We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bishop Village Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bishop Village Motel
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great little motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

Bishop is the kind of place where a small clean little independent motel fits the bill perfectly. There are no large hotels, and the chain motels are all along the main drag, which is also the highway. We tried the Trees, which looks appealing, but they were full, and so we went looking for another place on a suitable side street.

Luckily we found The Village Motel, which is just one block off the main street, and therefore several blocks closer than The Trees, and yet still very quiet. We found the bed comfortable, the bathroom clean and with great pressure in the shower, and the person who checked us in gave us a handwritten 10% discount coupon at the nearby Whiskey River restaurant. We'll be back to Bishop, and most likely will stay at The Village Motel again.

  • Liked — cheap, clean and great location
  • Disliked — old, loud A/C system
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank bdwelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

132 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    36
    11
    11
    11
See reviews for
32
48
22
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
LOS ANGELES, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2008

Don’t even know where to start. Room smells, refrigerator didn’t work properly (when try to complain-they said it’s a brand new one-like it was going to make the problem to go away). No shampoo ($100 a night!!). 2 queen size beds?!it is a joke!!WIFI?! Are you kidding me? Nothing in the kitchen (no plates, silverware or anything else). BBQ by our unit didn’t work (they said it is out of gas--$100 a night, and out of gas?!!) so we had to go all the way around and use one that is right on the street. Suddenly water sprinklers start working--we had to run while our bbq was burning...with all that we hardly complained. And now is the most ridiculous thing-we are packing and loading the car to leave when he (manager or the owner) showed up and said he is charging us for an extra day!!! it was 11am and we were leaving-even 5 star hotels like Bellagio, or Marriott will give you extended check out time without you even asking for it and here we are being charged for this horrible place because we didn’t turn the key at exactly 11am but few minutes later?!!! Are we still in America or somewhere else where being robbed by the motel owners is a normal thing?!! BEAWARE!!! We just filed the dispute with the credit card company and are willing to go all the way to the court--this is unacceptable!!!ADVERTISING AGREEMENT

  • Liked — nothing!! stuff was very rude!!
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Armoosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrigan, owner at Bishop Village Motel, responded to this review, August 6, 2008
this particular customer stayed with us 2 full days, and did not check out until 1 pm. , on his third day stay. our check out time is 10 a.m. we allow an extra hour for late check- outs. this customer was not in his room all morning, and his things were still in his room at 12:45 when the maids came by to clean. we actually thought he was staying another day. if he did not like his room so much, why did he stay so long? because he stayed three hours past check out he was charged. i am sorry if he is upset . our check out time and policies are clearly stated in our rooms, and on his reservation folio that he signed. all our kitchens are fully stocked with everything you might need. dishes, pots, pans, everything. all our refrigerators are new, you do have to turn them on for them to work!! i understand this customer kept entering the wrong password for the free wifi. we have had no problems all with our high speed internet. we are rated one of the nicest ,cleanest, motels in bishop ca. by our chamber of commerce. we have many repeat , happy customers who love our managers. we receive many compliments.we offer many amentites ,at half of what main street charges. regards, the bishop village motel owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anaheim, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2007

We have stayed here twice this year (late spring/early fall '07), and in years past. It is everything we expected. An older, travellers' motor lodge. It has all the necessities... fridge/cable in the little units, and small kitchenettes/cable in the larger ones. Unit 1-9 are great for motorcyclists with door-front parking. #2 (1bd/fridge) is great for overniters, or #6 (1bd/kitchenette) if you stay in the area a few days. The owners have ALWAYS been MOST accommodating. Everything worked, everything was clean & rates are reasonable. Don't come here thinkin' you're gettin' a Best Western... no internet access or continental breakfast. But, it's better than ANY Motel 6 we've stayed in, as we prefer older, retro-style motor lodges for our road trips, & this one fits the bill. We have never been disturbed by local street noise. Only a block off US395, it is close to everything on the main drag. They have a great lookin' pool we haven't been in (but it's there), and a gas grill available for anyone to use. We recommend this place to all our friends & family traveling through Bishop. Indeed, I hope the Bishop Village Motel remains "Bishop's Best Kept Secret", so we get the room we want when we visit again!

  • Liked — being able to see the bike, right outside the door
  • Disliked — we have yet to find something not to like
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rail Fans T&K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
91504
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2007

looks like a bunch of complainers reviews. we have been staying here for years on our way to Reno. never payed $100 per night. we watched it grow with improvements every time. new TV, microwaves, refrig, coffee maker etc. the units with the kitchens are neat. always clean and the new staff are always ready to help. nice and quiet and walk to everything, centrally located. try the prime rib sandwich at wild bills bar BQ, or authentic mexican food at la palma. all for under $10.

Stayed November 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank barrynr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
anchorage
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2007

It isn't fancy but for less than 70 dollars a night, with a clean pool and close access to everything ( laundermat, restaurants, etc all within 2 blocks) I don't see how you can beat this deal. The room was clean as were the premises. I'd stay again.

  • Liked — pool
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank deeter01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2007

This place does not live up to its advertising. Please keep looking. You will find something better and probably less expensive. We were supposed to get a room with two queen beds, but the is no way that the beds were actually queens. There was no shampoo or a hair dryer, items I consider standard in rooms over $100 a night. This place is old and in need of an upgrade. The swamp cooler noise was deafening. The refrigerator ran all night and sounded like it was dripping water.

When my kids' cousins came to swim with us, we were told by the beer-drinking manager that their insurance does not allow anyone but registered guests in the pool. So, we had to go to the pool at my sister's hotel, a block away. Then at 1 am, we had to close the window due to loud swimmers in the pool that closed at 10pm. There are plenty of hotels and motels in Bishop. You don’t need to stay at the Bishop Village Motel.

  • Liked — clean pool
  • Disliked — beds
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank droraback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerrigan, owner at Bishop Village Motel, responded to this review, August 12, 2007
It is disappointing to hear when a customer is not satisfied with their experience at out motel. We always receive so much positive feedback!! For instance, the article in the May 2007 issue of Sierra View. The owners of this magazine stayed with us ,and wrote a beautiful article about our motel, rating us the "best kept secret in the sierra's!! " we are also rated the "nicest motel" in Bishop Ca. by our own Chamber of Commerce, our motel is recommended by them all the time. The Bishop Village Motel is clean, quiet,and has newly upgraded rooms, with many amenities. All our rooms, except our suites, are $89.00 and under. We charge half of what main street charges! Return customers come from all over just to visit with our managers who offer down home country charm, they even cooks for our customers!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, WA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2007

Older motel but it was clean and very quiet. The rooms are small so you have to work around your luggage. No internet access but a coffee shop a couple of blocks away has access. With the warm weather the shaded porches with benches were nice to have for sitting outside. Because it is a unique older motel that is quiet and clean, we would stay again if in Bishop.

  • Liked — Well kept and quiet older motel.
  • Disliked — Room was crowded
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisAndSigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.0 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bishop Village Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bishop Village Motel

Property: Bishop Village Motel
Address: 286 W Elm St, One Block West of Mcdonalds, Bishop, CA 93514-2606
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bishop Village Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Bishop Village Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bishop Village Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing