent, as we aim to beat and exceed any expectations of our guests. We have made some improvements to our property and will continue to make upgrades to our rooms. Next time you stay in Bishop, give us a call at the front desk to make your reservation and we will do our best to find you room with a firmer mattress. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Sincerely, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Stayed here for two nights while exploring Mammoth Lakes and Yosemite.

Room was nothing special, there was some wear, but it was clean. Staff were helpful, breakfast was OK - pretty much the same as most other hotel free breakfasts.

Offered good value.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam1982Pat, General Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Hello Scott,
Thank you so much for your review on our property. We are happy to see that you felt our hotel was a good value, offering you a place to use as your HQ. We recognize that our hotel has seen some wear and are currently in the process of completing some upgrades to our rooms. We hope you will come back and visit us, as well as experiencing the comfort of our upgrades.
We hope to see you soon!
Sincerely, Sam-Manager at Vagabond Inn Bishop.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

Having planed for a year a 12 day trip with my 87 yr old dad who wanted to ride a train from Carson City to Virginia City. We rented a travel trailer from a local co. in Tucson, AZ. Close to the end of our 2nd day out, the trailer broke an axel and from then on out we were left with staying at hotels as we tried to "make the best of what we got...."
This is the first hotel we stayed at. Being labor day weekend the town was pretty much booked and there were few rooms left.
Positives: there was a grilling area at the pool and we were able to grill some of the food we had brought for camping. The room was a nice size. I didn't see any bugs! The room didn't smell funky!
(I'm tying to find some good here... Zeesh) The breakfast was okay.. The coffee was good.
Negatives: There was a huge stain on the ceiling from what looked like water leaking in the upstairs bathroom. It covered the bathroom area out to the beds. The beds were very soft and I had a hard time sleeping as did my father.
If I had a choice... I would rather not stay here again. Especially at the price we paid.
The sad thing is as I write these reviews this motel did not end up being the worst of the ones we stayed at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Anacortes
Level Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

The inn was fine for staying the night while traveling. The room was average in size and had some wear and tear. Though the carpet looked relatively new, it had a number of dark stains on it. The bed had hard pillows and was missing any kind of cover on the bottom mattress, which gave the bed a cheap, unfinished look (assume that was only temporary). Breakfast was basic continental. Easy walk to various restaurants, which was convenient. We enjoyed dinner at the Upper Crust Pizza, half a block away. The place was fine for convenience and a quiet night's sleep.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dayle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,635 reviews
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
846 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
234 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.9 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vagabond Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vagabond Inn Bishop

Property: Vagabond Inn Bishop
Address: 1030 North Main Street, Bishop, CA 93514-2431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Vagabond Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
When looking for hotels in Bishop California, look no further than the Vagabond Inn Bishop. This Bishop hotel is ideal for those seeking adventure in rustic California, and is located a short distance from both Kings Canyon National Park and Sequoia Park. Additionally, our Bishop hotel is located off the US 395, near major fishing areas along the Owens Lake, skiing, horseback riding and hiking. We are well equipped for a quiet stay or your outdoor excursion; for your convenience, fish cleaning and freezing facilities, BBQ and RV parking are available on the property of our hotel in Bishop. For your more immediate dining needs, there is a Denny's restaurant, open 24-hours, on the premises. Relax in our swimming pool open from May to the end of October. Our rooms feature cable TV with HBO and wireless Internet access is now available in all rooms for your enjoyment. Enjoy the charm of this quaint town and relax in the comfort of our rooms. Need lodging in Bishop during Mule Days? This is the perfect place to stay. The hotel has undergone a freshening up in the last year. Freshly painted and landscaped, new patio furniture, as well as new bedspreads and linings. As always, we promise you our own brand of Western hospitality. Great Value, friendly people- it's how we do things. Amenities • Air Conditioning • BBQ Area • Free Continental Breakfast • Breakfast Area • Multilingual Staff • Business Center • Cable TV - Show Time and Movie Channel • Under 18yrs Stay Free w/ Parents • In-room Coffee & Tea Maker • 24Hrs. Front Desk • Dog Playground Area • Free Incoming Fax • In-Room Hair Dryer • Iron / Board in all rooms • Jacuzzi • Guest Laundry Facility • Microwave Oven in all rooms • Free Weekday Newspaper • Free Parking • Swimming Pool (All new furniture in 2010) • Free 24hr Coffee and Popcorn in Lobby • Refrigerator in all rooms • Free Local Phone Calls • Voicemail available • Wake up calls available • Free WiFi Internet AccessServices • Connecting Rooms Upon Request • Smoking Room Requested • Family Suite & Suites Available • ADA Accessible Rooms • Guest Laundry Facilities • Outgoing Fax Service (fee applies) • Pet Friendly Rooms ($15 per pet/day fee) • Rollaway upon request (fee applies) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Vagabond Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vagabond Inn Bishop Hotel Bishop
Vagabond Hotel Bishop
Bishop Vagabond Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing