We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good RV Park - good base camp” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Highlands RV Park

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bishop
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Highlands RV Park
Save
You added Highlands RV Park to your Saves list
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bishop
Apple Valley, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good RV Park - good base camp”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

We stay here every year. We use as a base camp for our vacation in Bishop area. Perfect if you have a tow vehicle, or just passing through. Good RV Park in north part of Bishop, with two good diners across the street, Fly Fishing shop, an Antique store and other shops next door, a small plaza with auto parts store and another restaurant and gas station and tire store 2 blocks away. Small Casino within walking distance. The tire store was perfect one year when we lost a tire on the tow vehicle and got a good deal on a new set of tires! 1 mile away from main part of Bishop with K-mart and supermarket. WIFI was fine for Web access and e-mail, but not super fast for streaming videos. Lots of trees, so couldn't get a satellite signal, but they do have a cable TV hookup. Nice grassy dog walk area with stream running through it. Good covered Fish cleaning station. Well maintained park. Very good rates. Yes office closes at 5PM. No camp store, pool or kids play area, if that is what you need.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bryce K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    15
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
8
14
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Elverta, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We travel with our laptops so we can plan our trip and make reservations as we go, plus I need to check my work e-mail to coordinate things while I'm away. So we rely on RV parks that have WiFi, and when they say it's available we believe them. Maybe not blinding fast, but at least available. We were told there were two hotspot access points when registering, front and back. After finding only one and that one so slow that we timed out connecting, I went to the office to find out what's going on. Turns out that "he" had taken the back hotspot to work on it, so that one was not available and our space was too far away from the front one to have a connection that was worth anything. That meant I had to sit outside the office (it closed at 5:00) in 100 degree heat to get a decent connection. Completely unacceptable.

When we wanted to check out the bathrooms, we found a number lock on the doors. Only after we had left and I pulled out the park map did I find a "Restroom #" written in the bottom corner. I suppose had the woman checking us in pointed it out we would have been able to use the showers, but as it was we left as soon as we could the next morning. Which wasn't difficult because of the wake-up at 5:30 am from campers the next row over.

It does have a nice, grassy dog walk area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twentynine Palms, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We must begin by saying that the location and many shade trees were a treat. But they could not make up for the poor service, less than clean restrooms and circus nighttime atmosphere. There are so many bright lights at night it is difficult to get to sleep. The restrooms are outdated and in need of a deep cleaning. However, it was the rude comments made both before and after pumping propane into our Airstream B van that has prompted us into writing this review. The man working at the reception desk indicated that he didn't want to be bothered servicing a "van". When he finished he said and we quote - "That is so hard to get to on those vans. If you come back here again, don't expect to get propane." Needless to say, we won't be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank sude66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Location is very good - 1 mile west of Bishop main street. Spaces are slightly close to each other but it didn't feel too crowded. All hookups worked very well and are well laid out. Wifi internet also worked well and consistently (a nice change from a lot of other RV parks). There is a fair bit of shade throughout the campground. Very nice dog walk area. Did not notice any traffic noise even though the park is conveniently located next to 395. Check-in was very easy and smooth but no discounts whatsoever. Owners were very friendly.

Room Tip: If you need to be away from your site after 5pm, be sure to pull the picnic table across the site as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank ckyip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Three Rivers, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

Our son competes in the California high school rodeo and the state finals are held in Bishop. The first year (2007) we found this park online; it's clean, friendly and just far enough off the main road. It's all asphalt, the spaces are large, there is enough room for our big trailer to get through the park and they have a nice grass area by a running stream. Because of our first experience, we've stayed here every year since. I've already reserved a space for this June!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Melissa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
94533
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2008

Visiting many RV parks in several years of RV travel I rate this Park high in all categories . It is well maintained and a perfect stop over point for especially The Fall Foliage Tour , The Great City of Bishop, and is located in the center of great destinations both South or North on U.S. 395. Thanks you folks for being there and making this vacation one of the best ever. Herb Neddermeyer.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank HerbN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
So. Utah
Level Contributor
162 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2008

Going to and from Oregon from Southern Utah we stayed one night each way at this R. V. Park. We found that this was a very nice and clean park. All facilities were in tip top shape.
We will be staying at the Highland Park when we travel through again..

Stayed September 2008
Helpful?
5 Thank spots51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
1.9 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
1.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 385 reviews
2.1 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 164 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 215 reviews
1.8 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#15 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 stars 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highlands RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highlands RV Park

Property: Highlands RV Park
Address: North Sierra Highway, Bishop, CA
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 Specialty Lodging in Bishop
Number of rooms: 103
Also Known As:
Highlands Rv Park Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing