We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away Bed Bug Infestation”
Review of Cielo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cielo Hotel
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed August 11, 2009

Stay well away from this hotel. They have a bed bug infestation. After a three night stay I came away with over 30 bed bug bites. I have reported it to the County Environmental Health. So far the hotel has not returned any calls.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank noman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

278 - 284 of 327 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2009

We stayed at La Quinta passing through on our way to Mammoth Lakes. The room was quiet and clean but small. Breakfast was very good...I loved the make your own waffles. We stayed with our small dog and there was no extra fee for him which was nice.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lemeSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2009

Tried to cancel reservations because I had a severly sick child at 2:00 pm the day of arrival was told to cancel through the website I had made them through, by Pablo the front desk person. He stated I had to do it through the web site I found a starbucks and logged in to cancel the reservation, the site said I had to do the cancellation the night before but that they would call the hotel and if it was okay with them they would cancel no problem. Pablo the front desk person said no way so we showed up at the hotel to explain our situation he said there was nothing he could do I called the corporate office and was put on hold while they called Pablo, I overheard the conversation in which Pablo said ok, allright. Then corporate got back on and said Pablo said call back on Monday and try to get a refund.
Unbelievable in this day with the economy the way it is, I am waiting for La Quinta to make this right, if not I will never stay at La Quinta again and will continue to share my story all over the internet.
We ended up continuing on the road to get our daughter to a urgent care and home. Pablo and La Quinta should not be trusted as a family establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ririj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lq6046gm, front office manager at Cielo Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 11, 2009

We have in the past made exceptions to the cancellation policy which was clearly stated to the guest both at the property and through the website in which she booked. However guest from very beggining was threatening the staff, shouting in the lobby and overall very aggresive. We do not tolerate that type of behaivor and will not work with someone who is not willing to understand the commitement he/she makes when they make a reservation and try to cancel same day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2009

There were ants in the room and a CATEPILLAR in the bed when the comforter was pulled back! Disgusting hair all over the blanket under the comforter. Spots on supposedly clean towels. Cleanliness ZERO! Neighbors blasted TV all through the night with dog barking throughout the night. Terrible night of sleep. At least service brought replacement towels fast and breakfast is decent. But overall cleanliness makes this a NEVER AGAIN experience. Unacceptable cleanliness factor - would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clevr2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2009

This is one of the worst hotels I've stayed in. I can't believe this is considered a 2* hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TayTay90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2009

Average motel and facilities - no frills. Very comfy bed and clean room.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bugsbunny1uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2009

I stayed in this building a couple of times in the late 1990s when it was the Outdoorsman Lodge. It was nice enough then, though unpretentious. However, it became a La Quinta a couple of years ago and is ever so much better than the old place.

We had a ground-floor room, which made us nervous because cars parked right outside our window, but it was very well-insulated for sound and we never heard a thing. We slept like babies in the ultra-comfortable bed. The bathroom was a bit tight, but that's minor, as was the breakfast spread, which was a little sparse. However, the management allows dogs, a big selling point for us. It was all very reasonably priced -- only about $70 with tax.

Bishop is also an incredibly clean high-desert town with some very good restaurant choices. You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elpredicto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.1 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,077 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
255 reviews
0.1 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#9 of 20 in Bishop
131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cielo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cielo Hotel

Address: 651 N Main St, Bishop, CA 93514-2425 (Formerly Bishop - Mammoth Lakes)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $108 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cielo Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Cielo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Bishop-Mammoth Lakes Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Hotel Bishop
La Quinta Bishop
Bishop La Quinta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing