We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TASTY BBQ FOOD”

Holy Smoke Texas BBQ
Ranked #2 of 61 Restaurants in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue
Restaurant details
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“TASTY BBQ FOOD”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

The Holy Smoke Texas BBQ has been in Bishop, California now for about one year. It's a family ran business, the husband takes care of the back of the house and the wife is up front. It's a true simple Texas style BBQ restaurant, the way the meal is ordered and served.
The couple who own and run the restaurant are both very friendly and want to make sure you're happy with your meal.
The one thing that could improve would be the portions, you don't get a lot of meat for your money. However, the meats all taste goods. Even the side dishes could be larger, because it's not a cheap meal. Other than that it's good,very clean restaurant and very friendly service.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eunice B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    197
    56
    24
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good bbq that is sometimes hard to find in CA”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I have driven past Holy Smoke many times in the last year on my trips to mammoth from LA... and I finally stopped there instead of Schatt's - and what a pleasant surprise. Friendly people, good bbq (the owner is from texas and is hands on in smoking all the meats in their giant smoker), and reasonable pricing. What a gem. I will definitely be making stops here when passing through...!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jer21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Great service, food, and music.”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Upon entering we were confronted by an incredibaly friendly and kind waitress.she promptly explained the menu, and we ordered. The food arrived promptly, and it was fabulous.
We will be back

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lharms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great ribs”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Great ribs, lots of sides offered, baked potato, slaw, beans, corn bread and more. You order at the counter and then it is brought to your table. Generous portions and very friendly service. Will eat there again next time I'm in Bishop.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aliceb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bishop, California
1 review
“Good!”
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Visit 10/2012 We stopped by based on the reviews we read and we would recommend to others. Food is tasty, fast service!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTrip559
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holy Smoke Texas BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing