We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warm welcome, attention to detail, good conversation, & gorgeous surroundings.”
Review of Joseph House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Joseph House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Jacksonville, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A warm welcome, attention to detail, good conversation, & gorgeous surroundings.”
Reviewed April 17, 2009

The Joseph House Inn (bed & breakfast lodging), was beautiful inside and out. Every window captured a pleasing view. The breakfast was colorful and marvelous as were the afternoon appetizers and beverages offered to guests. The hosts were warm, friendly, attentive, interesting, and helpful, which made us feel comfortable with them and the other guests during our stay. We felt like we couldn't wait to return, both to the Inn and the gorgeous area. In fact, we didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FallbrookCaRetired
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
83
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2008

What a surprise find! We drove up to Bishop, Ca on our way to San Francisco via CA395 and read about Joseph House on TripAdvisor and was not disappointed.
The property is located off the main road, it is a beautiful property, well maintained and built on very large property. Our host Mariam was very interesting person and very knowlegeable of local history.
This was our first experience stayimg at B/B, but we felt right at home, after we checked in to our room. Nice size room, comfortable bed and view of beautiful yard with duck pond. There were many ducks, but we didn't hear them at night and just a little in the morning. I would much rather be awakened by ducks than roosters any day. We had dinner at a restaurant suggested by Mariam and it was fine. But her breakfast was amazing, especially her omelets. We were the only couple there that night and it was a very restful stop over in Bishop.
Thank you Mariam.

  • Liked — Location, peace and quiet, away from main road, clean and breakfast
  • Disliked — None
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Osos, CA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2008

This is a wonderful B&B. Myriam, one of the owners, greeted us with warmth and showed us around the property, including our impeccably clean and nicely decorated room. Later that evening she brought us wine and hors d'oeuvres in the garden while we watched a mother mallard and her crew of ducklings in the pond. Myriam offered wonderful advice regarding where to have dinner and made our reservations (you can walk to most any restaurant). She also gave us great advice about our daytime destinations (Bristle Cone Forest, etc). And of course the breakfast was wonderful – fresh and homemade.

Myriam in the reason folks stay in great B&Bs and pay a little more…she truly made our trip relaxing and wonderful.

BTW - there is a video library and a nice collection of natural resource related books.

  • Liked — The shady and cool garden
  • Disliked — Purple room is at the front of the house and isn't as private as other rooms
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarski_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2007

Delightful experience all around. Chose to stay here two nights while touring the surrounding sights. Well located for that purpose. The Inn itself is delightful. Our rooms were comfortable, with all the usual amenities. Sitting out back in their wonderful backyard while we were served wine and nibbles, was a special treat. The owners are very friendly and accommodating. Breakfasts were very tasty and served in a a lovely room. They seemed most willing to accommodate any special dietary needs. All in all a wonderful stay.

  • Liked — Friendly h elpful staff
  • Disliked — all was good
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank regalaone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif.
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2007

My husband and I stayed at the Joseph House Inn for just one night in Aug '07. Because this attractive Inn turned out to be such a wonderful gem I felt it deserved another positive review.

The property consists of manicured lawns w/ plenty of chairs, lots of mature trees (and believe me, shade is a very welcome thing in the hot desert!), and a pretty pond.

We immediately felt welcomed by Myriam, Hilde and Max, the gracious owners of Joseph House Inn. After settling into our very attractive cottage (the Green Room) we decided to sit outside under the shade trees. Before we knew it, Myriam arrived with wine and freshly baked appetizers - a welcome sight after our loooong 6+ hour drive!

The Green Room was spacious, comfortable, nicely decorated, quiet, and extremely clean. This cottage also had a shaded patio with its own private entrance.

An unbelievablely scruptuous breakfast was served out on the main patio the next morning. My husband and I both felt it was the best breakfast we have ever had -- ANYWHERE!: coffee, fresh squeezed OJ, freshly baked banana nut bread, scrambled eggs, homemade bratwurst, hash browns, toast, large platter of fresh fruit... simply amazing!!

The Joseph House Inn is more than just a B&B - it is a place where you really feel at home. This family shows a real interest in its guests without intruding on their privacy. They go the extra mile and it shows.

This was just a one night stopover for us but we could have easily stayed there an entire week. Thank you Hilde, Max, and Myriam!

  • Liked — Wonderful owners, setting, incredible breakfast
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JLHCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgworth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2007

We stayed at the Joseph House Inn for one night at the end of May. The Inn is in a lovely peaceful setting within walking distance of the main street of Bishop with its shops and restaurants. The gardens are beautifully maintained with a patio area and pond complete with ducks! We stayed in the Green Room with its comfortable king size bed and direct access to the garden. Myriam made us feel so welcome and was more than happy to provide helpful information for our trip. We enjoyed cheese and wine on the patio in the afternoon sun and a delicious breakfast the following morning before heading off to Yosemite. We will definitely return to the Joseph House Inn.

  • Liked — Beautiful gardens and peaceful rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Chatham Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philladelphia, PA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2007

Miriam and her parents make one feel pampered and at home in this beautifully renovated Owens Valley home on a verdant acre of gardens. The food is exquisite, served on the peaceful patio by a small pond; the rooms are as beautiful as they look n the website; the welcome is warm. Our family of four stayed here the night before heading into the backcountry above Lone Pine for a weeklong backpacking trip and found it so lovely we returned at the end of the trip for another night. Bishop is the perfect staging town for any Eastern Sierras jaunt, but we'd go out of our way to stay at the JHI again.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Philfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
876 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
469 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bishop
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 20 in Bishop
242 reviews
0.6 mi away
El Rancho Motel
El Rancho Motel
#10 of 20 in Bishop
186 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn Bishop - Mammoth Lakes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Property: Joseph House Inn
Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Joseph House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing