We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, but...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Volcano, California
Level Contributor
337 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Nice, but...”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We've stayed here before, but won't do so again. Location is great and the room is very nicely equipped, large and clean. However, $170 for one night's stay seems to us to be a bit much for a Holiday Inn Express, especially one with wall covering peeling off the front stairwell walls. The hall carpet could stand a cleaning as well. They are entitled to charge whatever the market will bear - that is capitalism. I just choose not to pay it.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwwaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    97
    65
    29
    24
See reviews for
97
96
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, England
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2010

We used this hotel for a one night stopover en route from Death Valley to Yosemite.
It is right on the main road through Bishop so it is really easy to find and parking is right outside the door.
The staff were friendly. The room was clean and comfortable with a fridge. There is a small indoor swimming pool and spa.
Despite being right next to a main road the hotel is laid out in such a way that the pool room is next to the road and the bedrooms are away from the road and ours was very quiet.
There is a washing machine and dryer for guests to use which is really useful if like us you've spent several days on the road.
There are several nice looking places to eat in Bishop. We chose a small Mexican restaurant a block or so down to the left on the other side of the road and it was excellent.
The complimentary breakfast was fine and all you would expect it to be.
There is a good Vons supermarket 2 or 3 blocks down the road on the right that I would recommend.
I would recommend this as a place to stopover if you are on a road trip from Death Valley (or Vegas) to Yosemite.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Economy_Class_Clive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Very friendly receptionist, clean room, fridge, coffee machine and nice bathroom. We only stayed 1 night and ate at Jacks across the road which was very good and reasonable priced. If you are on route to Death Valley, as we were, stock up on water at Vons supermarket, ( turn right from Holiday Inn )

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nordickaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2010

Overnight stoppover on drive to Vegas. Staff were great, room clean and comfy. Local take outs for supper after day on road. Eric Schatts made great sandwiches for our drive the following day. Pool good - no changin facilities which was strange; had to wrap towel around and walk back to room with wet feet!
Complimentray breakfast disapointing - binned it and went to Schatts.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whitefamilyvacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2010

I found the HI in Bishop to be a very nice hotel. The room was roomy and comfortable, although a little dated. The workers are very pleasant. My only complaint is the bed was very firm. I prefer mine on the softer side. Other than that it's a great place and their prices are reasonable.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cloud_Breaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
49 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

This is a very, very poor holiday inn express. I was pretty shocked as i have always had a consistant experience with the chain. It stank, and was in a very poor state of repair. On the plus side the reception staff were very friendly. Not sure how they put up with the smell day in, day out. I would chose somewhere else when in Bishop. And, Holiday Inn, what happened??

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carrie105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2010

HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - BISHOP, CALIFORNIA

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express in Bishop California for three nights. Although it’s not a new hotel, it has clearly been well maintained. I didn’t notice any glaring stains in the carpets, either in the lobby or in the hallways, or even in our room. Everything smelled fresh and clean, even in the enclosed pool area and the small workout room. The only negative I noted in the maintenance department, was the usual slight peeling back of wallpaper at the seams, that one sees in most every level of accommodation. In this case, it was only a few instances, as far as I saw, one of them being in a stairwell. Not a big deal.

When we first checked in, which was after a day of fishing on one of the lakes about an hour away, the desk clerk on duty was a bit abrupt, but we got our room keys quickly and went upstairs. We found the room to be well-appointed with nice furniture in good condition, inviting beds, a flat screen TV, a microwave oven, small fridge, table, chairs, more-than adequate dresser and closet space, a well-lit vanity outside of the bathroom proper, and a sparkling clean bathroom.

Each morning of our stay, a free national newpaper was under our door, and a continental breakfast was
available in the lobby area downstairs. I had occasion to try the scrambled eggs and the cinnamon rolls, and they were both very good. There were other items available, too, such as yogurt, bagels, cold cereal, etc. The only thing wanting was the coffee, which I found to be not very flavorful, but this may only be a matter of taste.

We did find 3 or 4 small ants in the bathroom and on the vanity, as well as one lonely little spider near the commode, but a quick mention of this to the management, and the problem was cleared up. I dealt mostly with a front desk clerk named Kathy, who was most personable and happy to please. We found housekeeping to be receptive to our needs and pleasant to work with.

The location of the Bishop Holiday Inn Express is convenient to banks, small shops, and eateries of all kinds. One would have to drive to the supermarket and the Indian casino from the Inn, however. \

Although one could pay less for accommodations in Bishop, I felt that we definitely got value for our money, especially considering its location, amenities, and staff, and also the fact that the area is a resort in both the summer and winter months.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twosteptweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,622 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
451 reviews
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
844 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
0.5 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#10 of 20 in Bishop
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Address: 636 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bishop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is centrally located next to the Bishop City Park and features 66 fashionable, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and executive suites. Hotel features include a free Express Start Breakfast Bar offering cereals, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, toast, coffee and teas from 6.30 to 9.30 a.m. We are the only hotel in Bishop with free in-room high speed Internet access and personal voice mail with free local phone calls and the ability to earn Priority Club points that can be redeemed for fantastic merchandise, air miles or free stays in more than 3,500 hotels globally. A wide choice of rooms to suit your requirements starting from $99.00 AAA/Senior Discount, Corporate Discounts and Government Rates are also available. We take hospitality and personal service very seriously and in an endeavour to ensure that your stay with us is not only enjoyable but also the most memorable our staff are professionally trained and committed not only to meet but exceed all your expectations. Your total satisfaction is our goal and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bishop Hotel Bishop
Bishop Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing