We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy in, easy out”
Review of The Trees Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Trees Motel
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I come to the Eastern Sierra every summer to backpack. Drive from San Diego. Stay overnight in town. Get up early and start hiking. The Trees Motel is one of a series of great non-chain motels in the region (Lone Pine, Independence, Bishop). If you don't need frills just a clean comfortable place for a night or two, this place is perfect.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (218)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 218 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2013

Very nice arrival and friendly check-in to Room 7.

Good size room with kitchen, including fridge, microwave, pots and pans, kitchen counter with two stools and even an electric cooktop. Very cute, not really outdated. A/C worked, good TV and the room was attractive. The wi-fi was not at all robust in this room. The shower's water pressure was uncomfortably sketchy at times. Also, walking barefoot in the room after a shower darkened the soles on my feet, so bring sandals.

If you have backpacking gear or much luggage, at least you don't have to lug anything upstairs, all rooms are ground level. The walls do not do very much to muffle conversations from the neighboring rooms or the daily traffic noise on Line St.

However, a sitting area in the courtyard is sweet, and the motel location is great for heading out to the trailheads for Bishop Pass or Piute Pass,which, after all, is why i was there.

Room Tip: Wi-fi might be better closer to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joshhikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

When I am on vacation I like to stay in non-chain motels. This motel was available so I booked it for one night. The motel is about half a mile from highway 395. The road it is on is busy, but I did not hear much traffic inside my room. The room was nice, with a bathroom in the back. The bathroom had a window, which I really liked. I could open the windows in the bathroom and the bedroom and there was a nice draught. At night I opened the bedroom window and turned off the AC. There was very little noise from outside and I slept very wel. The room had a micro and a fridge, so in the morning I had cool drinks to take on my trip to Nevada. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean.
I would recommend this motel to anyone who is looking for a nice and inexpensive motel in Bishop.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hollandia64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Forget Holiday Inn, days inn, and all that ilk. It was really fun staying at a Non-chain motel. Unique. One of a kind. The room was small but very nicely decorated, comfy bed, spotlessly clean. Park adjacent to your room, yea! Nice park-like outdoor sitting area. Friendly and helpful hosts. Frig, micro, in room coffee., flat screen. Plus REAL glasses and real cups. What else ? A very reasonable rate.
Used booking.com to make and manage my reservation. Great experience. Mountain view. Bishop is a lovely town.

Stayed: June 2013
1  Thank KU71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Love to fish, so I have stayed at hotels and cabins in the area. This one was suggested by a friend who won't stay anywhere else. Exterior is deceiving, but grass courtyard was nice to sit around and share fish stories over "a beverage." Pleasantly shocked at the remodeled interior. Looks like they spared no expense. Hardwood floors; lots of quality custom tile on floor and in shower; custom stainless sink and faucet in kitchenette and more (see photos). Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean and inexpensive. Fish cleaning and freezer on site. Great location for budget minded travelers or outdoorsman. Got MORE than I expected. Verrrrry happy...

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank d3jsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica L, Manager at The Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

We very much appreciate the time and effort that you put into this review, just as we have put into the remodeling of our rooms! Thank you for staying at Trees Motel and we look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the best place We have ever stayed at in bishop, Ca. we have been coming here 2 to 4 times a year for the last 5 years. I recently stayed here and discovered that there had been a change in management. The current staff (Veronica and Billy)were extremely accommodating to us. They went out of their way to make sure we had a good stay. We stayed here for 5 nights and had a blast every day! The rooms were very clean and the barbecue area is always a plus. I look forward to staying here with my friends and family for future stays!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Rene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica L, Manager at The Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for your positive review! We enjoyed having you as our guests her at Trees Motel and look forward to your next fishing trip. See you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

The staff could not be more helpful and friendly. The service is great. The rooms are clean and well-kept. The shower is powerful. The rooms with kitchenettes are extra deluxe. Beds are firm and clean. TVs are new and bright. The grounds are peaceful and charming. I have stayed in almost every motel in Bishop; this is my favorite.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50Jeff2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Veronica L, Manager at The Trees Motel, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! Our newly remodeled kitchenette units are very comfy and cozy and we are glad you enjoy them. Thank you for your patronage!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.6 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
1,995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
906 reviews
0.9 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#11 of 20 in Bishop
195 reviews
0.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#7 of 20 in Bishop
253 reviews
0.6 mi away
Red Roof Inn Bishop
Red Roof Inn Bishop
#8 of 20 in Bishop
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Trees Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Trees Motel

Address: 796 W Line St, Bishop, CA 93514-3317
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Bishop
Price Range: $99 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Trees Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your The Trees Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Trees Hotel Bishop
Trees Motel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing