We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Joseph House Inn
Nearby Hotels
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$120
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$96
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Bishop)
$143
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bishop Village Motel(Bishop)(Great Value!)
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hostel California(Bishop)(Great Value!)
$90
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$150
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (129)
Filter reviews
129 results
Traveler rating
120
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
120
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestsrose roombreakfast was amazingwonderful cookb bswealth of informationgourmet breakfastquiet gardenbed and breakfaston arrivalfabulous place to staybreathtaking sceneryeach guestbeautiful propertydeath valleyhome from homestayed for one night
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 129 reviews
Reviewed June 24, 2012

My wife and I spend our annual bouldering holiday in the Sierra Nevada again. This year we chose Joseph's House Inn as our base camp. Situated next to a quiet street the location is meticuously well kept and mixes a European attitude with American style. The owners originally come from Switzerland and Germany but lived in the US for ages.
The rooms are spacious and clean but with the usual heavy American style and decor, nevertheless it kind of fits very nicely. As we spend our days climbing and the evenings on the great terrase overlooking the awesome garden and watching the ducklings, we didn't really had any need for something else except the quietness and relaxedness of this location. The price is high for an Inn, but justified regarding cleanliness, size of rooms, service, location, suroundings and above all the breakfast. The latter is cooked completely fresh according to your personal wishes and is a mix between continental and American/European.
Be aware that there are no cooking facilities in the rooms, but as we didn't need one this time this wasn't an issue.
The owners, Myriam and her parents are a great treat and we can only recommend you staying in their property whenever you pass through Bishop.
The attached pictures are not of great quality (cam from my mobile) but more or less capture the spirit of this amazing place!

Oh and you take breakfast together on a big table with all the other guests which guaranteed that we met some very interesting people and had great conversations.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AloneOnTheWall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Joseph House Inn in May. We had a wonderful stay. The Joseph House Inn, just a little over a block off of Hwy 395 and downtown Bishop, is an oasis of natural beauty and loving care. Myriam and her mother truly know what hospitality is and they practice it with each guest. The Joseph House Inn is a gracious, stately home that has been meticulously remodeled. My husband and I had the Garden Room and felt we were home there, after each day of hiking in the mountains around Bishop. Our room looked out on the beautiful garden. We can't speak highly enough of the Joseph House Inn and the care shown by Myriam and her mother.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jeanne707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

This is easily the nicest place to stay in Bishop. Not only do you get to enjoy the large "park like" setting (complete w/ a small pond and ducks).;But the hostess, Miriam, is warm, accomadating, and a wealth of information. From gormet breakfast to mid-afternoon wine.....this is the real deal. Miriam's European roots are evident in all the details that she pulls together to make this a true oasis. Look no further!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

This is our second visit to this wonderful hidden treasure, one block off highway 395. We stayed in the same room, the Green room which has direct access to the garden area. The owner Mariam was away on family emergency, but lovely young lady was filling for her and she did a marvelous job filling in for her. Our stay was relaxing and peaceful with usual wonderful cook to order breakfast. The property is well maintained as our prior visit and our traveling companions were just as pleased with their accommodation. Look forward to returning again!

Room Tip: Green or Rose for direct access to garden and parking.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bento2744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2012

We stayed there during president's day weekend. It was nice and pleasant stay. Its a friendly
family run cozy Inn great hosts. There are couple of things to note here. Most rooms have have access through its living room. Room have no individual heat or A/C controls. No kitchen access. No coffee machine in room. Overall nice cozy atmosphere. Nice backyard and lots of trees. We did see some ducks as well. Surprisingly little mountain town Bishop came out to be very beautiful and adventurous. I visited Sabrina and North lakes. We visited Mammoth lakes area. Nice adventurous and relaxing break.

Room Tip: Choose a room with separate entry.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Memo_SD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews