We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite getting the fascination with this place.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Erick Schat's Bakkery

Erick Schat's Bakkery
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Dutch, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Costa Mesa, California
Level Contributor
133 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Not quite getting the fascination with this place.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This place is always super busy when we come to Bishop. I finally stopped in, it was so crowded! I bought some pastries and of course the bread! I was surpised that they were just okay. Not excellent like I thought due to the crowds!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Monby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    704
    301
    81
    26
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Bakery!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in Bishop for several days. We started our day visiting the bakery, which was the highlight of the morning. Everything tastes as good as it looks and as good as the bakery smells. Our children enjoyed Gelato for breakfast - the vanilla and chocolate chip were terrific.
The churros were superb as was the very sourdough bread. The fritters, french bread and apple pull apart were not as good - the fritters were a little doughy and the french bread and apple pull apart was a little dry.
The m&m cookies were great and the lace cookies were delicious. The fresh squeezed orange juice was fantastic.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RichmondTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SooooCal
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Bread to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

Forget kid in a candy store. I want to be an traveler stopping at Erick Schat's on the trip down the 395. Racks and racks of bread and pastries about six feet high. Make sure to stop first at the Day Old room, and then look for whatever amazing things they have. We saw hot cross buns and Easter breads given the time of year, but the pull aparts and the sour doughs are awesome.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank halobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
97 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best Gelato in California”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

It's impossible to drive by Schat's without stopping. They serve the best food available until arriving back in Los Angeles. The gelato tastes just like it does in Florence, Italy! The sandwiches are made to order with the freshest ingredients. Of course, there is always a long line. The baked goods taste better than homemade. The fresh squeezed orange juice tastes better than fresh squeezed orange juice. I can go on and on. You will not be disappointed. This is a must on the way to and from Mammoth Lakes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 23Feb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clarita, California
2 reviews
“Can't pass by Erick Schat's without visiting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

Simply the best baked goods in our universe! Had a breakfast bagel in the morning on our way to Mammoth, then one of their award winning sandwiches on our way home for lunch... The strawberry eclair is to die for!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bruce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Erick Schat's Bakkery also viewed

 

Been to Erick Schat's Bakkery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing