We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Worst experience” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst experience”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

During our one night stay, we made a few informational visits (for wireless connection, coffee creamer, and bath tub, etc.) to the office in courteous manner, and consumed at most 5 minutes of their time. Shortly after these visits, the hotel staff called our room, telling us that we had made a lot of troubles, and that if we weren’t happy we should go elsewhere. We were shocked and told them that it was rude to treat their guests in such a manner. They proceeded to rage at us, and even used words like “get out,” threatening to call the police. We therefore went to the office again and demanded an apology. They made no response. At midnight, they suddenly called our room again. Such a call is extremely aggressive and rude. From any perspective, this behavior is absolutely intolerable!

In our experience of travel all over the world, hotel staff are always delightful in providing information to their guests. During our one night stay at this hotel, however, we were treated in such an uncivilized way for perfectly acceptable requests for information. This was the first time we have been to an ABV Inn and we don’t think there will be a second.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jongleur9418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,

Thanks for staying at the Comfort Inn, Tulsa.

We noted your review and apologize for the inconvenience caused howsoever.

We have investigated the issue and we have never come across such a complaint earlier, but your review is serious to us.

We have ensured that such a report never comes again from any guest and the hotel staff behaves in the most guest friendly manner.

You can have a comfortable and secure stay next time. Trust us and visit us again.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    21
    30
    16
    17
See reviews for
19
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
MANNHEIM
Level Contributor
157 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Bishop is a pricey location, so I had to leave other better known chains out of consideration and settled for this one. Of course it is an old small place, but the reception was friendly, even cheerful, check-in went smoothly, the lady was very helpful with suggestions where to eat. The rooms were the usual motel-style, a bit worn, but really clean and the linens were ironed and smelled fresh. WiFi worked great, breakfast was rather on the usual continental side - but for the price of the room it was a very good return we got. Thumbs up! I will return.
By the way the pool is very nice.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VolkerS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here inbetween driving from death valley and Yosemite. As a cheap stopover it's fine. The room was a decent size, restaurants close by, free wifi and generally quite comfortable. We weren't expecting luxury so it suited us fine. Our room and bedding was clean. My only issues were - the breakfast is not great & the pool looked a bit dirty.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty1103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for staying at the ABVI, Bishop CA.

We appreciate your review and observations which will definitely help us to improve.

We are thankful for putting the good things as well as the improvement points straight.

We have definitely acted on improving the breakfast and also to keep the pool clean.

We would love to see you again at our hotel and we will definitely give you a nice experience.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

absolutely filthy place!
Blood stained bed sheets .. stained chair, grey towels (had they been washed in the last couple of weeks or were there used for wiping the floor before ? unclear)..
it is amazing that this filthy place got a license to operate. You better sleep in you car than sleep there!
So basically, either skip Bishop altogether from the agenda or search for the next place (we stayed a the best western in Alabama..)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smart_and_select
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for choosing us for your recent stay and the review.

We definitely appreciate every kind of criticism and suggestions about our hotel.

In fact, it’s one of the only ways we can improve.

We have addressed to your observations like bed sheets, towels and also the amenities in the best possible manner and would like you to stay us again.

We are confident that you will find an all new experience with us and would choose us for the next stay while you visit our area.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bishop hotels

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

We were passing through on the way to Vegas and only stayed in Bishop overnight. The price was great for a king room, free wifi a bonus. Great for what we were after. Recommend.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level Contributor
376 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We presented a coupon at 2:30 p.m. in the afternoon before most other travelers checked in. Desk clerk said they had no room at coupon price and offered more expensive room. We looked in a open room before entering office. Room looked dingy and old. We passed and moved down the road a block to the Super 8.

Room Tip: Always use a coupon from a coupon book or online app. Always ask to see the room before committing...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank George_and_Veronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abvibishopca, Webmaster at Americas Best Value Inn Bishop, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for the review.

We investigated the issue and have taken appropriate steps.

You are always welcome to stay with us and we will offer you the best hospitality.

Sincerely,
Hotel Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

This hotel is off the main drag so traffic noise is not a problem. The facility is old but newly renovated. My blanket hems were worn to the point of falling off but other wise clean and comfortable. The continental breakfast is a joke. The eating area is the lobby which is big enough for three people to stand in while at the front desk, forget eating there unless you want to get hit by the door or someone checking out at the counter. The managesr's answer, "take it to your room."

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 708 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#9 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 353 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 stars 202 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trees Motel
The Trees Motel
#5 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 stars 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Americas Best Value Inn Bishop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Americas Best Value Inn Bishop

Property: Americas Best Value Inn Bishop
Address: 192 Short St, Bishop, CA 93514-3538
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Americas Best Value Inn Bishop 2*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in beautiful downtown Bishop, California. Bishop is known as the "Mule Capital of the World" and hosts a week-long festival called "Mule Days" that has been held annually since 1969 during the week of Memorial Day, celebrating the contributions of pack mules in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Orbitz so you can book your Americas Best Value Inn Bishop reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing