We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old time charm!”
Review of The Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Trees Motel
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Apple Valley, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Old time charm!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

I loved this place! Clean.....Quiet.......VERY NICE STAFF!!!
It's an older property but well kept. We stayed in an kitchenette room.....very clean up to date with new paint, flooring.....just right for my son and I! It's off the main road (395). Bed's were very comfortable and the room smelled very lean and fresh! I will be back! The FREE fish cleaning station and use of the freezer were an added bonus!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ed H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    67
    44
    17
    14
See reviews for
54
75
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We are a family of 5, 2 adults & 3 kids, and on a budget. Yet, we like clean, nice, stylish hotels. The Trees Motel is perfect. It's clean clean clean. 60s style, but nicely outfitted with new linens, paint job, fixtures. It combines the cool style of another decade with the fresh updates of today. It is quiet and surrounded by trees. The staff is very friendly. The price was perfect. As a comparison, we stayed at the Mountain View once and were not pleased at all, also paid a little more. I highly recommend the Trees Motel!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Idaho
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

The Trees Motel was a welcome refuge after a day full of driving. It was easy to find, clean and felt safe. The rooms, while clearly in a motel built decades ago, had been renovated and clean, crisp linens covered the bed. The room smelled fresh and clean upon entering, and while small, we had plenty of space for our luggage. The walls are thin, and we could clearly hear our neighbors, but the place grew quiet around ten and stayed that way until about seven the next morning. The front desk clerk/owner was welcoming and friendly when we arrived, and we would definitely stay again. Expect a dated, but clean and welcoming environment with a price that can't be beat.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buslover80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2014

It looks like a throwback roadside motel -small, one story units around a central plaza and parking area. It's off the main road by about 7 blocks and there ARE trees around the surrounding properties. Inside, it is as cute as can be. Nice nice linens, what looks like restoration hardware fixtures in the bathroom, a knotty pine wall (!!) , nice soft colours, a ceiling fan, coffee maker, airconditioning and heater, small fridge, microwave, flat screen TV, wifi, hair dryer, etc, etc. all what you would need for an overnight or few days in Bishop. Also, it feels like you are not in some soul-less motel complex. People say howdee - where are you from, where are you going? So clean too, and very reasonably priced. I can't see anything not to like -well, one thing, actually: wouldn't it be great if they provided really good coffee like Peets? Heard there was a good coffee place on main street - Black sheep. Someone mentioned noise but I found it as quiet as could be and we were pretty close to the road. I guess some people will never be satisfied. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Stayed for a night after driving by several months earlier and thinking it looked like a nice place. Our single queen room was a lot better than what is described in some of these reviews, so the hotel must be renovating room by room. Ours had nice furnishings along with new bathroom counter, etc. Not a complete remodel, but I'm sure much better than what was there previously. Outside there is what looks like a nice BBQ area to use in warmer weather.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sukhoi_584th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Great staff, very clean, and a good value. I wouldn't say it's run down but it is dated. And, as one reviewer already pointed out, the walls are paper-thin. It is not fun to hear the neighbors all night long. :-(

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtualfruitcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak View, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2013

My wife and I finally had the opportunity to stay at the Trees Motel. The past trips it has always been filled up, now we know why. We were able to book the last room and got a great rate. We had a very comfortable bed, loved having the kitchen area and enjoyed the friendly, helpful folks as well as loved the outdoor atmosphere with folks barbecuing and kids playing in the outdoor area. Great little motel, great value and we'll be back!!

Room Tip: We were in Room 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianFA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.6 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 179 reviews
1.0 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trees Motel

Property: The Trees Motel
Address: 796 W Line St, Bishop, CA 93514-3317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trees Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trees Hotel Bishop
Trees Motel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing