We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Watch out: this hotel still uses the Rodeway brand whereas on their invoice they mention Roadway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed July 20, 2010

I've been in touch with the official Rodeway Inn customer center. They were very helpful and it turned out that the hotel in Bishop no longer has the right to use the Rodeway Inn name. That's why they use blank soap packaging instead of official Rodeway Inn soaps, they state ROADway on their blocknotes but still use Rodeway for Credit card tickets (how misleading is that), ... That's why their quality is sooo bad. Do me a favor and don't stay there. It's bad enough we had to experience it. I don't want anybody else have to experience this bad hotel quality for such a high rate (esp. during weekend time.)

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 130 reviews

Reviewed July 17, 2010

the stairs up to the second floor look straght out of a Chicago Public Housing Project. The shredding astroturf is a stylish touch. Here's the kicker: When I checked into this room2 hours ago it was HOT inside. I mean like 120 degrees hot -- so hot all the surfaces were warm -- the bed, mattress, tables, walls, counters, everything. It was like getting into a car that had been left out in the summer sun in Phoenix. I immediately put the A/C on full blast and it's still uncomfortably warm.

Rodeway Inn says they give you free local calls and some sort of lame breakfast, but this place does not even have a clock in the room

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yanni_Pannimayoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2009

On our way from Yosemite to Death Valley, which was - unluckily - on a Saturday we were "obliged" to stay in this hotel since all of the hotels in Bishop were full, including all of the other cities like Independance and Lone Pine as well. So we didn't really have a choice. The reception looked ok at first sight, but as soon as we came into the room, we realised this hotel was only worth 20 USD/night, not 120 USD/night (which is what they charged us, tax not included - even after complaining about cigarette holes in our blankets - in a NON smoking room, the man at the reception still said that this was his price).
If I can give you just one advise: If you're in the ability to avoid it, DO NOT STAY THERE! The rooms are smelly, not properly cleaned, the floor makes weird noises when you walk on it, the beds are filthly, the stairway is almost broken, breakfast isn't what I would call breakfast and the man at the reception is impolite. Of all the trips I've made to the US, this is definitely the second worst hotel I've been in, the only room that was worse, was a motel room in LA (not belonging to a hotel chain) which turned out to be a dating place for prostitutes (they only charged me 20 USD however so from that point of view, Rodeway IS the worst)

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2009

My husband and I needed a place to stay on a Friday night and this was the only place with a room. We were charged $120.00 for this dilapidated shack of a place. Everything was falling apart and it was smelly and dirty. Even the stairway was blocked by overgrown shrubs. In a word....ICK!!

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clark-Slept-Here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2009

Located just off the main road (which isn't that busy) in a quiet spot but within easy walking distance of bars, shops and restuarants.

The room was full of amenities including fridge, microwave, tea/coffee facilities and aircon. Staff were really nice, friendly and helpful.

The breakfast was also pretty good with a array of donuts, cereal and fruit. There is also a computer with free internet available in the reception.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Morewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2008

The hotel covers basic needs for a reasonable price - such as: Breakfast, outdoor pool, iron and iron board, refrigiator (in some rooms), remote control 27" TV (cable), fax, heat lamp, aircon, clock radio, ice machine, geniune non-smoking rooms (good!!) and free local calls. The service at the desk is great no matter what time of day it is. We arrived around midnight and felt welcomed at the first second. As we left the next day this was no exception. By accident, we left our car keys in the car, and the hotel was very kind to help us out: Providing interstate calls, coffee and a very pleasant atmosphere. The reason why this hotel gets 5 out of 5 stars is the service and kindness AND provides the quality-rooms you'd expect for the price (which btw is reasonable).

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jakob8700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2008

We recently satyed at the Rodeway Inn, Bishop, during a trip around California. We stayed in 7 different hotels on our journey, and I can definately say that the Rodeway Inn was not only the worst hotel of the trip, but the worst hotel we have EVER stayed in!

For a start, the floor was filthy. I had white socks on, and after only a few minutes of walking around the room, the bottom of my socks were black!

Also, the air conditioning unit was so noisy, we couldn't bear it, and had to turn it off! However, the room heated up very quickly, like a greenhouse, and without the air conditioning on, we would have cooked! So, we turned the unit back on, only to find, to our annoyance that the air given out smelled disgusting! We had to chose between the noise and the smell, and the unbearable heat of summer!

The bathroom was dirty, and the taps dripped. There were cigarette burns around the toilet seat!

The next morning, we went to the reception to collect our complimentary continental breakfast, which had been specified on the website, to find a couple mouldy muffins in a box, and some cold coffee in a rusty machine!

We are returning to California again this year, but we will not be staying in that hotel, or any others by the same company, ever again!

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgia7893
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
924 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,071 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
386 reviews
0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Red Roof Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Bishop

Address: 150 E Elm St, Bishop, CA 93514-2424 (Formerly Econo Lodge Bishop)
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $88 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The pet-friendly 100% smoke-free Red Roof Inn Bishop is located on US-395 and is located close to many local attractions. Whiskey Creek, Erick Schat's Bakery, Bishop City Park, and the Tri-County Fairgrounds are all located within one mile of the hotel. Other attractions nearby include Eastern Sierra Regional Airport, Laws Railroad Museum, Inyo National Forest, and Keough Hot Springs. Bristlecone Pine Forest and Mammoth Mountain are both located within an hour drive of the hotel as well. All guestrooms are 100% smoke-free and include free WiFi and flat-screen TV. Also included in all rooms are microwave & refrigerator, hair dryer, and in-room coffee. Superior King rooms also include iron & ironing board, and select rooms have Jacuzzi tub. Free continental breakfast is offered daily from 6-9 am, and free coffee & tea are available all day in the lobby. An outdoor seasonal pool is available to enjoy May - October (weather permitting). One well-behaved family pet is welcome per guest room. Come check out all the hospitality the Red Roof Inn Bishop has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Red Roof Inn, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Red Roof Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Hotel Bishop
Rodeway Inn Bishop
Bishop Rodeway Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing