We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday Inn - Bishop - pricey for an ok experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed May 16, 2014

The hotel is nice overall and the staff is friendly, but there are definitely some downsides. The hotel is all the way at the back of the hotel, i didn't notice it until the evening, but my second floor room which faced away from the street did not have darkening curtains, only sheers. This hotel is better than others in town, but not worth the price they get for it. Leaving here a little disappointed.

Room Tip: Watch if you get a room facing away from the street, some don't have darkening curtains
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2014

Dear joel g,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving a review of our property. I am glad to know that you found the hotel nice and our staff friendly.

I am sorry that your room experience was not at par to your expectations. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction.

Best Regards,

John O
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 311 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2014

At the appointed hour (3 p.m.), we arrived at the Holiday Inn Express (636 N Main St., Bishop, CA 93514, tel. (760) 872-2423, $129.99 per night plus $15.68 tax for room 207). The gal at the front desk struck us as not liking her job so the introduction was not good. Our room was a "king bed leisure" with a senior discount (of course). It was a large rectangular room with a window and bed at the window end. We had a view of Bishop City Park which was pleasant. There was a chest of drawers, a flat screen TV over a mini frig and microwave, a sofa and coffee table, a table with 2 chairs to use as our desks and then a sink area and a toilet room with shower (that had a door). The heating/air conditioning works, sort of. At night if we set it on 68°, cool, auto, the temperature will be 70° as it cycles on and off. The noise of the cycles didn't wake us up. The rooms was acceptable and clean but the carpet desperately needed cleaning. Although the Holiday Inn Express advertises that it was just "renewed" we guess that didn't include the carpets.

The Internet connection in the Holiday Inn Express was truly annoying. Every time we opened our laptops we had to agree to something or other and log in with a password. That was several times a day for us as we went in and out of the room (during our multi-day stay). Another annoying thing was the faint smell of cigarette smoke that we both inhaled each time we entered the room. There were two big no smoking signs on the door. Go figure. And yet another annoying feature of the Holiday Inn Express Bishop was its one elevator. It was at the far distant end of a long, long hall--as far as one could get from our room and the reception desk. In order to load the car, for instance, we made 8 trips (one to get the cart, then back to the room, two to take two loads to the car--is that 6? Anyway, it was a stupid and inconvenient place for the elevator. Next time we get a "king bed leisure" room near the elevator.)

We used the Jacuzzi and it was perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose one near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Dear aledm,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting our hotel. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Bishop because we could not make it to San Francisco due to snow on the 395. The hotel is very clean and fresh looking, the staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful in contacting the hotel that we could not get to that night. Thank You all so much for your help!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a treat from the moment we checked in to check out. First time we have stayed in Bishop in our trips between northern NV and southern CA. We got a great dinner recommendation, along with several other choices. The general manager, Kathy, really knew the town well. The exercise room has state-of-the-art and clean equipment. The pool area is a real treat with the Gauguin-like jungle plants and animals surrounding the room. Even if you don't swim or sit in the hot tub, take a look at the pool area. You will be amused. Rooms were clean, pretty quiet; breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Try to get on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is the place to stay. You can find cheaper but you cannot find better. We had a rough start when checking in. It could have been rougher but Kathy's (GM) tenacity did not waiver. It was not her fault in regards to the computer issues they were experiencing. She plowed through and corrected it. Im glad she was there. Thank you Kathy. See you next year.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigRig94568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

At $120, expensive for what you get. However, it was an adequate hotel. Room was older, somewhat small and dark, with some stains in the carpet. Fairly quiet. Breakfast was also adequate. I would expect more for the price but it was an acceptable stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HJF1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place needs some Deep Cleaning. The carpet in my room was well, dirty. The kind of hotel you want to keep your socks on. No welcoming bottle of water, or anything, just a vending machine. Place has a odd elevator location. Non smoking hotel, yet the smokers gather near the entrances. You have to walk through the 2nd hand smoke, and ciggy butts. Like a one stand, you never want to see again. Keeping it real. Gerry.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GerryKurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2014

We are sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay. We would like some more information if you could please email us at trese@bishopexpress.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,070 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
386 reviews
0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Address: 636 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $133 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bishop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is centrally located next to the Bishop City Park and features 66 fashionable, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and executive suites. Hotel features include a free Express Start Breakfast Bar offering cereals, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, toast, coffee and teas from 6.30 to 9.30 a.m. We are the only hotel in Bishop with free in-room high speed Internet access and personal voice mail with free local phone calls and the ability to earn Priority Club points that can be redeemed for fantastic merchandise, air miles or free stays in more than 3,500 hotels globally. A wide choice of rooms to suit your requirements starting from $99.00 AAA/Senior Discount, Corporate Discounts and Government Rates are also available. We take hospitality and personal service very seriously and in an endeavour to ensure that your stay with us is not only enjoyable but also the most memorable our staff are professionally trained and committed not only to meet but exceed all your expectations. Your total satisfaction is our goal and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bishop Hotel Bishop
Bishop Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing