We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No AC/No hot water” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No AC/No hot water”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014 via mobile

After road tripping California for two weeks this was a lousy way to end the trip. No hot water & no AC. Owner offered a $10 discount on the room after we already took cold showers. She would not refund money and offered us a different room. We've stayed at several America's Best Value Inn's before but this franchisee clearly leaves something to be desired.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank JessinFlag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your comments. I’m sorry that there was a maintenance issue with your room, and I’m pleased to hear that we were able to resolve this for you by moving you to another room, meaning that no refund was necessary and you were able to complete your stay. The discount was by way of an apology for your minor inconvenience. We satisfy most guests, and I’m terribly sorry that our efforts did not satisfy you.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    22
    33
    18
    20
See reviews for
20
46
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
116 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Undergoing upgrading construction at present of an older motel. Notwithstanding that we spent
three quiet, restful weekend nights here. Yes, it did show its wear, but will be upgraded soon.
Manager and wife were very helpful. Quiet, off the main street location but yet close enough to
walk to restaurants. We look for secure, quiet, clean and reasonably priced rooms and this
motel fits the bill.

Room Tip: Upstairs, in the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hplunkett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thanks for your kind comments. We are indeed making changes to the property to make it an even nicer experience for guests like you. I’m glad you were satisfied with our great location and clean, comfortable, quiet rooms. That experience will only improve as we complete our renovations. Thanks again for staying with us, and I’m sorry you couldn’t be here to see the upgrades and remodeling complete.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

The room is a good size with a little kitchenette and an ensuite shower. The building is quite old and the towels were off White with age and wear. Definitely need replacing.

The breakfast was quite good including corn flakes with milk, crunchy red apples, fresh muffins, and orange juice. The breakfast is placed in the very small office so u can eat while standing there or take yr serves to the room.

The bed was comfortably firm with adequate linen and a light duvet.

The inn is located on Short street which is off Main Street in the town centre. We spent 40 min looking for the inn as the GPS directed us to another short street within the neighbourhood-quite frustrating.

Well located very close to the eastern sierras.
Dine at BBQ Bills on the Main Street - 5 min walk from the inn-great service, great food.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jetset700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This is obviously a economic choice, a motor lodge sort of motel for the value-minded customer. It was the cheapest room I could find in Bishop, and I knew we were only going to be there long enough to sleep and get back on the road, so I took the chance. The owner called me while I was on the road to see if I was still coming because it was midnight. She was very sweet and said she'd turn on the heat in our room to warm it up for us. Her warm welcome made us instantly at ease.

The room was not fancy of course but it wasn't run down or unclean. We slept fine and the shower was strong and super new/clean. There was plenty of space and a good tv.

Continental breakfast was included with donut holes, cookies, toast, etc.

Free parking and free wifi.

When we checked out the owner was super friendly again.

Glad I didn't pay more for a "nicer" hotel when I was just passing through. I saved money for the final destination!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank butfoodcomesfirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed in #105 for around $55 (w/AAA discount) for one night--you can't beat the price! The room was decorated with light green theme. It was clean and was actually a true "non-smoking room" (many older motels like this say non-smoking, but you can still smell the smoke from decades of being a dive motel; this was not the case here). It had a microwave, refrigerator, coffe maker, cable TV. Sheets were very soft plaid, so it felt a bit 'homey'. Bathroom was clean and newly remodeled, except the old mis-matched towels creeped me out. Owners + check-in & out experience was friendly. Breakfast in morning was a nice touch, but I slept through it so I don't know about the quality.....but hey, what more do you want besides a clean bed & hot shower? Overall, a pleasant experience and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

What can I say. A bad experience. A/C didn't work, flying insects in the room, bathroom ceiling leaked water, coke machine non-op for dollar bills.

This establishment has all the looks of a bad owner operator.

Stay somewhere else in Bishop.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justabmwnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the ABVI Bishop CA during your last visit.

We have referred your review and appreciate your observations.

We shall take it seriously and wholeheartedly for improvement.

We have carefully checked the points like the ceiling leakage, AC, insects and also all other amenities.

Please note that we have checked and improved upon all the observations and you can be assured of a better stay next time.

Please do consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

During our one night stay, we made a few informational visits (for wireless connection, coffee creamer, and bath tub, etc.) to the office in courteous manner, and consumed at most 5 minutes of their time. Shortly after these visits, the hotel staff called our room, telling us that we had made a lot of troubles, and that if we weren’t happy we should go elsewhere. We were shocked and told them that it was rude to treat their guests in such a manner. They proceeded to rage at us, and even used words like “get out,” threatening to call the police. We therefore went to the office again and demanded an apology. They made no response. At midnight, they suddenly called our room again. Such a call is extremely aggressive and rude. From any perspective, this behavior is absolutely intolerable!

In our experience of travel all over the world, hotel staff are always delightful in providing information to their guests. During our one night stay at this hotel, however, we were treated in such an uncivilized way for perfectly acceptable requests for information. This was the first time we have been to an ABV Inn and we don’t think there will be a second.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jongleur9418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Comfort Inn, Tulsa.

We noted your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused howsoever.

We have investigated the issue and we have never come across such a complaint earlier, but your review is serious to us.

We have ensured that such a report never comes again from any guest and the hotel staff behaves in the most guest friendly manner.

You can have a comfortable and secure stay next time. Trust us and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,465 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#10 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514-3538
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing