We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“rundown ,not up to standards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed January 17, 2012

Ifr your expecting a HIE at the normal standards,dont look here. Rundown,filthy carpets,
older room design not like the modern style. This is a dump compared to say the HIE in Carson City I stayed at and most others I have been to. When you cross into California you really notice the overused ,overpriced quality.This state has legions of state workers who float around staying at these places at discounted rates and they wear them out. 40 million people in one state is a joke. This state will collapse with coming water shortages. Good riddance.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jerry i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (311)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

174 - 180 of 311 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed here one night on a ski trip to Mammoth. The hotel is right in the middle of Bishop. It was an easy 45 minute drive to the slopes. We had two rooms and both were large and clean. They had full queen beds, not doubles. The staff was extremely nice and helpful. We used the large hot tub and heated pool after a day of skiing which was very nice. There was also a large sauna. The breakfast was busy but there was plenty of food and space to eat. It was nice to have hot scrambled eggs, sausage, choice of cereals and oatmeal. The pancake griddle was out of order but there were enough options that it wasn't missed. The only drawback was the noise from the people above us but the hotel can't control rude behavior of others. If you are going with a group, bring your own cards or games. The breakfast area is a nice place to gather in after skiing but there isn't anything to do.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor so you don't hear the pounding of ski boots above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deidre M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

This is the most friendly and professional Hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. The management and staff here are the very accommodating. I almost don't miss home!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bertroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2011

Stayed here on the way from Mariposa to Las Vegas during my honeymoon 24th/25th June 2011. After a long drive we collected our room key and got a suite with a huge whirlpool tub in the bedroom (over the main entrance) - after a nice bath I left my wife to have a sleep and decided to do some washing - the tumble drier was broken so the staff kindly took the clothes and dried them in their own tumblers at no charge. There was a nice looking pool (we didn't have time to use) and we slept well - no issues with the air con or outside noise. The breakfast was as expected and filled us up for the trip ahead. It was the cheapest hotel we stayed in all trip but I thought provided great value for money. I can recommend Whiskey Creek for food - there was so much we brought some back and used the rooms fridge to keep it cool for the next day! I would highly recommend it for a stopover and if I do a trip like this again would not hesitate in going back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This hotel is situated in the middle of Main Street and is typical of its type. Rooms are on two floors of a long block stretching back from the road. The problem is that it has a gas station on one side of it, with its car park on the other. Sound-proofing of rooms is average. The noise levels were such that we had a poor sleep and were glad to leave early the next morning.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank grum69_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2011

Nice clean hotel situated on the main street within walking distance of restaurants. Helpful and pleasant staff at reception. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank YorksUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights over Labor Day weekend. It was sold out. The room was clean. I liked the location -the city park next door had an arts & crafts festival; the chamber of commerce is next to that; across the street is Schat's bakery which is very busy all day so you are better off to walk there than to try and park. The breakfast was the same every morning. We've been to some Holiday Inn's where they switch up one or two of the hot items for people that are staying more than one or two nights. There is a fish cleaning station in back, if needed.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank somrtravl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,071 reviews
0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
924 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
255 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
386 reviews
0 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bishop

Address: 636 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2426
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $133 - $220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bishop 2.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bishop's newest hotel, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is centrally located next to the Bishop City Park and features 66 fashionable, comfortable and tastefully decorated rooms and executive suites. Hotel features include a free Express Start Breakfast Bar offering cereals, fresh fruits, juices, pastries, toast, coffee and teas from 6.30 to 9.30 a.m. We are the only hotel in Bishop with free in-room high speed Internet access and personal voice mail with free local phone calls and the ability to earn Priority Club points that can be redeemed for fantastic merchandise, air miles or free stays in more than 3,500 hotels globally. A wide choice of rooms to suit your requirements starting from $99.00 AAA/Senior Discount, Corporate Discounts and Government Rates are also available. We take hospitality and personal service very seriously and in an endeavour to ensure that your stay with us is not only enjoyable but also the most memorable our staff are professionally trained and committed not only to meet but exceed all your expectations. Your total satisfaction is our goal and pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bishop Hotel Bishop
Bishop Holiday Inn Express
Holiday Inn Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing