We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very clean, comfortable, large room, central in Bishop”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed May 14, 2009

We found this room one of the cleanest of a three week stay in the US. (I am very fussy about cleanliness) Nice decor, well maintained, comfortable pillows. Fridge and microwave. Continental Breakfast was good. Bathroom had a very good layout, not tiny cluttered and cramped like some motels. Rate was $76.00 not including tax.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hitchiker_bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (247)
There are newer reviews for Comfort Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

201 - 207 of 247 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2008

We needed a place to stay overnight between San Francisco and Las Vegas, and as Bishop is pretty much dead on half way between the two, it seemed the logical place to stay. We knew we wouldn't spend much time at the hotel, so didn't want to pay any more than we had to, so the Comfort Inn fitted the bill for us.

The hotel is old, but still our room was spotlessly clean, though it did have a fousty/stale smell. A quick squirt of deoderant around the room soon fixed that though, and when we returned from dinner, it smelt fine. The room was a reasonable size, not huge but plenty of room for us. The air conditioner wasn't too loud either, certainly not whisper quiet though. The 'bathroom' was a typical split affair, with the bath and toilet in one room, and the wash basin and counter in the main bedroom. There was a fridge and microwave in the room, along with a coffee maker. The hotel also had free wifi, and we got a good signal in our room (though we didn't actually use it).

The staff were friendly enough, the lady checking us in was very friendly, polite and chatty. The guy checking us out was OK, happy enough, but not overly friendly. Breakfast was OK. The buffet had enough food to fill you up, though getting a table was by luck (they only have 3 tables I think). It could always be taken back to the room though. The hot Comfort Inn waffles with maple syrup are always great though! Yum!

There is plenty of free parking in front of the hotel, and it is right next door to a Sizzler for an evening meal. It is on the main road through Bishop, though the hotel rooms actually face onto a side street so are pretty quiet.

For an overnight stop, we couldn't really complain with what we got for the money.

Stayed: June 2008
Thank alanjonesbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2008

We came into Bishop late in the evening from a long drive at 11PM, they were one of the few places to have a room, (i know why now). The gentleman behind the counter was pretty strange but nice, he gave us the room keys and as went went to park, we noticed right away groups of the residents hanging outside on balcony , and milling about the parking lot, one woman was either a really badly dressed hooker, or just another meth addict. The other groups were younger men (the kind with their pants halfway down) drinking, and smoking, partying up a storm. we knew this was not going to be a good night, so we went to the Best Western Creekside Inn. Excellent choice!!. I did go back to the man at the counter and he did refund our money, we won't be staying there anytime soon.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Service
2  Thank Texblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2008

nice rooms EXCEPT they smell like the cheap soap syndrome so BAD you have to keep the window open
the whole way. Otherwise you might get sick..
Stay somewhere else until they fix this crap...

Stayed: February 2008
1  Thank trav3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2008

This is a clean motel. Pretty basic, but no problems. The property could probably use refresh, but it is clean. Front desk service was OK. The location is nice and convenient... pretty much in the center of town.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randy1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2007

Room - Clean, Upstairs room, floors creak.
Shower - ok.
Heater - ok.
Breakfast - continental, good with make your own waffles,
Staff - consistently Friendly and helpful.
Pool and Spa looked inviting for a summer visit.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Choice-hotels-member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2007

We always stay at the best place in town, Creekside, when we pass through Bishop, but there was 'no room at the Inn' this time...for less than $140, that is. The Comfort Inn said their rate was $89.99 for any size room, so we thought we'd give it a try.

All the ground floor rooms were taken by the time we got there except for a room with a Queen bed a couple doors from the office. It was really small for $89.99, but it was very clean and had a fresh scent. (I have a good honker and if at first sniff it doesn't pass, I'm outta there.) For the same price, we could have a larger room with a King bed on the 2nd fl. (walk-up). It was definitely bigger and also very clean, but it was a trek to get up there even without luggage, and I noticed that the floorboards in the room squeaked with every step. We decided on the smaller room on the ground floor.

Some nice touches were the faux granite (laminate?) shower walls, the curved curtain rod which extended out to give more room in the shower, the clear panel in the shower curtain which allowed for more light and less claustrophobia, and a subtle but effective night-light located on the phone unit (other than the message light). It really helped in the middle of the night when heading for the bathroom. There was the usual coffee set-up, micro, fridge, etc.; and the bed was comfortable. The window A/C kept the temp down but was a bit noisy, so out came the foam earplugs, and restful sleep followed.

On the down side, the blackout drape did not have a separate filmy curtain which allows light in but blocks the view from those outside, so passersby would look into the room as they walked by. Yet, to close the curtain put the room in darkness in the middle of the day. Management should consider applying a tinted window film. It allows light in but is reflective during the day, and guests would be more comfortable even with the drapes open.

The continental breakfast the next morning held no surprises, but the make-it-yourself Belgium waffles cooked up restaurant-perfect and were delicious. Fruit, cereals, juices, assorted pastries & muffins were plentiful and filling (and so was my creation of sliced hard-boiled egg sandwiched between a buttered toasted bagel!).

Would I stay there again? Quite possibly, but on the way out of town I stopped at the Dow Villa Motel and took a peek at a couple of the rooms. I liked what I saw.

Stayed: October 2007
Thank HonestScoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,907 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
892 reviews
0.2 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.7 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
375 reviews
0.3 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#10 of 20 in Bishop
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 805 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2433
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $107 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 54
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel is surrounded by the High Sierra Mountains with a Swiss Village atmosphere. All rooms have coffee makers, refrigerators, microwaves, free high-speed Internet and free movies. Rooms are large, clean and comfortable. Skiing, snowmobiling, hunting, fishing, and hiking are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Bishop
Comfort Inn Bishop
Bishop Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing