We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Recommendation!”

The Back Alley Bowl and Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
The Back Alley Bowl and Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Bishop
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $25
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Palm Desert, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Amazing Recommendation!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We thought it was funny when the hotel clerk recommended the bowling alley for a good, reasonable dinner. We found it tucked in behind the La Quinta hotel and got there early, right about 5pm. By 5:30 the place was completely packed! We were both in the mood for a good burger and we were not disappointed!! Great service and the food was really good. I don't know if it's the best place in Bishop, but it was certainly good for us!!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cindy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    183
    146
    41
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rib eye steak to die for”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

This was a real gem on our recent tour of California. We ate in some pretty nice restaurants over the course of two weeks, but this one wins hands down for the best steak I ate on our road trip. The service was fantastic and although we probably stood out a mile as British tourists we felt extremely welcomed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gribs2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bullhead City, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good Shrimp Scampi”
Reviewed July 23, 2014

My First visit at Bishop. looking for some seafood and steak. Nice, Crowded little place. friendly and good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErnitaLacoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Local restaurant”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

Unless you were a local, were told by a local, or found it by accident, you'd never stumble across this bowling ally restaurant. Ok food, good service

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank donmalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Where the locals eat”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

One block of the main drag this is a bowling alley with food, but don't let that put you off. The Restaurant / bar is full of locals and families. The food is plentiful, fresh and well prepared and a bargain.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JerimiahJ223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Back Alley Bowl and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing