We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“There were too many annoyances to recommend this hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
The World
Level 6 Contributor
441 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 252 helpful votes
“There were too many annoyances to recommend this hotel”
Reviewed May 7, 2014

At the appointed hour (3 p.m.), we arrived at the Holiday Inn Express (636 N Main St., Bishop, CA 93514, tel. (760) 872-2423, $129.99 per night plus $15.68 tax for room 207). The gal at the front desk struck us as not liking her job so the introduction was not good. Our room was a "king bed leisure" with a senior discount (of course). It was a large rectangular room with a window and bed at the window end. We had a view of Bishop City Park which was pleasant. There was a chest of drawers, a flat screen TV over a mini frig and microwave, a sofa and coffee table, a table with 2 chairs to use as our desks and then a sink area and a toilet room with shower (that had a door). The heating/air conditioning works, sort of. At night if we set it on 68°, cool, auto, the temperature will be 70° as it cycles on and off. The noise of the cycles didn't wake us up. The rooms was acceptable and clean but the carpet desperately needed cleaning. Although the Holiday Inn Express advertises that it was just "renewed" we guess that didn't include the carpets.

The Internet connection in the Holiday Inn Express was truly annoying. Every time we opened our laptops we had to agree to something or other and log in with a password. That was several times a day for us as we went in and out of the room (during our multi-day stay). Another annoying thing was the faint smell of cigarette smoke that we both inhaled each time we entered the room. There were two big no smoking signs on the door. Go figure. And yet another annoying feature of the Holiday Inn Express Bishop was its one elevator. It was at the far distant end of a long, long hall--as far as one could get from our room and the reception desk. In order to load the car, for instance, we made 8 trips (one to get the cart, then back to the room, two to take two loads to the car--is that 6? Anyway, it was a stupid and inconvenient place for the elevator. Next time we get a "king bed leisure" room near the elevator.)

We used the Jacuzzi and it was perfectly acceptable.

Room Tip: Choose one near the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aledm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review, May 23, 2014
Dear aledm,

First of all, thank you very much for your recent stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. It is regrettable we fell short of your expectations this particular day. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you experienced while visiting our hotel. We don't want any guest inconvenienced and rest assured that your comments will be used for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope that you would consider us again on your next travel.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    97
    67
    32
    24
See reviews for
101
96
9
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashby del la zouch, Leicestershire
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed at the Holiday Inn Express Bishop because we could not make it to San Francisco due to snow on the 395. The hotel is very clean and fresh looking, the staff were fantastic, friendly and very helpful in contacting the hotel that we could not get to that night. Thank You all so much for your help!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Nevada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

What a treat from the moment we checked in to check out. First time we have stayed in Bishop in our trips between northern NV and southern CA. We got a great dinner recommendation, along with several other choices. The general manager, Kathy, really knew the town well. The exercise room has state-of-the-art and clean equipment. The pool area is a real treat with the Gauguin-like jungle plants and animals surrounding the room. Even if you don't swim or sit in the hot tub, take a look at the pool area. You will be amused. Rooms were clean, pretty quiet; breakfast was nice.

Room Tip: Try to get on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katrina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 21, 2014

This is the place to stay. You can find cheaper but you cannot find better. We had a rough start when checking in. It could have been rougher but Kathy's (GM) tenacity did not waiver. It was not her fault in regards to the computer issues they were experiencing. She plowed through and corrected it. Im glad she was there. Thank you Kathy. See you next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigRig94568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014 via mobile

At $120, expensive for what you get. However, it was an adequate hotel. Room was older, somewhat small and dark, with some stains in the carpet. Fairly quiet. Breakfast was also adequate. I would expect more for the price but it was an acceptable stay.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HJF1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This place needs some Deep Cleaning. The carpet in my room was well, dirty. The kind of hotel you want to keep your socks on. No welcoming bottle of water, or anything, just a vending machine. Place has a odd elevator location. Non smoking hotel, yet the smokers gather near the entrances. You have to walk through the 2nd hand smoke, and ciggy butts. Like a one stand, you never want to see again. Keeping it real. Gerry.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GerryKurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trese M, Front Desk at Holiday Inn Express Bishop, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
We are sorry to hear you were not completely happy with your stay. We would like some more information if you could please email us at trese@bishopexpress.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

West Sacramento, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

I was here for business and bought the family along. The kids 7
and 10 had a blast between the indoor truly heated pool and jacuzzi and the park with ducks that you could feed next door they ran them self ragged.
Location is great we walked to all our meals except breakfast which is on site. Breakfast on site was ok, basic, but decent for free.
Staff was super nice, accommodating, and helpful.
My family had such a good time they didn't want to leave and have asked to come back and vacation in Bishop again. Thanks for everything. We will be back!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
876 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
469 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
362 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Address: 636 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bishop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is centrally located next to the Bishop City Park and features 66 fashionable, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and executive suites. Hotel features include a free Express Start Breakfast Bar offering cereals, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, toast, coffee and teas from 6.30 to 9.30 a.m. We are the only hotel in Bishop with free in-room high speed Internet access and personal voice mail with free local phone calls and the ability to earn Priority Club points that can be redeemed for fantastic merchandise, air miles or free stays in more than 3,500 hotels globally. A wide choice of rooms to suit your requirements starting from $99.00 AAA/Senior Discount, Corporate Discounts and Government Rates are also available. We take hospitality and personal service very seriously and in an endeavour to ensure that your stay with us is not only enjoyable but also the most memorable our staff are professionally trained and committed not only to meet but exceed all your expectations. Your total satisfaction is our goal and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, IHG, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bishop Hotel Bishop
Bishop Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing