We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Oasis Gem!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Joseph House Inn

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Joseph House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Calif.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful Oasis Gem!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Joseph House Inn for just one night in Aug '07. Because this attractive Inn turned out to be such a wonderful gem I felt it deserved another positive review.

The property consists of manicured lawns w/ plenty of chairs, lots of mature trees (and believe me, shade is a very welcome thing in the hot desert!), and a pretty pond.

We immediately felt welcomed by Myriam, Hilde and Max, the gracious owners of Joseph House Inn. After settling into our very attractive cottage (the Green Room) we decided to sit outside under the shade trees. Before we knew it, Myriam arrived with wine and freshly baked appetizers - a welcome sight after our loooong 6+ hour drive!

The Green Room was spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated, quiet, and extremely clean. This cottage also had a shaded patio with its own private entrance.

An unbelievablely scruptuous breakfast was served out on the main patio the next morning. My husband and I both felt it was the best breakfast we have ever had -- ANYWHERE!: coffee, fresh squeezed OJ, freshly baked banana nut bread, scrambled eggs, homemade bratwurst, hash browns, toast, large platter of fresh fruit... simply amazing!!

The Joseph House Inn is more than just a B&B - it is a place where you really feel at home. This family shows a real interest in its guests without intruding on their privacy. They go the extra mile and it shows.

This was just a one night stopover for us but we could have easily stayed there an entire week. Thank you Hilde, Max, and Myriam!

  • Liked — Wonderful owners, setting, incredible breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
74
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edgworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed at the Joseph House Inn for one night at the end of May. The Inn is in a lovely peaceful setting within walking distance of the main street of Bishop with its shops and restaurants. The gardens are beautifully maintained with a patio area and pond complete with ducks! We stayed in the Green Room with its comfortable king size bed and direct access to the garden. Myriam made us feel so welcome and was more than happy to provide helpful information for our trip. We enjoyed cheese and wine on the patio in the afternoon sun and a delicious breakfast the following morning before heading off to Yosemite. We will definitely return to the Joseph House Inn.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens and peaceful rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatham Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philladelphia, PA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2007

Miriam and her parents make one feel pampered and at home in this beautifully renovated Owens Valley home on a verdant acre of gardens. The food is exquisite, served on the peaceful patio by a small pond; the rooms are as beautiful as they look n the website; the welcome is warm. Our family of four stayed here the night before heading into the backcountry above Lone Pine for a weeklong backpacking trip and found it so lovely we returned at the end of the trip for another night. Bishop is the perfect staging town for any Eastern Sierras jaunt, but we'd go out of our way to stay at the JHI again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Philfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
novato, CA
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2006

we stayed for one night at the joseph house inn but would certainly go back for a longer stay. the room was large, the bed was comfortable, and we had a sliding door in the room that opened out to the garden which was great since we were travelling with our dog. max and hilde are wonderful hosts and they give you an afternoon snack and some wine when you arrive. the breakfast was excellent (fruit, omlette, freshly baked items). if you are going to bishop, you really should stay here.

Stayed March 2006
Helpful?
7 Thank wellingtontraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,463 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#2 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#8 of 20 in Bishop
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#6 of 20 in Bishop
3.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Property: Joseph House Inn
Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Joseph House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing