We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“NO problems at all. Good for and overnight stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Trento, Italy
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“NO problems at all. Good for and overnight stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2009

It was Aug 8th Saturday. We needed a good place to sleep during the transfer between Vegas and Yosemite and found out this one on the Internet just the day before. We had absolutely no problems with this hotel. We arrived in the late afternoon just after crossing Death Valley and could relax at once in the pool and the hot jacuzzi. It was nice. The room was big and clean enough for the 4 of us. The complimentary breakfast is not their best feature: it's poor and served in the little lobby. But you can go to the nearby Shat's bakery.
Internet in the room was a bit slow but it worked. The staff is polite. It could cost a bit less, but Bishop seems to be all overpriced, dunno why. Ciao.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The_GarMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    79
    60
    19
    8
See reviews for
60
85
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

Stayed one night. Clean large room. Comfortable bed. The breakfast was adequate but rather haphazard. Shame we were woken early by noisy toilet flushes from other rooms. Checking in and out was problematic, both extremely slow, due to phone interruptions when checking in and computer problems when checking out.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Westerleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sierra nevada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2009

I have stayed at the Comfort Inn in Bishop 3 times a year for 3-4 years now. I thought it was the best place in town until lately. The service especially has gone downhill. The rooms are clean enough but pool area has received less and less attention. Last time we checked in there was one bar of soap in the room. We had to look for the housekeeping cart to get shampoo, lotion and coffee. The DSL connected fine early in the day. Later that night it would not connect. When we called the customer no service desk they said,"Hummmm, should be fine." The next morning they said, " Hummmm, dunno." Worst of all at 3am there were too many people roaming the parking lot. At 5am, when we checked out, there were more questionable, homeless looking type people roaming around the building and in the lobby carrying plastic bags over their shoulders. I got the impression they were looking for vacated rooms to get into. For 100 plus dollars a night I expect more and I won't stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sierrakj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Country Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
236 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2009

We found this room one of the cleanest of a three week stay in the US. (I am very fussy about cleanliness) Nice decor, well maintained, comfortable pillows. Fridge and microwave. Continental Breakfast was good. Bathroom had a very good layout, not tiny cluttered and cramped like some motels. Rate was $76.00 not including tax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2008

We needed a place to stay overnight between San Francisco and Las Vegas, and as Bishop is pretty much dead on half way between the two, it seemed the logical place to stay. We knew we wouldn't spend much time at the hotel, so didn't want to pay any more than we had to, so the Comfort Inn fitted the bill for us.

The hotel is old, but still our room was spotlessly clean, though it did have a fousty/stale smell. A quick squirt of deoderant around the room soon fixed that though, and when we returned from dinner, it smelt fine. The room was a reasonable size, not huge but plenty of room for us. The air conditioner wasn't too loud either, certainly not whisper quiet though. The 'bathroom' was a typical split affair, with the bath and toilet in one room, and the wash basin and counter in the main bedroom. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, along with a coffee maker. The hotel also had free wifi, and we got a good signal in our room (though we didn't actually use it).

The staff were friendly enough, the lady checking us in was very friendly, polite and chatty. The guy checking us out was OK, happy enough, but not overly friendly. Breakfast was OK. The buffet had enough food to fill you up, though getting a table was by luck (they only have 3 tables I think). It could always be taken back to the room though. The hot Comfort Inn waffles with maple syrup are always great though! Yum!

There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel, and it is right next door to a Sizzler for an evening meal. It is on the main road through Bishop, though the hotel rooms actually face onto a side street so are pretty quiet.

For an overnight stop, we couldn't really complain with what we got for the money.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank alanjonesbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, CA
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2008

We came into Bishop late in the evening from a long drive at 11PM, they were one of the few places to have a room, (i know why now). The gentleman behind the counter was pretty strange but nice, he gave us the room keys and as went went to park, we noticed right away groups of the residents hanging outside on balcony , and milling about the parking lot, one woman was either a really badly dressed hooker, or just another meth addict. The other groups were younger men (the kind with their pants halfway down) drinking, and smoking, partying up a storm. we knew this was not going to be a good night, so we went to the Best Western Creekside Inn. Excellent choice!!. I did go back to the man at the counter and he did refund our money, we won't be staying there anytime soon.

  • Liked — The counter service was OK
  • Disliked — The drug addicts hanging around
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Texblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

USA
Level Contributor
133 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2008

nice rooms EXCEPT they smell like the cheap soap syndrome so BAD you have to keep the window open
the whole way. Otherwise you might get sick..
Stay somewhere else until they fix this crap...

Stayed February 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank trav3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 805 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is surrounded by the High Sierra Mountains with a Swiss Village atmosphere. All rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free high-speed Internet and free movies. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, and hiking are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bishop
Comfort Inn Bishop
Bishop Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing