We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location for visiting the eastern Sierras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Best Western Bishop Lodge
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Ottawa, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
467 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
“A good location for visiting the eastern Sierras”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is a older two-story motel building. Some of the rooms are a bit dark because the exterior corridor is partly enclosed.
The rooms are in good condition and they are very clean. The Wi-Fi is a bit flaky, but that could be because our room was far from the office.
Breakfast was a good buffet.
Bishop is a good spot for exploring the mountains and for trout fishing. You can easily reach Mono Lake and Bodie Ghost Town. There seem to be various arts festivals in the area, too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rondi3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the breakfast and your stay in Bishop, CA. We hope to see you again during your next trip.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    275
    158
    51
    29
See reviews for
214
285
42
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plano, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I hope for your sake Eric will not be at the front desk when you get there. SLOWWWWW service as he wasthoroughly confused when a couple asked for enough quarters, soap, and softner to do two loads of laundry. 8 quarters took 20 minutes becasue he was looking for $8 worth of quarters.

Rooms were clean and comfortable. Internet speeds were good as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding our staff. We are always lookking for ways to improve and appreciate you sharing your experience. We hope that you can stay with us again the next time you are in Bishop, CA.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cypress, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

I'll start with the only negative - no elevator. Now, all the good stuff. The room was excellent. It was large, clean, quiet, and everthing else a med priced room should and could be. We travel about 30 days a year and wish they were all like this. I recommend this place to everyone.

Room Tip: Bottom floor if you have a lot of luggage - no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MGlide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for your compliments regarding the large, clean, and quiet room. I'm sorry we do not have an elevator for the second floor rooms, but we always try to put requests for downstair rooms in when they are made in advance. Thank you again and we hope to see you on your next trip to Bishop, CA.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugeley
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Making our way north we used this as a stop over. It was expensive for the accomodation. The room was very dark even on a very sunny mid September day. The room itself was on the large side. But the refrigerator was tiny and on the floor, which made access to it difficult. Breakfast was a joke. By 8.30 when we arrived there were no yogourt, waffles were being made elsewhere, quartered, then put into the heated cabinet. The breakfast room was too small for the people using the facility, queuing for tables was inevitable. We will definately not be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you very much for the feedback regarding the continental breakfast and the rates. Our rates our lower than and more competitively priced than other hotels in Bishop, CA that offer less amenities and we also have a full hot breakfast. We will be expanding the breakfast room within the next month and we hope that you can return to see the changes.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlsbad, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Very surpized at this hotel, Was not expecting such a great place. Came from Napa at a pricey Best Western Plus which dissapointed us., This Hotel was awesome, great people, welcome water for diamond members, great upgrade. Beautiful room !!! Will stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stevi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and property. We will make sure to show your review to all our staff. We hope to see you again the next time you drive through Bishop, CA.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had to initial the form that promises we won't smoke in our room (or we pay a fee), yet the room reeked of cigarette smoke. The internet was so awful we finally gave up. The room is quite cramped. I can't imagine we'll return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PATTY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your room. We do have a strict non-smoking policy and we appreciate you bringing your experience to our attention. We hope next time you can let us know as soon as you get in the room as we like to take care of all of our guests while they are on the property so they can enjoy their entire stay. We will also be working on improving the internet over the next month. We hope you can return to have a better stay.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Arrived 22:30 and the whole town was closed on a Friday night. The presentation of the hotel in not perfectly fresh and in fact looks a little tired but the room was spacious and clean. The pool is small and next to the carpark which doesn't seem to have as many spaces as the hotel has rooms.
The hotel occupies its plot fully but hasn't made any outside green space that we could see.
The reception staff (Sandra) was particularly helpful in helping us find good local services.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolineRayR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holidayspa, Manager at Best Western Bishop Lodge, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for your comments regarding the staff and we appreciate your comments regarding adding more green space. You are correct about the use of our parking lot to maximize parking which makes it difficult to add more green space. We appreciate any suggestions you have have regarding the addition of more green pace without taking away from the parking. Thank you again and we hope to see you again the next time you visit Bishop, CA.

Sincerely,

Joseph Cabral
Property Supervisor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
880 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.4 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
0.8 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Bishop Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Bishop Lodge

Property: Best Western Bishop Lodge
Address: 1025 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Bishop Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Bishop Holiday Spa Lodge! Choose this Bishop hotel and delight in being near fishing, Mule Days and Los Angeles Department of Water and Power while enjoying many amenities. Whether you're here on business or for a leisurely trip, there's so much to do in this peaceful, charming community that's less than three hours away from Mammoth Lakes, Yosemite National Park, Death Valley and the soaring Sierra Nevada. Looking to enjoy the stunning scenery closer to town? Bishop Creek Recreational Area, Crowley Lake and Ski Mammoth are all within less than 40 miles of this delightful Bishop hotel, allowing you to enjoy fishing, hunting, hiking and skiing during your stay. Experience the local charm at many area events, including the high school rodeo, a local car show, Mule Days, Bishop Pow Wow and the Tri-County Fair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Best Western, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Best Western Bishop Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Bishop Holiday Hotel Bishop
Bishop Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing