We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Majic oasis”
Review of Joseph House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Joseph House Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Bishop B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2012

We can only confirm other reviewers - this is a wonderful spot. Miriam is a great hostess, the breakfasts are superb in a beautiful garden (we had mum, dad and 2 baby woodpeckers arguing above us!) Our whole 2 day stay was just totally enjoyable.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeremy138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 130 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I spend our annual bouldering holiday in the Sierra Nevada again. This year we chose Joseph's House Inn as our base camp. Situated next to a quiet street the location is meticuously well kept and mixes a European attitude with American style. The owners originally come from Switzerland and Germany but lived in the US for ages.
The rooms are spacious and clean but with the usual heavy American style and decor, nevertheless it kind of fits very nicely. As we spend our days climbing and the evenings on the great terrase overlooking the awesome garden and watching the ducklings, we didn't really had any need for something else except the quietness and relaxedness of this location. The price is high for an Inn, but justified regarding cleanliness, size of rooms, service, location, suroundings and above all the breakfast. The latter is cooked completely fresh according to your personal wishes and is a mix between continental and American/European.
Be aware that there are no cooking facilities in the rooms, but as we didn't need one this time this wasn't an issue.
The owners, Myriam and her parents are a great treat and we can only recommend you staying in their property whenever you pass through Bishop.
The attached pictures are not of great quality (cam from my mobile) but more or less capture the spirit of this amazing place!

Oh and you take breakfast together on a big table with all the other guests which guaranteed that we met some very interesting people and had great conversations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AloneOnTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Joseph House Inn in May. We had a wonderful stay. The Joseph House Inn, just a little over a block off of Hwy 395 and downtown Bishop, is an oasis of natural beauty and loving care. Myriam and her mother truly know what hospitality is and they practice it with each guest. The Joseph House Inn is a gracious, stately home that has been meticulously remodeled. My husband and I had the Garden Room and felt we were home there, after each day of hiking in the mountains around Bishop. Our room looked out on the beautiful garden. We can't speak highly enough of the Joseph House Inn and the care shown by Myriam and her mother.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is easily the nicest place to stay in Bishop. Not only do you get to enjoy the large "park like" setting (complete w/ a small pond and ducks).;But the hostess, Miriam, is warm, accomadating, and a wealth of information. From gormet breakfast to mid-afternoon wine.....this is the real deal. Miriam's European roots are evident in all the details that she pulls together to make this a true oasis. Look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is our second visit to this wonderful hidden treasure, one block off highway 395. We stayed in the same room, the Green room which has direct access to the garden area. The owner Mariam was away on family emergency, but lovely young lady was filling for her and she did a marvelous job filling in for her. Our stay was relaxing and peaceful with usual wonderful cook to order breakfast. The property is well maintained as our prior visit and our traveling companions were just as pleased with their accommodation. Look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Green or Rose for direct access to garden and parking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed there during president's day weekend. It was nice and pleasant stay. Its a friendly
family run cozy Inn great hosts. There are couple of things to note here. Most rooms have have access through its living room. Room have no individual heat or A/C controls. No kitchen access. No coffee machine in room. Overall nice cozy atmosphere. Nice backyard and lots of trees. We did see some ducks as well. Surprisingly little mountain town Bishop came out to be very beautiful and adventurous. I visited Sabrina and North lakes. We visited Mammoth lakes area. Nice adventurous and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with separate entry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memo_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We arrived to find a note on the door asking us to make ourselves at home: Myriam arrived moments later with a very warm welcome. The decor is marvellous, and the extensive grounds well kept and ideal for a warm evening's relaxation. Don't even consider staying anywhere else in this area.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bishop hotels
0.2 mi away
Bishop Creekside Inn
Bishop Creekside Inn
#1 of 20 in Bishop
2,078 reviews
0.6 mi away
Days Inn Bishop
Days Inn Bishop
#14 of 20 in Bishop
389 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vagabond Inn Bishop
Vagabond Inn Bishop
#4 of 20 in Bishop
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cielo Hotel
Cielo Hotel
#13 of 20 in Bishop
326 reviews
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Bishop
Travelodge Bishop
#3 of 20 in Bishop
937 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Bishop Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Joseph House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Joseph House Inn

Address: 376 West Yaney Street, Bishop, CA 93514
Location: United States > California > Bishop
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Bishop
Price Range: $179 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Joseph House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Much more than a hotel this bed and breakfast is located in a lush oasis in Bishop, CA off of Hwy 395 in the high desert between the Sierras to the west and the White Mountains to the east. If you are traveling between Death Valley and Yosemite in the summer, Joseph House Inn is the ideal layover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Joseph House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Joseph House Hotel Bishop
Joseph Hotel Bishop

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing